HAPPY BIRTHDAY JohnR

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 06:26
ThreadID: 55657 Views:1843 Replies:17 FollowUps:42
Woooooooo Hoooooooooooo today's the big 60 Johnno.
I'll make it a short message so everyone does not know. A secret just between me you & me mate....... mums the word!
PeteS

Reply By: Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 07:15

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 07:15
Happy Birthday John,

Can you believe that you made it to 60??

AnswerID: 293272

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 05:33

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 05:33
One EO member told me two days ago Kev, that I go where angels fear to tread. I guess that means I have a few scars that time out to 60 and more than seconds mate. I reckon I can believe it.

Hope your girls are well mate and flourishing in the toad gardens.
FollowupID: 559138

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 07:08

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 07:08
ha ha ha

I am home alone this week as my girls are having a week in Sudney,
It will be good to catch up in Innaminka.

FollowupID: 559156

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 07:30

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 07:30
Good on you John, enjoy the day mate.
AnswerID: 293274

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 05:37

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 05:37
Bushfix, I did thank you. It was a great day, indeed a great few days as we had many friends call in from quite a distance away.Berri and McLaren Vale SA to East Gippsland and the noise as they chatted made it all music to my ears that people mixed exceptionally well.
FollowupID: 559139

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 07:43

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 07:43
good stuff, friends are so valuable. sounds like you are a "rich" man John.
FollowupID: 559162

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 08:05

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 08:05
Mate, my wealth is in my friends. It was facinating to hear of the degree of separation across so many of them. Just yesterday morning talking to one lovely lady, how she knew the ones from McLaren Vale (a uni mate and wife) as they had met at a party of a neighbour. Then Big Kidz with friends of my friends in Port Fairy. I am not going through them all though.
FollowupID: 559165

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Friday, Mar 21, 2008 at 11:29

Friday, Mar 21, 2008 at 11:29
even your concreter knew some of your Lygon street mates , fancy that lol
FollowupID: 559675

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Friday, Mar 21, 2008 at 13:26

Friday, Mar 21, 2008 at 13:26
Eric, the connected frriends I heard about afterwards was amazing. The talk in Australia about three degrees is an exaggeration. It was more like one degree that night.

Not just the one mentioed above, but others that had met previously through other friends, even though they may live hours apart in driving and flying terms. One of the 'girlfriends' pictured knew other friends of mine - like one I was at uni with.

Hardly surprising 'Puddles' knows some of your or my contacts.
FollowupID: 559709

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 08:03

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 08:03
Have a good-un JR!!! (woooo hoooo alright; no more TAX hahaha)
AnswerID: 293279

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 05:41

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 05:41
Mate, it will be tax in a different form. Fuel taxes, GST that I will notice more I expect and will have stick with me, than wash through the business. I will have to ensure I don't spend too much time doing other work that I don't enjoy this life.

I am sure the super fund will be put to good use somewhere though.
FollowupID: 559140

Reply By: Nick R (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 08:06

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 08:06
Happy birthday young fella, see you this afternoon.
n, s, l & w
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 293281

Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 09:14

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 09:14
If he's young, what does it make you?

Have a great day John, We enjoyed the weekend immensely.
FollowupID: 558936

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 09:15

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 09:15
A twinkle hehehehe

FollowupID: 558937

Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 16:22

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 16:22
Just making the fossil feel good about himself!!!
now which des is that?, local des or SA des?
nick
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 559001

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 17:58

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 17:58
The one at the Party
FollowupID: 559030

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 20:19

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 20:19
LOST Des I heard

FollowupID: 559062

Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 23:20

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 23:20
I know who you are now, the tall skinny one
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 559118

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 05:47

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 05:47
Dasher Des, I am really only about 35 which makes Nick, nine. There was another Des there the other night, hubby of Sharyn M who was a member until the business got too busy. He works on other district projects and some outside our district too. Bonz, you are right, Lost Des was operative, had to sit under a tree until found.

