Landcruiser Wine Rack

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 17:47
ThreadID: 55364 Views:3222 Replies:9 FollowUps:18
There are a group of us who are like minded souls, and like to travel the outback in our 4WD's. We also have some rules about vehicle preparedness, treading lightly and respecting land owners property etc. In short we are pretty much like the majority of 4WD travelers who want to really enjoy and preserve this wonderful country of ours. We have another compulsory rule which is that happy hour starts at 5.00 pm. Not all of the group drink alcohol but those of us who do like to have the refreshment readily accessable and yet protected. So to look after our red and white I made an enclosed wine rack. It is attached on rails over the tool box rack so both are easy to get at by most except the driver (LOL). He has to stoop and get out! It is made from 90mm storm water pipe set inside a plywood box, with air displaced by polyurethane foam. The tubes are lined with 3 mm high density floor underlay as is the door and tube ends. The top supports another shelf that houses the chargers and inverter for all the electronic bits we have now collected. Have a look at the photo and there are more in my gallery. The upholstery was done by The Dept of the Interior.Image Could Not Be Found
Jim
VKS 737
Call Sign Mobile 2737

Reply By: Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 18:19

Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 18:19
Jim,

Your a man after many hearts but one question, does a Bundy bottle fit in one of those holes. I am not a wine fan but to be able to carry a dozen Bundy bottles with risk of damaging them before they are opened is appealing :)

AnswerID: 291802

Follow Up By: Member - Jim (Syd) - Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 20:39

Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 20:39
Hi Kev,

We have a special spot in the galley area at the back for the Bundy and the Single Malt -(nothing under 18 years old)

Cheers Jim
Jim
VKS 737
Call Sign Mobile 2737

FollowupID: 557171

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 21:06

Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 21:06
Well that's a good point you don't want to be providing alcohol to juveniles. Anything over 18 years is always good LOL

FollowupID: 557182

Follow Up By: Member - Jim (Syd) - Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 17:36

Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 17:36
Kev,

Finally got to check the Bundy question, alas the square Bundy bottles do not fit, but on a brighter note, the Glenfiddich ones do.

Jim
Jim
VKS 737
Call Sign Mobile 2737

FollowupID: 558415

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 17:38

Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 17:38
hhhhmmmm, maybe I'll have to substitute the contents of a few round bottles to fit the Bundy in LOL

FollowupID: 558416

Follow Up By: Member - Jim (Syd) - Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 17:44

Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 17:44
Now there is an idea!

Jim
Jim
VKS 737
Call Sign Mobile 2737

FollowupID: 558418

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 17:53

Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 17:53
or better still change it from 90mm stormwater pipe to 100mm sewer pipe LOL

FollowupID: 558421

Follow Up By: Member - Jim (Syd) - Sunday, Mar 16, 2008 at 08:54

Sunday, Mar 16, 2008 at 08:54
I'd be rinsing that pipe out well first!!!!. At least by using 100 mm pipe you can still put polyurethane foam in between and maintain the same degree of insulation.

Jim
Jim
VKS 737
Call Sign Mobile 2737

FollowupID: 558509

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 18:57

Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 18:57

My wife likes a chilled wine when we are on the road, so we take the
Casks, I usually take the bladders out of the cask and lay them flat on top of the beer cans in the 40litre engel, which is soley set up for
drinks, but when at home we are civilised and par take from the
bottle.

Daza
AnswerID: 291812

Follow Up By: Lyds- Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 08:38

Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 08:38
here's an alternative to the leak prone wine bladder the b-pak

I've picked them up from Dan Murphys.

FollowupID: 557222

Reply By: Member -Signman - Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 19:06

Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 19:06
Fair Dinkum mate- you gotta be joking !!!
What happened to the ole Chateau Cardboard???

AnswerID: 291815

Follow Up By: Member - Jim (Syd) - Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 20:44

Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 20:44
Hi Signman,

We used to do exactly the same, but life has become a bit more refined.

Jim
Jim
VKS 737
Call Sign Mobile 2737

FollowupID: 557173

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 23:09

Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 23:09
Chateau cardboard is alive and well............
FollowupID: 557209

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 07:31

Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 07:31
Phil, that is just for personal use, not to share I imagine ;-)))
FollowupID: 557216

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 08:43

Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 08:43
You guessed it John,
Next thing will be the GVM upgrade!

