2008's best camping idea

Submitted: Friday, May 02, 2008 at 18:27
ThreadID: 57207 Views:4263 Replies:7 FollowUps:3
About a year ago there was a thread discussing what, in your opinion, was the best camping gadget or idea.

Well, roughly 12 months have since elapsed. Many of us will have been out there with our camping gear; others of us are finalising matters at home prior to a departure in the 'cooler' months.

So................what's the best gadget/idea/modification you've done in the last year or so?

Mine is a Black Widow metal table. It is well made. Very expensive, IMHO, but a great bit of gear. I have brackets on each of the sliding _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx in the back of my 4x4, so either side can be used at will. Dead easy to set up & arrange lunch on, or as a work surface for smoko etc.....

It stores on its edge in a bracket bolted to my home-made storage unit, adjacent to the 12 V fridge. Takes up next to no room & is very accessible.

I have brackets on the offside of the 4x4, just over the back wheel, so I can use the table under the shelter of my tarp, which is permanently attached to the vehicle. So far, I have only used the table in that position once, on a hot day in some stony plains (I.e. no trees for shade) country.

And finally I have a set of brackets on another metal table which is used for everything near the camp-fire. So the metal work surface area is now almost doubled in size. Can put hot billies or camp ovens on the Black widow table; can draw up a chair and use it as a dining table; it's easy to clean; it's easy to erect & easy to dismantle; has an adjustable leg for un-even terrain; it's easy to clean.

Now it's over to you.....................

Reply By: Nick R (VIC) - Friday, May 02, 2008 at 18:37

Friday, May 02, 2008 at 18:37
I saw a mate had a camp toaster which was able to do 4 or five slices of bread a time, I had to get me one of those, better than those single slice ones......
Nick
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 301723

Follow Up By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Friday, May 02, 2008 at 18:39

Friday, May 02, 2008 at 18:39
hey nick i
t wasnt 1 of those where the slices stand up was it we had 1 ended up using it as a frisbie bloody useless

FollowupID: 567791

Follow Up By: AdrianLR (VIC) - Saturday, May 03, 2008 at 15:52

Saturday, May 03, 2008 at 15:52
Hi Nick,

It's even useless as a frisbee!!!

Back to a stainless steel version of the single slice one that folds flat.

See you both in Innamincka hopefully - looks like we'll be leaving on the Friday)

Adrian
FollowupID: 567933

Reply By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Friday, May 02, 2008 at 18:37

Friday, May 02, 2008 at 18:37
goodday rick
we have just bought a firebox from the warehouse i was looking for something that would fit under the hillbilly equiptment we bought last year we looked at some at bunnings (to high) and at an old stailess washing machine (to high) this is perfect when finished just swing the stuff away and we have a safefire place
only problem we dont know how long it will last as the metal is not real thick

AnswerID: 301724

Reply By: Member - shane (SA) - Friday, May 02, 2008 at 19:10

Friday, May 02, 2008 at 19:10
I would have to say the most versatile thing i have bought is two cast iron fry pans, one a 16 inch and the other a 12 inch. these with a good quality wok you can just about cook anything and i even used the fry pans up side down under my two back tyres on the beach to help get out of a bog.
AnswerID: 301730

Reply By: Isuzumu - Friday, May 02, 2008 at 19:32

Friday, May 02, 2008 at 19:32
Definitely our OzPig, great with the camp oven, bbqing for the two of us and the best camp fire/heater we have had. Cause it does not require lots of timber and half a dozen people can sit around and stay warm, oh nearly forgot you don't get smoke in your eyes either hahahaah. And its so good the Cobb is up for sale.

Cheers Bruce.
AnswerID: 301732

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Friday, May 02, 2008 at 20:33

Friday, May 02, 2008 at 20:33
FollowupID: 567819

Reply By: troopyman - Friday, May 02, 2008 at 23:42

Friday, May 02, 2008 at 23:42
The best gadget i used were a packet of firelighters to light the freakin camp fire . Took me an hour and a half to light it . Next night i put the wood under cover .
AnswerID: 301781

Reply By: Bri - Saturday, May 03, 2008 at 00:43

Saturday, May 03, 2008 at 00:43
I reckon our best gadget would have to be the old camp oven..
it has been a while .......
what can't you,do in it?

Bri
AnswerID: 301786

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Saturday, May 03, 2008 at 15:25

Saturday, May 03, 2008 at 15:25
Hi Rick
The best gadget that I have purchased in the last 12 months is my Black Widow Side Awning. We had a home made one before, that required 4 poles and was on the side of the pack rack. To slide in on and get it set up correctly, took about 15 minutes.

The new Black Widow is out and set up in 90 seconds. Heading bush soon, so will put it to the real test.

AnswerID: 301837