Stickers..what's the go?

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 08, 2008 at 22:47
ThreadID: 56453 Views:3278 Replies:13 FollowUps:29
As some of you might have guessed, I LUV stickers..NOT.
But now that I'm a member here, I feel that I'm going to need one on the vehicle.
I suppose that they help to identify one as a member of ExplorOz, but what does one do when they are spotted ?

Do the kids play spotto ?

Do you pass at a great rate of knots and then use the air horn when alongside?

Give them the traditional salute ? (get off the road you silly old bleep.!!!.)

Or perhaps make a beeline for them when stopped for morning tea? (Hey mate, got any spare coffee?)

Is it really the "secret handshake" that makes you into an instant mate?

I don't really enjoy seeing yet more stickers out in the bush. With my luck there'll be one stuck on Lassiters Reef when I discover it !

Now I can see the value of sticking them on, say, the Great Wall of China. Sort of "Oh look mum, there's a sticker. A member must have passed this way, quick get a photo before all the rabbits are gone". Or is that a flag I'm thinking of ? :)

But few have difficulty recognizing me anyway.(oh look mum, there's that really old guy we passed...again and again and again)

I suppose at the meetings of Exploroz members, they could be used as a sort of "union card" (remember them?). I shudder to think of any poor forumite turning up without the necessary secret sign...or free beer(I'm sure that would make you an instant mate)

Hey there's an idea for a competition at such gatherings. Who has the most stickers? Stickerman or Stickerwoman or person or whatever could be awarded a special sticker.

Maybe I'll need a dozen stuck all over the vehicle to help me beat old timers. Hopefully not for a while. Now where was I? Oh yes..stickers.

So where's YOUR sticker stuck ? (and please remember that this is a family forum)

Reply By: Member - RFLundgren (WA) - Tuesday, Apr 08, 2008 at 22:51

Tuesday, Apr 08, 2008 at 22:51
Interesting post Footy.

Mine is on the back window and I have a windscreen sticker as well. The only other stickers I have on the truck is my VKS 737 one and my dieselgas sticker.

I dont usually like to have them on as they do tend to look pretty crappy after a time.Mine from all my trips now sit in my cupboard. One of these days I will work out just where to stick them....lol

AnswerID: 297480

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Apr 08, 2008 at 22:56

Tuesday, Apr 08, 2008 at 22:56
There's nothing quite like looking at a newish vehicle and finding to your surprise that it's been to remote sticker country...much nicer than finding out that the guy's spent a house deposit on a bullbar :)
FollowupID: 563488

Reply By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, Apr 08, 2008 at 22:58

Tuesday, Apr 08, 2008 at 22:58
Footy,
I stick mine all over my Trailblaza.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 297483

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 15:01

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 15:01
And if you drive slowly enough, I suppose nobody will really notice them as they zoom past ? Hang on a minute, is that a Footy I can see behind me? LOL
FollowupID: 563593

Reply By: Member - David P (VIC) - Tuesday, Apr 08, 2008 at 23:26

Tuesday, Apr 08, 2008 at 23:26
I got sooo stressed worrying about where to put it I had to have a good lye down with a cuppa.....silverback (TIC)
AnswerID: 297489

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 14:06

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 14:06
heheheheh
FollowupID: 563555

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Apr 08, 2008 at 23:33

Tuesday, Apr 08, 2008 at 23:33
Nothing's changed. Stickers are for covering up dents.
AnswerID: 297491

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 08:27

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 08:27
You have a dent there? Mine are on glass. The front one covers a sucker for a GPS tha is close to the drivers' window.
FollowupID: 563507

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 14:09

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 14:09
A ha ! A use has been found :)) I only have one dent..after all the km I've done ...someone got me while reversing out of their shopping parking space...never knew who but their vehicle was blue!
FollowupID: 563559

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 15:16

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 15:16
F'loosie, I used a set of repeater tail lights on the camp box to cover a dent. Checker plate aluminium to over deep gouges. I know that Phil has a camera on the rear so wouldn't hit another vehicle. ;0))
FollowupID: 563605

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 15:19

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 15:19
Floosie.?????that's a bit rough aint it ROTFLMAO
FollowupID: 563610

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 16:41

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 16:41
Fred, only when YOU leave out the apostrophe as you did. Using it the way I do, it is an abbreviation. LOL He may wish he a Floosie, but that isn't the way I identify him.
FollowupID: 563643

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 17:41

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 17:41
Sounds like another use for Floosie - if you hit another vehicle in the car park, then have the courtesy to leave an exploroz sticker to cover it up :-)
FollowupID: 563657

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 17:52

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 17:52
Phil G,

Should we ask Bonz whether he used one in NZ ???

FollowupID: 563659

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 20:15

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 20:15
Unfortunately I was the one who got hit :((
FollowupID: 563714

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 23:38

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 23:38
Wasn't Bonz was it?
FollowupID: 563754

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 02:10

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 02:10
Hi Footloose, congratulations on becoming a member, our sticker is on the back door, left hand side bottom, we have a windscreen sticker accross the front of the roof rack. we are not hard to miss but no-one has spotted us yet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 297502

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 14:10

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 14:10
Would you like an APB so that you can be found ? :))
FollowupID: 563560

Reply By: Member - len W SWANSEA (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 06:09

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 06:09
i left my sticker to long it run out if stick now it wont stuck but i have two wheel covers on the back of the caravan for when your behind me ...............len
AnswerID: 297503

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 14:11

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 14:11
That's good, because with my vehicle I certainly won't be in front of you for long :))
FollowupID: 563561

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 07:39

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 07:39

I think the Exploroz Mob, supply the Stickers as a community service,
so when us Old Farts,or Blonds forget where we parked our vehicles or caravans, we just aimlessly walk around looking for the stickers or
wheel covers.