Casks do tend to leak on the corrugated Highways - had a mate who went down to one of our local wineries and got a 10 litre jerry filled with a nice drop of red. He copied the idea off another mate who kept his brandy in a jerrycan.

FollowupID: 557223

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 18:52

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 18:52
>had a mate who went down to one of our local wineries
>and got a 10 litre jerry filled with a nice drop of red.

Common practice in France. You take your own container (not usually a jerry can - the French have standards, you know :) to the local wine co-operative and they fill it with, usually, a very decent local wine. Shame we don't do that in Oz.

FollowupID: 557490

Reply By: rumpig - Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 20:21

Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 20:21
thats a work of art jim, even though i can't stand a drop of the stuff myself, i can appreciate the idea. now like kev said, does a bundy bottle or 12 fit in.
AnswerID: 291826

Reply By: jskogsta - Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 09:38

Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 09:38
Wow! That's an awsome setup! Did you just put together the box and the contents, and had Dept of Int to upholster it based on your design? I'm thinking of building something similar, but basially a storage 'box' in the footrest (for recovery bag), and a section that snaps onto it and is secured with the belt straps .. and on top of that a "fold out" table for the people sitting in the back ... with some additonal power sockets etc.

;-)

If I could get the dept of interior to upholster it, that would be even better! Did you just call up (whom?), and requested a price for it?

Thanks ..

/Jorgen
Portaled 79 series with rego VALHAL. Selcal 1510 VKS. Nissan 4x4 Club of Victoria & Trakmaster Owners Club.

AnswerID: 291878

Follow Up By: Member - Jim (Syd) - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 14:55

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 14:55
Hi Jorgen,

I made it and then took it down to them and they upholstered it. Cost about $120.

Jim
Jim
VKS 737
Call Sign Mobile 2737

FollowupID: 557455

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 12:18

Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 12:18
Jim,

I take it you don't travel with kids...............But I guess it would keep them occupied :-))
AnswerID: 291906

Follow Up By: Member - Jim (Syd) - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 14:52

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 14:52
Actually all our kids (3) are grown up, but two can fit in okay with the unit in place. They tend to look at our program and fly in for the section they want to travel and then fly out at the next opportunity.

Jim
Jim
VKS 737
Call Sign Mobile 2737

FollowupID: 557454

Reply By: Smudger - Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 14:54

Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 14:54
Only a dozen reds ?
I guess you guys only go on short trips !
AnswerID: 291926

Follow Up By: Member - Jim (Syd) - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 14:56

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 14:56
Hi Smudger,

We plan our trips carefully to make strategic stores uploads at critical times.

Jim
Jim
VKS 737
Call Sign Mobile 2737

FollowupID: 557456

Reply By: Smudger - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 15:54

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 15:54
"We plan our trips carefully to make strategic stores uploads at critical times."

Is that Jimspeak for, "we plan our travelling times by-the-bottle.
:-Dep. Alice Tues (full rack) - arrive Darwin Fri / allowing 1 day for breakdown Plus 1 day in case meet drinking mates on the track."

AnswerID: 292103

Reply By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 19:06

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 19:06
I'm impressed Jim.

Are you intending a Mk 2 version for casks? :)

18 year old single malt! Bah humbug! It's a serious price rip-off. Having sampled a few I cannot detect any difference worth mentioning over a 12 year old... let alone worth another $75+!

Some of my favourites:
Laphroaig (perhaps an acquired taste)
Glenmorangie
The Macallan

Of the blended whiskeys Ballentines is not a bad drop although their price has been gradually rising over the past five years (about $34 currently) that I'm beginning to say "the hell with it I'll spend another $35 and buy a single malt).

I'll be interested to hear what others think but I'm of the opinion our taste buds fail to fully appreciate good whiskey under about 40 years of age?

AnswerID: 292148

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 19:37

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 19:37
Jim...?

What say we split a bottle of The Macallan:

A proper single malt

FollowupID: 557496

Follow Up By: gilghana - Sunday, Mar 16, 2008 at 01:31

Sunday, Mar 16, 2008 at 01:31
Of the blends, the Famous Grouse I find as one of the best. Under 40 and not appreciating Whiskey, well I'm 35 and love a good drop o' Macallan or Highland Park (both quite similar in smoothness). Although I am Scottish so maybe why? Laphroaig I find tastes a wee bit medicinal. Having said that, back home not many mates my age will touch whiskey... They are all drinking Fosters and XXXX brewed in UK - WTF is that about???
Gil
FollowupID: 558502