Cunnamulla - Innamincka

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 11:08
ThreadID: 57109 Views:4633 Replies:6 FollowUps:8
How long has it taken you to drive Cunnamulla - Innamincka before? Google map says 8hrs something but dunno if I can trust the hrs on it...

Just not sure whether we will stop for a full day before doing it or not....for the kids sake as they will be doing 3 full on days before getting to Cunnamulla....maybe 2 days....

Laura

Reply By: Dave McC - Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 11:47

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 11:47
Laura, from memory it took about 10 hours from Eulo (camped out the back of the pub - great spot) to Cullyamurra Waterhole. That was with taking it easy and having a peek at some oil and gas wells and having a dip in the Cooper Creek. Missed out on the dig tree unfortunately, I believe you can camp there so that might shorten the day by an hour or two.

AnswerID: 301136

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 11:54

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 11:54
Well I’m a scrubber runner and a breaker too....

got me going now........
AnswerID: 301138

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 12:58

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 12:58
I live on damper an wallaby stew....
FollowupID: 567218

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 13:26

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 13:26
He's got a big cattle dog and a stag-hound cross............

FollowupID: 567224

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 13:33

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 13:33
So who is this "Fella" your talking about ?
FollowupID: 567225

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 13:34

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 13:34
yooooo! that's the way!

for the benefit of t'others unaware....

Now I'm a scrubber runner
And a breaker too
I live on damper and wallaby stew
I've got a big cattle dog
With a staghound cross
I never saw the scrubber
We couldn't toss

Cause I'm the Feller
From Cunnamulla
Yes, I'm the Cunnamulla Feller

Now once I was a drovin'
On the cattle trails
I met a little girl her name was Ada Vale
I said, "Marry me Ada
And I'll be the feller
And we'll settle down in Augathella

I'll be the Feller
At Augathella
Yes, I'll be the Augathella Feller

Oh, she said her Daddy's name
Was Charley Ville
She had a lot of kiddies
And a lot of bills
So I grabbed my horse
That was nice and handy
And I never stopped till I reached Dirranbandi

I was the Dandy
At Dirranbandi
Oh I was the Dirranbandi Dandy

I was the Dandy
At Dirranbandi
Oh I was the Dirranbandi Dandy

Now in my moleskin trousers
And my Williams boots
Aboard an outlaw as he leaves the chutes
In my goose neck spurs
I rake their fiery hide
And the girls all shouting
'round the ringside

Oh he's I'm the Feller
From Cunnamulla
Oh, he's the Cunnamulla Feller

Oh he's I'm the Feller
From Cunnamulla
Oh, he's the Cunnamulla Feller

Now I've done a little fightin'
In western bars
Done a little lovin' neath the moon and stars
I wear bright clothes
And shirts full of colour
And the girls know me as that certain feller

Cause I'm the Feller
From Cunnamulla
Oh, I'm the Cunnamulla Feller

Yes, I'm the Cunnamulla Feller
Oh, they call me the Cunnamulla Feller

rest in peace Slim

FollowupID: 567226

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 15:14

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 15:14
how did I know this was going to happen!

Ill get into trouble again for wasting every bodies time!LOL!!
FollowupID: 567231

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 17:50

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 17:50
Hello Vince, "Who was this Fellah"? Must have been the Cunnamulla Fellah I reckon. LOl
FollowupID: 567252

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 15:38

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 15:38
Laura,

Done the run Cunamulla to Innamincka a couple of times in the car, with kids in the back seat. A days run. We had time to stop at the dig tree on the way in to Innamincka. See how you go for time.

We leave Cunamulla about 8am, and onto the town common in Innamincka in time to set up camp before the sun drops too far, and time for a beer, or rum , as to your preference, before the sun set.

Wife and sons almost got caught once, found a good camp site and went to move a large stick and it slithered down a nearby hole. We camped a further 50m up the way from there. :o)

Remember to stop at the general store & garage at Thargo, as it is the last of the relatively cheap fuel. From memory, it is one block to the north from the main road through town.
If you have time, look at the old generator in Thargo, it was powered off the town bore, and Thargo was one of the first towns in Qld to have electric power. Thargo is the last mobile reception too. There is a public phone at Innamincka you can use to ring your friends to remind them you are on holidays and the great places you have got to.

Have a good trip. One our favourite places in Oz. Can't make it at that time of year though, otherwise we would be there.
AnswerID: 301152

Follow Up By: Garbutt - Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 18:30

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 18:30
G'day John just read your post in full after already doing a reply. Agree that Thargo is worth a stop, 3yrs ago we lobbed there on a Sunday, had a great arvo in the pub with a shearer called Ferret, did the tour of the generator early next day, apparently Thargo was the third town IN THE WORLD to have electric lights after Paris and London because their power was generated from the artesian water. Also worth a visit is the old hospital, have great gardens there, and somewhat eccentric owner gives the tour. Nice place and you're right about the fuel stop too.

GB
FollowupID: 567259

Reply By: Garbutt - Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 18:26

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 18:26
We drove Innamincka to Cunnamulla last year. It took five days, because we camped at Noccundra for 3 days, catching yabbies and yella belly. Nice pub too.. But to go straight through would be a full days drive I reckon.
gb
AnswerID: 301177

Reply By: Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 18:32

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 18:32
Kiwi,

I am planning on doing St George to Innamincka in a day but I won't have the kids to worry about ha ha ha

AnswerID: 301179

Follow Up By: Holden4th - Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 19:29

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 19:29
That's easily doable. I've done the Cunnamulla - Innamincka run twice and arrived well before the sun went down. Plan on about 8 hours. Going from Eulo will shorten this a bit.
FollowupID: 567270

Reply By: Bushtrek - Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 22:40

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 22:40
Was out there about 4 weeks ago. There were some bloody big brown snakes around so watch the kids, particularly as thesnakes are about ready to have a final feed before winter, and they are very aggressive ATM.

Have fun. it's a great part of the block!!!
AnswerID: 301232