Last Sunday @ 5 AM I headed to Shepparton Vic . From Mooloolaba Qld,
Arrived Home 6PM Tuesday
Total Km 3147 Travel
Used 582.41 Litres
Total Diesel Cost $881.65
Average Cost Diesel $25.13 Per 100 Km.

Fuel cost LocalHome $18.00 Per 100 Km

Speed in Old Nissan Turbo 5 speed 1986 , 100 to 110 Open Areas ,Town Areas to speed Regulations. Truck run perfect. Truck weight 3.5 Tonne
Price Diesel $1.33 to $ 1.61 @ Gilgangira
Travelled via Toowoomba-Moore-Gilgangira-West Wyalong -Yarroweyah-Narrandera-Parks -Shepparton,& back home same way.

My question is how do pensioner travel these days towing a van.
It must eat up all their savings.

Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 08:43

Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 08:43
Getting a bit harder all right CLC50.

Guess though a pensioner could drive a bit slower,
carry more fuel to eliminate the peak prices and consider moving
back to a tent.

These things have the potential to bring costs back to what they were.

Me - Well I'm picking up a new DRZ400E tonight. (Trail bike 5lt/100km)

AnswerID: 293741

Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 08:44

Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 08:44
Slowly to spread the cost over time.
AnswerID: 293742

Follow Up By: CLC50 - Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 09:02

Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 09:02
I agree but you still have to eat ,service car & van,Pay camp fees,
Use show ground Camp areas will save camp cost.
But you still have travel @ 100 Km or 110 Km to stop having 10 double B trucks trying to past , or stop every 5 km to let them pass

FollowupID: 559448

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 08:56

Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 08:56
CLC50

Tell me about it.

I have mooted the idea that we reduce our stable to one multipurpose vehicle only but SWMBO does not want to hear about that. Wants her independance!!! My old oiler is just sitting there in the garage gathering dust...lol

We use the Xtrail more as it is lighter on fuel and 10c litre cheaper to run.

Everything one does has to be by the budget. We have just been hit by the Deeming Rate. The government deems that your investments are now earning say 8.5% but in reality you are tied to 5.5%. As it is deemed that you are earning more, so your pension is cut accordingly. Nice work Canberra! I know, its been around for years.

Big Trips have to be saved for. Being absolutely debt free is essential. But if fuel goes to $2.50litre then I suspect big trips will be taking a back seat.

One has to estimate how long you are going to live and then calculate what you can spend in that time....LOL

I can't see SWMBO agreeing to the sale of the house either!!!

AnswerID: 293743

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 09:50

Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 09:50
Willem, At $2.50 per litre, it will be smarter to start adding a 25% mix of vegetable oil straight to your tank..Apparently you can in warmer weather and you can use a heat exchange for cooler weather. The cheapest cooking oil is Canola (rape seed oil) and is obtainable at about $1.80 per litre at a 20 litre container buy. I wonder if the Feds will start adding tax to oils cheaper than Diesel fuel in the future. The profits going to straight to the manufacturers and wholesalers and only the GST of 10% to the states... The feds are not giong to like that. Michael

FollowupID: 559455

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 13:25

Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 13:25
Could be the go, at the moment I am paying $5 for 2.5 litres of peanut oil for cooking. Produced in Kingaroy of course and buy at our local markets here in Nanango each month.

Cheers Bruce
FollowupID: 559483

Follow Up By: Member - Pixie - Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 14:01

Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 14:01
Michael

If fuel hits $2.50/litre how much you reckon Canola will be by then? And once companies realise motorists are using their product more (albeit for unintended purposes) how long until they "up" the rates for the product?

It seems that more popular diesel becomes the more expensive it becomes also
FollowupID: 559484

Follow Up By: Member - Kingsley N (SA) - Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 21:16

Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 21:16
Willem,

I don't know which government you are dealing with, mate. The current deeming rates (as at 2/03/2008) are 4% and 6%.

Kingo.
FollowupID: 559567

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 21:32

Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 21:32
I dont know about that Pixie, if vege oils were cheaper that dieso, i could imagine that they would bring the price up to just under the dieso price but if people started using Vege oil as the prices became similar, The vege oil people would keep the price to a level to encourage you to use it.. It wouldnt make sense to inflate the price to stop you using it.. Michael

FollowupID: 559576

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 21:47

Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 21:47
Well Kingsley I stand corrected if what you say is true. I was drawing a comparison. Still for the little bit of money we have invested our pensions are reduced because the government(Australian) regards that we are actually earning more than we are really earning which makes the whole system stink. In the end you don't feel like telling Centerlink anything.
FollowupID: 559586

Reply By: Member - Kevin J (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 09:00

Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 09:00
I have to ask if you were towing a van on this thip? I make this to be 18.5868 itrs perkm or $28.14 per 100 km at average cost of $1.5138 cpl and at that without a van I would stay at home. With near 3T load - with van - I get 16.65 lperkm and on a longish trip with just the vehicle I average 12.16 l per km.
How long since your injectors and pump were serviced as these figures seem very high? Did you start your calculations from a full tank? Just thinking you may be adding in the fill before you left home which would skew the averages.

Kevin J
AnswerID: 293745

Follow Up By: CLC50 - Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 09:15

Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 09:15
Hi Kevin

I was not towing a Van but if you check out my Truck it carries a lot of gear.My truck is service every 5000 Km & blows no smoke & the injectors are service every 10000km.

