Is it just me

Submitted: Saturday, Apr 19, 2008 at 00:40
ThreadID: 56767 Views:1860 Replies:5 FollowUps:14
This Thread has been Archived
I like to do a fair bit of searching before i ask my questions,now when i use the search function i only want forum information basically 100% of the time and every time i have to untick

Article
Directory
Destination
Shop Products
Trader
Newsletter
Digital Maps
Team Journal

and then tick Forum, it should be the other way around !

Tick Forum because that's where all the info is from forum members and your generally in it anyway,Then have the option to tick the extra options if you need too...

What are your thoughts on this ?????

Am i getting lazy in my old age...

Cheers
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 19, 2008 at 00:47

Saturday, Apr 19, 2008 at 00:47
Use the search function in the Forum part of the box at top left of Forum Index. I only use the Search tab on the toolbar if I want to search the Directory, Trader, etc.

AnswerID: 299256

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Saturday, Apr 19, 2008 at 05:39

Saturday, Apr 19, 2008 at 05:39
Havnt bothered to use the search function for ages. Cant even search by auther anymore
AnswerID: 299261

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Saturday, Apr 19, 2008 at 17:21

Saturday, Apr 19, 2008 at 17:21
Oh yes you can just put the name in double quotes like "Member - Davoe" this will find all threads where your screen name has been used. Works for all authors. Just remember when looking fo a string put it in quotes else it will find thousands of posts beacuse the default option is OR or Member OR Davoe - this will find tons.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

0
FollowupID: 565505

Reply By: Davo_60 - Saturday, Apr 19, 2008 at 08:23

Saturday, Apr 19, 2008 at 08:23
I think you have a good point.

I can't search or put up a new post anymore for some reason. I can only reply to current threads. Has been like that for the past couple of days.

Dave
AnswerID: 299266

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Saturday, Apr 19, 2008 at 17:23

Saturday, Apr 19, 2008 at 17:23
I suspect you have adjusted your security software as there are no reports problems with submissions. Trying disabling it for a short period and see if this solves the issue.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

0
FollowupID: 565506

Follow Up By: Davo_60 - Saturday, Apr 19, 2008 at 17:54

Saturday, Apr 19, 2008 at 17:54
Thanks David and Michelle,

I will try that. It tells me that I haven't entered information in the fields even though I have. Will give it a bash and if all else fails will revert to the 'it will fix itself eventually' tactic.

Cheers.
0
FollowupID: 565511

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 12:30

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 12:30
Dave,

I have removed the validator from the search box at the moment - it seems that the code clashed with another library I started loading last week. Just another series of fixes for me. it shoul dbe working now.

David
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

0
FollowupID: 565791

Reply By: Crackles - Saturday, Apr 19, 2008 at 15:20

Saturday, Apr 19, 2008 at 15:20
To minimise the need to post in the 1st place the search looks at all available recources. Unfortunately it gives 100 useless options burying the 1 or 2 handy ones you'd be looking for, end result being we get another post on the forum the same as one we got last week. I rarely have any luck finding anything, even old threads when I type in the exact topic word for word. I might be doing something wrong but it would be nice to have a search function that can cut to the topic a bit closer.
PS: Yes we're all lazy.
Cheers Craig.............
AnswerID: 299299

Follow Up By: Crackles - Saturday, Apr 19, 2008 at 15:34

Saturday, Apr 19, 2008 at 15:34
Here's a good example. Type in the topic. "Is it just me" then put the search dates from the 18th to the 19th. You get 25 hits of which this thread is not one going back as far as the 13th. Go figure???
Try it again on Thread ID and this time it comes up but with 24 other threads back as far as the 10th?
Cheers Craig.........
0
FollowupID: 565489

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Saturday, Apr 19, 2008 at 17:18

Saturday, Apr 19, 2008 at 17:18
If you want to find a literal string put it in double quotes - this is what the help says and it will only show you threads that have the exact textual match. if you put in is it just me it will show you every post on the system because they all have those words. if you put in "is it just me" will only find posts with excatly those words.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

0
FollowupID: 565503

Follow Up By: Member - John R (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 19, 2008 at 21:03

Saturday, Apr 19, 2008 at 21:03
Is there a time delay though? If I do put in "Is it just me" (with double quotes) and search from 1/2/08, nothing is found, but doing the same type of search with a topic header from earlier in April does find the post. Does this mean that recent posts (say under 2 weeks old) can't be searched for?
Regards, John

0
FollowupID: 565531

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 12:30

Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 12:30
John,

No there should be no significant delay - around 2 mins from the update and the search system should have it, unless of course it has crashed AGAIN... it has been a little fussy latley and seems to like stopping itself without warning. I will log a job to have it restarted. Let me know if you cannot find recent posts as this is indicative of a problem in the search indexer.

Thanks.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

0
FollowupID: 565585

Follow Up By: Member - John R (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 19:02

Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 19:02
Thanks David & Michelle

I've tried some more searches tonight, and have been able to get recent posts, even from first forum page, using a text search, but still not THIS one??? Weird! Some weeks ago I also couldn't find a particular post I knew I'd seen, so maybe there's an occasional post that "slips thru the cracks"?
Regards, John

0
FollowupID: 565649

Follow Up By: John R (SA) - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 13:39

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 13:39
This has always been the case for me - I can type in the exact works I know exist in the thread, in double quotes, and not get the thread. I can be a bit persistent, trying exact words, part words in and out of quotes etc, but rarely any joy.

It makes me wonder what I'm missing out on when doing a general search!
0
FollowupID: 565802

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Saturday, Apr 19, 2008 at 17:19

Saturday, Apr 19, 2008 at 17:19
For forum specific search do not use site search - just use the search options at the top of the forum index page. Also read the help about how to use doubel quotes when searching it makes the result sets much better.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

AnswerID: 299309

Follow Up By: briggzee (WA) - Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 13:02

Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 13:02
David and Michelle, I am also having problems searching on the forum. I emailled Damien on Fri but as yet havent had a reply. It tells me to enter data into at least one of the fields but I have already done that. I disabled the recently installed NOD 32 protection system as per your instruction in the above thread but I still cant get any response.
Thanks, Craig
P.S. Do you need any help in Busselton for the half ironman, eg bike storage as we live there
0
FollowupID: 565588

Follow Up By: Thermoguard Instruments - Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 13:09

Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 13:09
Hi David,

Like briggzee, I'm getting the "you must enter at least one of the fields below" message when trying to search the forum today.
Ian
0
FollowupID: 565589

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 13:21

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 13:21
Guys,

I have removed the validator from the search box at the moment - it seems that the code clashed with another library I started loading last week. Just another series of fixes for me. it should be working now.

David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

0
FollowupID: 565800

Follow Up By: Thermoguard Instruments - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 15:23

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 15:23
Thanks david. Ian
0
FollowupID: 565814

Sponsored Links

Popular Products (14)