EvaKool fridge/freezers

Submitted: Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 18:01
ThreadID: 56816 Views:3849 Replies:7 FollowUps:2
Hi all I'm looking at buying an new fridge/freezer. Looked at evakool RF series at Camping Country on Saturday, any advice on their range would be much appreciated, l have checked their web site but looking for any personal experiences and any comments on other brands/models.Camp in remote areas regularly usually for 7 to 10 days at a time. Regards and happy 4WDing Nobby

Reply By: Member - Tony W (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 18:32

Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 18:32
Take a look at the National Luna range.
I looked at different fridges for a long time and decided on the National Luna 74l dual zone.

The things I like about it are seperate temperature controls for each of the 2 zones, (I use it at 2 degrees for drinks and most food etc and 8 degrees for greens), but you can have freezer/freezer, freezer /fridge and fridge /fridge, it is very stable with the temperatures, there are seperate doors for the 2 zones and it has very low current draw. It draws about 1AH on average as a fridge and about 1.8 as a freezer. ( Waeco and Engle use about 4 for their large fridges). The baskets are pretty cool too ( 1 goes go half way down then there is another below).

When I am on a short trip I turn one half off and use it as storage, same at the end of a trip.

I was expensive but I am super happy and get about 3 days out of the battery without moving.

Evacool would have been my second choice but I heard a few reliability issues, and like the others you cant seperately control the 2 zones, though I believe their service is great.
AnswerID: 299469

Reply By: Member - SNAKE (RAOUL) QLD - Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 21:02

Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 21:02
Hi Nobby,
I have an Evakool RFB85 Fridge/Freezer and B110 Icebox.Both work extremely well.The fridge draws on an average 2.5amps on setting 8 which keeps frozen food frozen and the other side keeps everything else at between 2/4 deg.depending on opening etc.The icebox keeps 5x2litre milk bottles of frozen brine mix frozen for 4 days and the contents cold for up to 9 days.Whatever you buy make sure you load only cold stuff into it and only open it when you know what it is you want out.We have had both for 12 months and recommend them based on our experience.Cheers Snake and Josie
AnswerID: 299517

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 21:32

Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 21:32
I have the RF60 Evakool

When it was forty degrees and my Evakool was under the tarp (heading at least 60 deg i reckon),my mate put the eggs and tomato's on the freezer side because he wanted a drink on the fridge side,By the time i noticed later that day you could have killed someone with them (rock hard).

Extremely Efficient..

FollowupID: 565707

Follow Up By: nobster - Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 22:25

Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 22:25
thanks snake and josie ,did you have any problem keeping stuff colder for longer periods ? [say 2-3 weeks] I mostly pack frozen food for the beach anyway.
Nobby
FollowupID: 566114

Reply By: Notso - Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 23:04

Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 23:04
I've had my Eva Kool for 8 years now and it has been great, frezzes down to -15 in the hottest weather. Fits nicely under the ute lid too.
AnswerID: 299545

Reply By: Garbutt - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 08:50

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 08:50
Had a great run with my Evakool fridge, no probs at all, had for 4 years now.

GB
AnswerID: 299575

Reply By: marq - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 18:52

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 18:52
Only drawback is the rubber handles need replacing regularly if you use it all the time.
AnswerID: 299685

Reply By: garryk - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 19:16

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 19:16
G'day
We have one of the yellow Evakool Fridgemate range and would buy the product again
The white fibreglass range is more expensive but the insulation is a bit better
I have found I can regulate or rather vary the second compartment temprature for a given setting on control just by packing up the divider with a bit of folded cardboard, just experiment a bit and of course use a suitable thermometer
The Evakools have no fancy electronic controls for desired temp. but it is one less thing that can fail and leave the food rotten and the beer warm
Garryk
AnswerID: 299690

Reply By: nobster - Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 22:11

Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 22:11
Hi all thanks for the advise ,great help

nobby

AnswerID: 299962