Caravan Building ?

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 16, 2008 at 14:01
ThreadID: 55584 Views:6254 Replies:4 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived
G,day all

Can anybody tell me where there may be a site that shows anything about building your own van from scratch.maybe sombody has built theirs and documented it,and shared the pitfalls and benefits.

Cheers
Giffo

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: DIO - Sunday, Mar 16, 2008 at 15:27

Sunday, Mar 16, 2008 at 15:27
Over the past 12-18 months (or so) there has been numerous articles on the subject in Caravan & Motorhome magazine. If you don't already have access, perhaps check with your local library.
AnswerID: 292928

Reply By: Camoco - Sunday, Mar 16, 2008 at 18:46

Sunday, Mar 16, 2008 at 18:46
Glen,
I have been building a 'van for about 18 months now. I should be finished by end of April. It started as a refurbish and has grown somewhat. We were just going to strip the interior and refresh it.

Further investigation has forced me to do a lot more. Especially after discovering the roof was defying gravity.
The only things I have not replaced or rebuilt are the floor sheeting, chassis rails (but the a-frame has been) spring hangers, alum wall frame and sheeting (mostly). I SHOULD have started from scratch.

I have upgraded many things along the way until now it bears little resemblance to it's original form. It still looks like a 1973 Millard Concorde but with a modern aspect.

I needed plenty of info myself not being a caravanner of any sort. I spent about 2 years planning and researching before undertaking the project and that was while still thinking refurbishment.

I have obtained a bit of info from here and magazines and also from the Collyn Rivers ?? books. Also checking out existing vans at shows and on the road.