Daza

AnswerID: 297509

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 15:03

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 15:03
Yes, jolly nice of them. I was going to stick mine on my forehead, but then I wouldn't know myself :)
FollowupID: 563594

Reply By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 07:58

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 07:58
Don't ya just love those redneck utes plastered with stickers...I find them a great way to pass the time checking them out while the old girl is in the supermarket..:-)
All I've got is the little round one in the top left corner of the windscreen, and a wheelcover on the caravan spare...why advertise Jayco when I can spread the word for this site.Image Could Not Be Found
AnswerID: 297516

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 15:04

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 15:04
Fred, so THAT'S what my problem is ! You see... it's ME that does the grocery shopping.
FollowupID: 563595

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 15:36

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 15:36
I can't imagine you with a shopping trolley LOL :-)))...hey...maybe one of them GPS thingos on a trolley could have plots and way points for the baked beans..redders...spuds...SWMBO cause ya can never find her, the exit etc. the 4x4. Could be onto something there. Ya'd have to display a EO sticker though.

Fred.
FollowupID: 563623

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 15:54

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 15:54
Sadly, it's my job. One of my few weekly social outlets....I was recognized once and had my 15 mts of fame in the deli section.
Love the idea of the GPS but unfortunately they keep moving things around on me! :))
FollowupID: 563628

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 17:38

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 17:38
Don't knock the supermarkets Sir Footy!! They were my training ground for learning to tow a caravan.
Next time you are in one of them, stop, watch & observe. You will notice that women will stop in the middle of the isle, uncertain of what they want & just generaly hold all others up. They do the same when they run into someone they know & chat for fifteen minutes, oblivious to the fact that umpteen others want to pass them. They don't care if they have 20 disgruntled unwilling followers behind them, they speed up when the opportunity presents itself to get around them. The list goes on, but supermarkets are an excellent place for old farts like me to learn all the tricks of generaly making a nuisance of myself on the road!! Cheers.
FollowupID: 563656

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 20:13

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 20:13
I can identify with that LOL
FollowupID: 563712

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 20:29

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 20:29
Good one Barry.....:-))))

Fred
FollowupID: 563723

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 09:13

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 09:13
Footy ,
Mine is on the back window next to the one that says "keep tooting , I'm re-loading".
Willie.
AnswerID: 297532

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 15:05

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 15:05
Oh oh...I can hear that distinctive click from a looong way away...which is where I'll stay :)))
FollowupID: 563597

Reply By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 13:04

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 13:04
Hi Footloose,
hope we meet up on the road somewhere
yes there is a secret handshake.
when you meet an old exploroz menber you place a $50 note in the palm of your hand as part of the handshake
the reciever then thinks very highly of you and will report same on the forum
BTW I have 3 round stickers and the windsreen sticker(albeit on the back window)on my vehicle so keep an eye out for it
Howard
Resigned to Retirement

AnswerID: 297559

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 14:59

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 14:59
The old $50 secret handshake eh? Hmm....
FollowupID: 563592

Reply By: Moose - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 13:25

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 13:25
G'day Footy
What does one do when they are spotted. Why you put a useless bloody post on here saying something like "ExplorOz sticker spotted on XYZ road at 3.00 pm this arvo". Geez they annoy me. Yeah - I know - I'm not a member so I should shut-up :-)
I reckon the EO stickers should have a spot where the owner could insert the UHF channel they're using so other EOers could say g'day.
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 297565

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 14:57

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 14:57
hahahah...yes I understand completely:)
FollowupID: 563590

Reply By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 14:41

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 14:41
Hows it going Footy,

I believe recognition of another member varies in proportion to your distance from a large city , however it is possible this relates only to Sydney.

For instance if you came across another member at an out of the way place you would be very likely to obtain knowledge of the best sights in the region ,must do bush walks,cheapest fuel,best camps,vehicle maintenance,camp oven recipes,photography advice,a lesson in using the GPS,bush folklore and possibly some light refreshments.

On the other hand approaching someone in the city area just gets you looks that question your sanity and a quick hurry along.

Glenn.
AnswerID: 297581

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 15:07

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 15:07
Aww...come on..thery're all good Guys and Gals anywhere....aren't they ??? :)))
FollowupID: 563598

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 16:56

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 16:56
It was probably my own fault anyway , I mean I did park next to his cruiser and he was obviously upset.

FollowupID: 563646

Reply By: Dasher Des - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 14:49

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 14:49
G'day Footy, I knew you were a BOF but I just looked at your Rig Piccy and hadn't realised that you were a BOF in such a big way.
By the way, you are better being a BOF than a SOF in my opinion.

Oh the great sticker debate, I have one on the back window plus the EO Banner plus one on each side window both sides and three across the middle of the windscreen at the front where the driver can see them most easily and nobody has ever chased me down and given the the secret $50 handshake. Bugger eh!!
AnswerID: 297584

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 15:08

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 15:08
Oh Wow ! Only a new member and I've already been awarded the BOF LOL
FollowupID: 563599

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 15:49

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 15:49
I think I saw your rig in a car park Des....:-)...cmon, show us all a pic of your rig LOL

Fred
FollowupID: 563627

Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 16:09

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 16:09
Nah wasn't mine Fred. It stays in the shed all the time and I never take it adventurous places like Carparks. My navigational skills just couldn't cope with anythink past the front lawn.
It must have been someone elses. Probably Lucy's jeepthingy
FollowupID: 563636