Pyrometer/EGT

Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 03:12
ThreadID: 56682 Views:4556 Replies:6 FollowUps:12
Gday, have done an archive search but can't find anything to help. Any advice appreciated.

I recently bought a VDO exhaust temperature gauge but the damn thing won't work. I have bypassed the wiring through the ignition and connected the dial directly to the battery using a 5amp in-line fuse. The light works perfectly but the dial doesn't move.

The thermometer fits into the headers by means of a small hole drilled into the headers, hose clamp with thermometer holder welded to it.

Where would the problem likely to be?
How would I test it to find the problem?
I have followed the fitting instructions except for bypassing the ignition. I can't see how this would effect anything, it's still getting power from a 12v source and is fused.

Any tips appreciated.

Barnesy

Reply By: Member - Stephen B (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 06:31

Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 06:31
Try the patrol forum
this link[url=http://www.patrol4x4.com/forum/]
AnswerID: 298802

Reply By: Johnny boy - Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 06:38

Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 06:38
Hi Barnesy, mate if it is a EGT I am pretty sure you will not get any readings under Idle so what Im asking is have you taken it for a run or are you expecting to see a reading sitting in the driveway
I only just put in a VDO Pyro gauge in my L/C TD in september last year I drilled a hole in the manafold welded the suplied nut and droped the sender in so it sat about half way in the middle of the pipe then locked the adjuster put 12 volt power to it and then started the 4b and sat and waited and waited and waited but no movment on the gauge until I took it up the road for a spin then it worked but if yours is new and still does not work I would take it back or at least take it to an auto elec to test then at least you have covered all basses, one thing Im a little hazzy about is the SMALL hole and the HOSE CLAMP? I dont remember any of that in my kit or in the fitting Instructions.. just a thought?
well mate good luck and I hope it works out let us all know how you go mate .

Regards J.B.
AnswerID: 298804

Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy - Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 13:17

Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 13:17
The sender thermometer is around 10cm long and 3mm diameter. I drilled a 3mm hole into the headers and the hose clamp fits around the pipe. It is very secure and doesn't move.

I idled the engine on 1500rpm for about 15 minutes and the temperature gauge in the dash was nearly half. I would have thought that was enough. I will try again and get the engine really hot.
FollowupID: 565012

Follow Up By: GerryP - Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 20:36

Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 20:36
Barnsey, engine temperature bears little or no relationship to EGT. Your engine (coolant) temperature can sit at normal, but if you're running lean, as in light load or fast idle, then your EGT will be very low. As Johnny boy suggests, you need to take it for a run, give it something to do like a nice long uphill run under load and you will hopefully see the gauge rise.
Gerry
FollowupID: 565084

Reply By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 08:28

Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 08:28
Did you take the vehicle for a run, and put the engine under a bit of a load??
You should probably get the temp up to about 500 to 600.
My EGT died last week- and it was the thermo sensor thingo that failed. Waiting for a new one & will reinstall this weekend.

I'm just wondering?? To test the system, I wonder if you could hold a gas cig. lighter at the sensor (removed from exhaust of course) to test it??

AnswerID: 298823

Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy - Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 13:27

Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 13:27
I did fast idle the engine for about 15 minutes until the dash temp gauge was nearly half. I thought this would have been enough? Does the EGT need your foot to be down on the accelerator to register?
FollowupID: 565017

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 13:42

Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 13:42
Find a good steep hill around, and 'labour' it up the climb.
The EGT indication is almost instant.
I think you could idle it all day with no reading...gotta get a load on it.

FollowupID: 565021

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 14:28

Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 14:28
The temp on the dash is (of course) the water temp only. It will get to about the "normal" mark on the gauge when the coolant is only up to about 45oC on most vehicles and it will stay there whilst the water temp rises up to about 105oC..... so don't expect any corolation between the water temp and the exhaust temp.

When I had my last rig, I had a Thermoguard digital read-out EGT gauge. The beauty of that one is that it shows the temperature , even at start-up. IE: If you jump in your vehicle on a cold morning and turn the ignition on, it would tell you that the temp was (for example) 6 degreesC. Once started, the temp would rise slowly but would take several minutes of actual driving to get to 100oC and you'd need to be out on the highway or doing some serious acceleration before itn would hit 300oC etc etc.