Nick, thanks for your wishes, I enjoyed the weekend immensley as Des said he did too. I thought I was the tall skinny one.
FollowupID: 559141

Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 09:18

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 09:18
Mr Bonzarelli, Life is a mystery and so are my trips.
Therefore I am never lost, only on a mystery tour.
cheers my friend.
FollowupID: 559178

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 09:59

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 09:59
Dasher Des, the only problem is that you always rely on being found. One day it may not happen {:-D
FollowupID: 559188

Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 10:01

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 10:01
Then the mystery will only deepen. :-0)))
FollowupID: 559189

Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 08:45

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 08:45
After the caning you received you won't be able to sit down at your own Party, serves you right! Happy Birthday to you.
There's another one coming up at the end of the year and the Party will be on Norfolk Island from 7 Dec for a week to 10 days.
Have fun today.
AnswerID: 293284

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 13:52

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 13:52
Will you be chartering a ship for the guests or do we have to come over in Ian's tinny.....LOL
FollowupID: 558975

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 15:36

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 15:36
Well, he doesn't have a tinny, but there's plenty of room in that big yellow trailer he made for everyone so we could put a sail on that. Failing that, the rest of you could fly over on your ordinary brooms or your special Quidditch brooms. Ha ha.
FollowupID: 558992

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 16:33

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 16:33
Bugga, that means fitting long range tanks to my broom.............
FollowupID: 559006

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 05:51

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 05:51
Gee, so some have big birthdays they need to escape our shores for. I know some are heading to Malaysia next year for a joint one. What is it about EO people they need to celebrate away? What is it Ruthie, making Willem get long range tanks?

Better catch up before then I guess. Thanks for your wishes.
FollowupID: 559142

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 09:44

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 09:44
Happy Birthday, Bro
AnswerID: 293295

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 05:53

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 05:53
Thanks Bro, appreciate the thought and will appreciate the Saracen day I am sure. I just know I will enjoy that. Seems I missed a goat though. ;-)
FollowupID: 559143

Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 12:01

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 12:01
Have a good one John. You may be older than I, but obviously feel a lot younger LoL
AnswerID: 293322

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 16:33

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 16:33
Yes, what he feels is a lot younger........ hahahahahaha
FollowupID: 559005

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 16:41

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 16:41
Willem, are you trying to tell me that
You dream of dancing girls
I can't remember what they are
and
John.......???
As my son might say..."GROSSLY UNFAIR" LOL
FollowupID: 559009

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 17:00

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 17:00
Yeah, I dream about them a lot........................still, the foremost thing on my mind is fixing the brakes....lol
FollowupID: 559014

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 05:58

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 05:58
F'loosie, you just can't believe Willem these days. LOL I just feel a lot younger on some days. I can remember F'loosie, just I can't keep up ...... I can't run like I used to :-D I think my dancing days are limited.
FollowupID: 559144

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 08:58

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 08:58
You tall blokes have all the fun. I once met a lady in the street who was around 4foot 6. I said thanks, and she asked what for?
Told her I always wanted to know what it felt like to be tall LOL

As for running...can't do much of that these days, nor dancing. Although I still get the runs occasionally LOL

Glad to see so many others wishing you Happy Birthday.
FollowupID: 559173

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 10:04

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 10:04
It has been nice actually to see the goodwill. I have never wanted to be short, perhaps a bit more muscular, but then It wouldn't be good to be perfect, or, well, too perfect. LOL F'loosie, I like tall girls for dancing, but then I like small girls too. I guess it says more about me. Perhaps too much.
FollowupID: 559190

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 18:25

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 18:25
Yeh Hah young fella,
Hope you have a great day.

Cheers From the Pesty's
AnswerID: 293392

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 06:01

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 06:01
Ahh, the Blythe people, thank you mate. We did have a good one. I hope we will get to do more camping and travelling and see westward in your State mate.
FollowupID: 559145

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 19:58

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 19:58
Happy Birthday John
AnswerID: 293418

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 06:04

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 06:04
Thanks for your birfdy wishes mate. Never Outnabout enough David. You never know where we may catch up though. Just look out for Kath over the weekend ahead, I will try to keep scanning. Kath has a big pair on the front as Moses did.
FollowupID: 559146

