For the love of my mates or just stupid????

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 17:33
ThreadID: 56892 Views:3066 Replies:13 FollowUps:6
Hello All,

I am planning to do Leigh Creek - Marree - Oodna track - Borefield road turn off down south to Roxby Downs on...hold your breath... a hitop Toyota 2WD campervan !!!! Now am I just plain stupid or do I have a glimmer of hope to do this.... The reason why I am doing this is cos (I am not trying to prove anything here), after the Flinders ranges (where this vehicle is allright),I am hoping to catch up with some mates at Roxby, who I havent seen in a long time...

What do you guys and gals out there say????

Matt

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 17:45

Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 17:45
I've senn plenty of similar vehicles do that trip with no worries. Just drive at a safe speed and you should be fine.
AnswerID: 299878

Reply By: Garbutt - Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 18:00

Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 18:00
Go slowly = No troubles
AnswerID: 299879

Reply By: Notso - Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 18:25

Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 18:25
Mate, just put a Britz Sign on it and it'll go anywhere.
AnswerID: 299883

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 18:31

Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 18:31
Provided there is a 4wd available to tow it!!

Notso,

When we were on Cape York the Britz vans managed to get bogged everywhere.

It was so bad that while in a caravan park with sealed roads on the way home, a Britz van drove past and 3 or 4 blokes reached for their shovels expecting it to get bogged on the bitumin.

FollowupID: 566041

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 18:32

Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 18:32
Matjo,

Like others have said it should be OK.

If you do find water on the road DON'T try to go around it. Drive through in the middle of the road where the ground is firm under the water.

AnswerID: 299887

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 18:48

Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 18:48

Water on the road??????????? It has'nt rained here since Xmas!!!

FollowupID: 566046

Follow Up By: Patrolman Pat - Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 19:30

Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 19:30
Which Xmas. ??
FollowupID: 566055

Reply By: Member - Mal and Di (SA) - Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 19:40

Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 19:40
Piece of cake mate. I think we all get a bit up ourselves sometimes about our four wheel drives. Used to go everywhere in a Holden one time, in fact living on the West Coast of SA we didn't know what bitumen was.
I did that route last year and the only stone damage to the windscreen was from a Ford Fiesta coming toward me!!
For our sakes I hope there will be water on the road.
AnswerID: 299900

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 19:49

Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 19:49
Good high speed roads most of the way six months ago. A few corrugations in parts but other wise no problems or soft bits anywhere.
AnswerID: 299902

Reply By: stevie1947 - Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 20:30

Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 20:30
Not a problem, just drive to the conditions. I went up the Borefield Rd then up the Oodna to Marla in an early Magna sedan with 4 guys'. Scraped the bottom a few times but if you pick your way thru the rough stuff you should be ok.
AnswerID: 299920

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 20:38

Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 20:38
Hhmmm!!!Leigh Creek,,, Riveting place to go.. Dont go there on the weekend, its a ghost town and not much better during the week. In fact, you had better just give it a miss, its a daggy mining town. Michael

AnswerID: 299925

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 07:51

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 07:51
Yeah and give Moss Vale NSW a miss too just incase you get accosted by a daggy EO Member there.......LOL
FollowupID: 566156

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 20:27

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 20:27
Gday Willem, Hey !! its true, We went out to Leigh Creek from Warraweena last July when we were up there with you guys. We went through a back track, along a dry creek and into Leigh Creek.. I was shocked, it was like a ghost town, the only thing open was the little old servo station there. We tried to get something to eat there to no avail.. It was not what i expected. regards the dag, Michael. LOL

FollowupID: 566301

Reply By: Trev (SA) - Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 21:34

Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 21:34
Been on all those roads and further afield in a Calais! (It was a company car mind you so probably could go places a normal car couldn't!).

We almost got the Calais all the way into Chambers Gorge but had to give up at the end. When I later went in with the Patrol I was amazed that the Calais had made it almost all the way and I reckon we could have pushed it if we had been game.

Trev
AnswerID: 299948

Reply By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 08:41

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 08:41
Just a suggestion- if you're heading for Leigh Creek, stay at Copley !!
Only about 4 k from Leigh Ck. Excellent camping park. And a great kangaroo pie at the Quandong Cafe.
AnswerID: 300011

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 18:41

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 18:41
Which must be followed with a quandong pie!
FollowupID: 566458

Reply By: matjo - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 10:31

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 10:31
Guys, thank a lot for those responses... I am a first time user of this forum and looks like I am hooked in now... Have finally decided.. I am going to do the trip. But I will take all your advices.
1 - Drive with caution at a slow to medium pace.
2 - Not to drive around water logged areas but through it. (sounds funny, but u know what i mean)
3 - Look out for debris from on coming traffic.
4 - Will stay at Copley rather than Leigh Creek and will taste their roo pie...

Thanks again guys....

Matjo
AnswerID: 300028

Reply By: Member - Mal and Di (SA) - Monday, Apr 28, 2008 at 12:10

Monday, Apr 28, 2008 at 12:10
I went through some photo's of our trip last year and found this one.
We first met him in Croydon in Nth Qld and again at Cooktown.
He and his wife and two daughters had left mid coast NSW and had gone to Darwin before we met them.
I enlarged the photo and saw that he had done the Oodnaddatta track as well.
AnswerID: 300925

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Monday, Apr 28, 2008 at 12:36

Monday, Apr 28, 2008 at 12:36
Matjo,
I was there a few weeks ago and I could have taken the ferrari to william creek.
All new high quality road to william creek, and are preparing to bitumen lyndhurst to marree road.
Would be better than many flinders roads.
Will be different story if wet.
A full report is on 56412

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 300928