Timeshare / Vacation Ownership SCAMS!!!

Submitted: Saturday, Apr 26, 2008 at 03:56
ThreadID: 56997 Views:10086 Replies:7 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived
Hi guys, this is like the first thing on here out of all my posts I have written about scams. Now this is not scepticism or theory, but I have had some experience now, which is a little unfortunate, but now I can warn others. I experienced it here in the US, but DON'T THINK IT DOESN'T HAPPEN IN AUSTRALIA Some of these companies operate worldwide, such as Worldmark by Wyndham (formerly known as Trendwest), RCI etc
I have been to two presentations from different companies Worldmark and Consolidated Resorts (who are opening up Tahiti Village in Las Vegas)
There are many things in common with them and many other companies out there. They know that "Time Shares" has a bad connotation to it, and they announcing "we do not sell time shares, this is purely vacation ownership"

They start off by calling you, telling you that you have won a vacation. You think beauty! You go down and they say you have to go to a presentation but don't have to buy anything to get your prize. You think to yourself "ok, I won't sign anything!" You get there, and they do a presentation and tell quite a few lies. Like the cost of land and vacations has risen 1000% in the last few years... Motel 6 started off at $6 a night, now their $100 a night (and they are not really). They create a party atmosphere with loud music and convince you that "Vacation Ownership" is the way to go. It beats inflation with vacations, you can stay in nice resorts at the same price as you could in Motel 6, if you become an owner. I have noticed from research they suck in about 30-50% of people who go to presentations that didnt intend on purchasing.