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 07:16

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 07:16
Just make sure if we catch up the only thing you deposit is the Easter eggs and not diff parts. ! Got your map on the PDA and rearin to go. Just gotta finish packing and we will probably head off tonite after work.
FollowupID: 559158

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 08:10

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 08:10
Don't you set the world against me talking d!ffs, I am driving a Toyota. We have to think what we would take as nothing is actually planned so far.
FollowupID: 559166

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 20:06

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 20:06
All the best and kisses from Dawn xxx
AnswerID: 293421

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 06:08

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 06:08
Brewster, I am sure 1969 was a fantastic year to be building boys from so it is a year or three before you get to 60. Please thank Dawn for the xxx and I hope I can return them before too long. I shall look forward to that. Thanks for the best wishes.
FollowupID: 559147

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 20:20

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 20:20
Yes Happy bday old mate, twas a great night on Satdy, or was that Sundy

AnswerID: 293427

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 06:12

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 06:12
Mate, Satdy was the nite, Sundy, the morning, but I think for some Sundy was the aft'noon. There were some sick puppies around the CVP I heard. Obviously not quite as clean living as the rest of us. I thought the food was OK. I didn't get into the bottle of bourbon but I heard one was nearly empty. Glenn was on Boags when I saw him..

Thanks for the wishes mate, love to Marie.
FollowupID: 559149

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al - Al & Lyn, Romsey - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 20:20

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 20:20
I gave you some on Sat night, but here's some for your actual birthday
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Lyn
AnswerID: 293428

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 06:16

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 06:16
Ahh, Lyn, I think you must have frightened Bruce. Thanks for your best wishes and the kisses above. I am sorry you didn't get to breakfast but I did hear that Al was making phone calls before I was on Monday, well to some anyway!

I am sure the trip home was pretty quiet, possibly with some sleeping puppies. Thanks xx
FollowupID: 559151

Reply By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 20:34

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 20:34
many happy returns from us

AnswerID: 293433

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 06:19

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 06:19
G'day Steve and Denny, I hope you are out on the wallaby somewhere exotic, but if you could get the internet I guess it wasn't too extreme.

Thanks for your best returns there and hopefully catch up before too long.
FollowupID: 559152

Reply By: Jim from Best Off Road - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 20:38

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 20:38
Many happy refreshments for the day John.

Kind Regards,

Jim and Jenny.

AnswerID: 293437

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 06:22

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 06:22
All the _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx to you too Jim and Jenny. Had just limited refreshments for the period, one glass of vino at my bash and three light beers for the whole evening. They were all very happy though Jim. The family had planned impeccably.
FollowupID: 559153

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 20:47

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 20:47
Happy Birthday Mr R.

AnswerID: 293442

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 06:33

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 06:33
Thanks Mr P. Nick tells me I should travel Burgoyne's Track though not with Kim. Photos never look as steep, just like photos of good rapids never betray the planning required to proceed.

Thanks again.
FollowupID: 559154

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 21:17

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 21:17
Happy Birthday John and many more.

Motherhen and Rooster

AnswerID: 293460

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 06:36

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 06:36
Mutha and Roosta, I hope we can hit the road a bit more often shortly and you never know, we may even hit the West. Thanks for your wishes, I am sure with due care, they can be achieved,
FollowupID: 559155

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 05:30

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 05:30
G'day Pete and all friends contrbuting. Thank you for your best wishes. A Seniors card application will probably be my next finance form to fill in and that will help the SMSF go a little further when it starts paying me.

It was nice that you all recognised the event but there were a couple of other EO guys too that also had the same birthdate. I guess they may not have reached their seventh decade though. I guess the main thing now is to make every day pay and enjoy.

I hope to be around for many more days travelling with you all, and the tracks, though may they be rocky, they won't be too punishing. I think I have enough spirit from last weekend to keep me propelled. Bless you all.
AnswerID: 293524

Follow Up By: Member - Luke (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 17:43

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 17:43
Happy birthday for yesterday John.

It sounds like yesterday went well.

Cheers Luke
FollowupID: 559270

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 19:03

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2008 at 19:03
Luke, thanks, yes it did. Still having fun at 60 mate
FollowupID: 559293