Cans or Bottles?????

Submitted: Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 13:35
ThreadID: 56845 Views:2905 Replies:16 FollowUps:14
G'day all,

First timer to the Cape in July this year and I'm wondering what is the best way to carry the precious liquid gold known as BEER in?

Cans or Bottles???

Now with the never ending corrugations i'm guessing cans may be a preferred method or will the 110L Waeco be enough insulation for bottles to be safely carried?

Then again what are the restrictions in FNQ for carrying grog to certain parts? Do you have to go through a check point and surrender any?? Or just but the stuff up there???

Reply By: Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 13:42

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 13:42
I'm a big advocate for cans in the bush, for many reasons, 1 being no broken glass as my young bloke and I found on Fraser Island, 2 easy to crush and take away, 3 you can fit more in and 4 IMOA glass shouldn't be taken into the bush.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 299613

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 13:45

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 13:45
Cans because you can stomp on them and bring them back into town easily to dispose of!! Cans still can self destruct, just keep them packed tight.. Michael..

AnswerID: 299614

Reply By: Voxson - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 13:46

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 13:46
Everything that Steve said,,,,,
It can be pretty annoying if you are restricted for room and you have three days of empties to take with you....Cans crush and great for room....
Broken glass or a remaining bottle could start fire in the bush depending what it is left near...
AnswerID: 299615

Reply By: KSV. - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 13:55

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 13:55
Unless your charisma does not allow to drink from cans I fail to see why do not use them. Cools faster, lighter, takes less space. Last, but not least can be burnt in decent fire, while with bottles you have no choice, but just curry them back. Even if you do not plan to have any decent fire or just do not like to burn them, they still mach easier to carry back in squashed form.

Serg
AnswerID: 299621

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 15:49

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 15:49
Cans don't burn!!!!
If you carried them in then carry them out.

I for one am sick to death of cleaning cans out of fire pits left by people who think they burn and are to damn lazy to crush them and carry them home again.

FollowupID: 565819

Follow Up By: KSV. - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 16:00

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 16:00
Sorry, but in decent fire they do. Of course I am talking about drink cans made from very thin metal. Thicker one like those from canned fish or veggies also can be burned, but require much more heat and it is impractical. Do not make mistake – I search fireplace each time before left and take with me anything what not been burnt and leaving only ash. If I am staying couple of days on the same place I fail to see why I should carry home those rubbish that can be easy burned.

Serg
FollowupID: 565820

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 16:28

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 16:28
seen this argument a few times. - They do burn- but never completly
If you have a decent fire you can burn them but only when you have got it roaring. BUT I saw a guy to prove a point went back through and was still able to pic bits of molten alu out of the coals next morning.
I tried it for a bit and gave up. Its not easy often ending up with only 1/2 burnt cans more hassel than its worth trying.
Food cans are worth chucking in the fire and fishing out of the coals next day as it burns remaining contents and stops rubish bags stinking and attracting flys
FollowupID: 565822

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 16:36

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 16:36
Agreed Davoe, I burn food cans for exactly that reason.
Ally cans never disappear even with a huge roaring fire and if people bother to sift the ashes they will find them.

Pure laziness, If you carried them in carry them out they crush to almost nothing and are easily carried in the rubbish bag.

FollowupID: 565824

Follow Up By: KSV. - Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 08:47

Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 08:47
Well, it is strange indeed, but I always prohibit to kids make “big roaring fire” for obvious reasons. Also it not that effective and modest properly constricted fireplace collect red-hot coal much faster. Just turn it out periodically bringing all staff on top and by morning everything disappears. But frankly I very rare bring beer to bush, usually it is cask of wine – best ”volumetric ratio” and completely burnable.

