Purchasing a Nissan Patrol 3.0TD 2004 GU3 123000KM

Submitted: Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 00:52
ThreadID: 56972 Views:5148 Replies:4 FollowUps:1
This Thread has been Archived
Hi everyone, I'm a newbie and I'm after some information/suggestion regarding the results of an engine compression and dyno test which was performed on the vehicle today 25/4/08 which I am currently negotiating the purchase of.

The results with comments from the mechanic are:
cylinder 1 = 360psi
cylinder 2 = 365psi
cylinder 3 = 370psi
cylinder 4 = 365psi
Nissan specs for new engine 427psi with minimum 356psi and a max variance of 43psi between cylinders.

mechanic comments:
1/Horse power readings are at the top end of specs (approx 112h/p)
2/compression readings are at minimum acceptable values but engine exhibits no signs of engine issues.
3/load test on dyno - engine was sound with no unusual noises
4/ECU indicated one fault "airflow meter" but fault did not reoccur after resetting the ecu.
5/ engine torque was within normal ranges.

the results appear good overall with the exception of the low compressions. I'm after some advise on whether the low compressions are something i should be concerned about or not (considering the overall test results.) I'm at the point were i now have to decide whether to purchase the vehicle or not. any assistance would be greatly appreciated.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: psproule - Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 05:07

Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 05:07
WARNING WILL ROBBINSON!

(puts on flame retardant suit)

The Airflow Meter fault code should not be ignored. It is now well known that false readings from a dirty airflow meter is a contributor to the failure of these engines. The ECU sees less airflow and thus ups the boost - eventually up to 26 or so piston melting psi. Most owners report that "it was going really well before it went bang".