I suggest the VDO gauge probably doesn't start to register until it gets above 100oC... What is the gauge callibration (IE: lowest to hottest)??

FollowupID: 565027

Reply By: Thermoguard Instruments - Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 09:45

Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 09:45
Hi Barnsey,

Sorry to hear you bought such an inferior product (only joking! VDO are usually fine).

As mentioned by others, I think the VDO dial starts at about 300 C? So you won't read anything until there's a bit of load on the engine. The gas lighter flame applied to the sensor tip should provoke a reading too - just don't hold it there until the needle goes off scale!

If there's still no signs of life, measure the resistance between the two sensor leads (when disconnected from the gauge). My TCs typically measure 11 to 15 Ohms between the leads. Also, there should be NO continuity between either lead and ground (vehicle body or sensor sheath).

Also check that the leads are connected to the gauge the right way around. If they're reversed, the needle will never budge. (I guess it's remotely possible the leads are incorrectly identified from the factory. It won't do any harm if you swap them over to try it for a short period.)

AnswerID: 298836

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 10:33

Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 10:33
Hi Ian,
My thought about holding a gas cig. lighter under the sensor??
Should the sensor/braid be earthed for the 'test'??
What temps. do you reckon it may read??

I was just a brain storm of a thought- a bit 'rough' I know !!
FollowupID: 564990

Follow Up By: Thermoguard Instruments - Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 12:43

Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 12:43
Hi Signman,

Sorry I didn't explicitly credit you with the idea of the gas flame but I wasn't trying to claim it as my own!

Sensor/braid earthed or not shouldn't make any difference. Impossible to say what temp you might record but hopefully somewhere between 300 and 900 C to prove the instrument is working at all. Actual reading would depend on too many variables: excatly where in the flame the tip was held, for how long, how breezy it is, etc. etc.

I don't think a cig lighter could heat the sheath beyond it's rating (1100 C, if it's 310SS) but that's why I warned against sending the needle off scale.
FollowupID: 565007

Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy - Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 13:22

Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 13:22
Thanks Ian. I did get the temperature gauge in the dash to about half, I will try again when going for a drive. You do sell a good product but I was keen on the dial EGT. If you sold a dial I would have bought one in a flash.
Thanks for the tips.
Barnesy
FollowupID: 565014

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 10:55

Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 10:55
I have a Autometer EGT and it reads about ambient temperature when I turn the car on. On Idle its around 150deg and at 110kph its about 400deg. Sensor is mounted about 60mm after Turbo in exhaust pipe. Was too expensive to remove turbo and drill to put it pre turbo. One thing yopu must not do is alter the wire from the sensor to the gauge.
AnswerID: 298846

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 12:16

Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 12:16
G'day Graham,
The speed is not really relative the the exhaust gas temp.
It's really the load on the motor that raises the temp.

FollowupID: 565000

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 13:44

Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 13:44
I fully realise that.
To get from say 90 to 110 kph the temp gets up around the 400 if i just cruise at that it drops back a bit. Cruising on the highway at 95 its at 350 usually, with a very light throttle.
At idle it sits between 150 - 200 so i guess thats about the minimum the hot exhaust gets to. I have my turbo timer set to let it get back to about 150 before it shuts down
FollowupID: 565023

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 13:47

Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 13:47
Mine is a dial gauge and reads from 0 to 900. Got it from USA for $128 plus postage
FollowupID: 565024

Reply By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Apr 17, 2008 at 09:02

Thursday, Apr 17, 2008 at 09:02
'Morning Barnsey..
How did ya go with the EGT ?? Did you take it for a run??

AnswerID: 298983

Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy - Thursday, Apr 17, 2008 at 13:56

Thursday, Apr 17, 2008 at 13:56
Not yet but I will. The bloke who sold it to me also said to go for a drive. I disonnected it from the battery but will try again tomorrow.
FollowupID: 565184