Serg.
FollowupID: 565926

Reply By: Mr Pointyhead - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 14:07

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 14:07
As others have said, cans because they are easy to crush and take home.
However, be warned, when driving on the rough roads cans rubbing together in the fridge can result in the cans puncturing. So it is a good idea to ensure you pack the fridge so they cannot rub together. One suggestion I was told is to use wine cask bladders. These can be inflated as required in the fridge to help stop things bouncing around.
AnswerID: 299625

Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 14:17

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 14:17
As others have said cans. I try to get a empty carton(beer), just cut the carry handle off crush cans when empty, pop crushed can in hole along with other stuff you can't burn. Last year after
4 weeks camping I only had 2 cartons of rubbish to bring home
AnswerID: 299626

Reply By: Garbutt - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 14:38

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 14:38
As Pointyhead said cans can rub together and eventually rub through, but I have found that if you leave them in the plastic six pack ring holders the rubbing is much less, they dont seem to turn or some such, anyhow my vote is CANS.
AnswerID: 299629

Follow Up By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 17:22

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 17:22
I found putting a rubber band around each can stops them from rubbing together.
Works for me anyway
Cheers Ray
FollowupID: 565831

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 19:53

Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 19:53
I've found packing the cartons flat rather than on edge reduces the chaffing of the cans (thicker alum top and bottom). Don't be tempted to stack the cartons on their side in some bit of spare space.
Gerry
FollowupID: 566061

Reply By: Fnqt2 - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 15:36

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 15:36
Alcohol restrictions

Alcohol Management Plans

Be prepared for random search's apon entering restricted comunities and such.
AnswerID: 299646

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 16:30

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 16:30
I vote cans.
Have preferred them over bottles for years.
Have a good look at the links posted above.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 565823

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 16:30

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 16:30
Bottles. I know all the advantages of cans but Crownies only come in bottles.
AnswerID: 299654

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 16:54

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 16:54
Skite!! I prefer to drink from a stubbie as I recken it tastes better out of glass, Although all the points above are valid concerning cans and certainly cans have many advantages. Heres to you!!
FollowupID: 565826

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 17:12

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 17:12
Never mind this environmental rubbish. Cans have better volumetric efficiency (?). You can pack more in the fridge.

If you find they are rubbing together and puncturing then you need to seriously review your stock rotation rates. This is best done around the campfire and often fellow travellers are more than willing to assist you in the process.

AnswerID: 299664

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 17:36

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 17:36
Ahhhh!! At last, a common sense, practical approach to the problem. I'll start retraining my taste buds on the basis of that comment. LOL
FollowupID: 565832

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 20:45

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 20:45
Cans!!!!
AnswerID: 299707

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 21:26

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 21:26
everyones missed the most important thing.
Boxes of 30 cans are often on good specials and are way cheaper than stubbies
Nothing else matters
AnswerID: 299717

Follow Up By: Member - Paul C (NSW) - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 21:36

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 21:36
Tooheys now do the "Esky Filler".
36 cans to a carton. SWMBO doesn't believe that I'm drinking less based on percentage of carton/week!

FollowupID: 565870

Reply By: Member - Longtooth (SA) - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 23:36

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 23:36
Cans, if left loose in the carton will eventually leak. Spend a short time wrapping each can in a piece of newspaper then place back in carton. No leaks and paper to light the fire or wrap other items as required. If you have too much paper, burn it.
AnswerID: 299750

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 01:43

Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 01:43
tried that but had the problem whenever id pick up a can to wrap it it became empty - Gave up in the end
FollowupID: 565900

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 09:53

Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 09:53
Don't you hate that Davoe?
FollowupID: 565938

Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 08:56

Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 08:56
Now as a Doctor you should know that some wine a day is good for your health.

So convert to Chardonay and take Casks.

Almost no waste , and you can even use the cardboard box to start your fire.

AnswerID: 299789

Reply By: kiwicol - Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 10:26

Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 10:26
there are a lot of restrictions, you will need to get eleven pamplets for the trip as every community has different rules, and you will not be able to have any alcohol at the top, can only buy and drink at the canteen. Lots of people have stopped going to their favourite fishing spots because of the laws. Col
AnswerID: 299807

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 10:52

Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 10:52
Keg
AnswerID: 299818

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 10:54

Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 10:54
Photo is a bit small, is in members pics....Cans for me, or bottles of homebrew. never had a problem with rubthrough or breakage, although most of my trips the cans are on Ice and packed pretty tightly with Ice (110 litre evacool holds a lot of beer and keeps it cold for a long time!)
FollowupID: 565955