Around Town I get 7 Km per Litre.
FollowupID: 559450

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 21:51

Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 21:51
Your injectors are what every 10,000? You mean 100,000 dont you?
Otherwise, its No wonder your broke.
FollowupID: 559589

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 09:49

Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 09:49
Can I suggest CLC50 that the thing that is costing you the most in fuel is what you have on the roof.

I had an old 81 MQ normally aspirated SD33. It returned the same fuel figures nearly all the time, no matter how much weight I was carrying inside the vehicle. Even with a trailer on the back fully loaded it made little difference. But when I put stuff on the roof, that changed dramatically for the worse.

While your turbo probably allows you to travel a little faster, mine also used heaps more fuel when travelling above 100km/h.

My Mum & Dad travel in a Mitsubishi van it is fitted out with all kinds of camping gear all the time. They would normally travel at about 90 to 100km/h. When they bought the van it had two roof bars on top. They left them there 'cause it was handy to be able to chuck stuff on. When they visited us in Broken Hill, travelling from Pt Stephens, I suggested they take the bars off for the run home. Used heaps less fuel.

The bottom line is if you are pushing air or disturbing air at high speed it costs you energy, energy costs money. The fact that you get great fuel figures around town, at low speed, supports my theory.

I appreciate why your vahicle is set up as it is, it looks great, but for a quick trip like the one you describe hear it may be worth the effort of losing the roof rack. Unless you have a genuine need for what you are carrrying.

AnswerID: 293751

Follow Up By: CLC50 - Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 10:24

Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 10:24
Hi Duncs
I agree with all your Comments
By Truck is set up for Fishing & Camping that's why all the Gear.
& I did push the old Girl . I was keeping up will the Double Bs some off LOL
FollowupID: 559465

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 21:20

Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 21:20
Most times, if you're trying to keep up with B-doubles, you'd be breaking the speed limit and travelling at unsafe speeds...if they run up onto your ar*e, pull over and let them go...they don't dictate you're safe travelling speed...you're not obligated by law to travel at their maniacal speeds...I am not saying you need to drive like Miss Daisy, just stay within the legal limits and dive at a safe speed, whilst offering common courtesy to other traffic, and then watch the results on your fuel account.
Fred.
FollowupID: 559570

Follow Up By: CLC50 - Friday, Mar 21, 2008 at 06:53

Friday, Mar 21, 2008 at 06:53
Hi Fred
No I was driving to the Speed Limit in 100 & 110 speed areas.
95 -100 in 100 zones & 100 to 110 in 110 zones/
I found most Trucks where as well ,except for a few cowboys .
Most open areas in NSW are 110 Limit
FollowupID: 559637

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Friday, Mar 21, 2008 at 07:46

Friday, Mar 21, 2008 at 07:46
I havnt seen a truck speeding for many years (well mybe 105 or so) not even in the dead of night. I wonder how many of the claims of speeding truckies go back to memories of the the 80s when it was common.
Only thing i do see is slipstreaming up to 3 b doubles travelling just metres from each other
FollowupID: 559642

Reply By: traveller2 - Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 10:44

Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 10:44
Speed definately comes into it especially with our less than aerodynamic vehicles.
The other thing to watch is to keep the engine in its 'happy' range. This is usually right on maximum torque or in some cases just above the torque peak.
With just the vehicle I can get the best economy at 105k which is above the torque peak, with the Shippshape on the roof or camper on the back 95 -100 will get consumption in the same region.
The best consumption ever acheived was in the 80k range on the Birdsville track.
AnswerID: 293761

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 11:27

Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 11:27
Yep - if practical, the slower speeds will bring significant savings, even in an efficint modern TD - I've noted that for years now - when recently in QLD with a camper in tow, we did about 500km in the backblocks at a max of 80kph - we had no following traffic to speak of and had the 'nomad' time to slow down and 'see' the countryside - the fuel usage was outstanding - that situation is highly impractical for a lot of good reasons I know (other road users, pressure of time etc), but it was an interesting lesson for us.
AnswerID: 293767

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 21:53

Thursday, Mar 20, 2008 at 21:53
I brought this exact same thing up 2 days ago, and got howled down and told "Just accept it" and something like "adjust and move on".. crap like that.

Slow down? Christ, are we all supposed to drive at 50 in a 100 zone?

$2.50?? god at the rate its going up, it will be $2.00ltr by June. possibly $2.75 - $3 by xmas.

But the ACCC is looking after us, DONT WORRY!

Just think, my kids are 8 and nearly 4, they have no chance of seeing this country when they grow up.
AnswerID: 293870

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Mar 21, 2008 at 09:09

Friday, Mar 21, 2008 at 09:09
Adapt and move on. Short term memory loss already Truckie hahahaha

FollowupID: 559650

Reply By: Member - David P (VIC) - Friday, Mar 21, 2008 at 15:20

Friday, Mar 21, 2008 at 15:20
Singapore spot price determines our fuel price. The problem for us is that the Asians want diesel not petrol and thus we compete with them for the heavy end diesel. Apart from some cynical price gouging during known high demand periods the pollies/ACCC are basically powerless. Note in the last year when fuel prices have risen to record levels the Caltex share price has gone from 28AUD to.......11AUD. WE should all be complaining about the price mark up on clothing see the Chinese workers are exploited for so little pay.....silverback
AnswerID: 293981