Turbo Timers

Submitted: Tuesday, May 06, 2008 at 11:46
ThreadID: 57323 Views:3114 Replies:10 FollowUps:1
This Thread has been Archived
Hi All,

I'm new to turbo diesel 4WDs and towing caravans. My (new) 2006 L/C 100 manual says I should idle the engine for 1 or 2 minutes after stopping depending on how far you have driven to allow the turbo to cool down.

My experience so far is that I (and particularly my wife) often forget and turn off the engine as soon as we stop. Is an after market turbo timer "standard" fare for most people, do you all have better memories than me or is Toyota too paranoid about its turbos?

Is one brand head and shoulders over the others? Thanks Barry
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: TrickGU - Tuesday, May 06, 2008 at 12:50

Tuesday, May 06, 2008 at 12:50
I have a Bogard timer in my Nissan GU diesel and am very happy with it, you can set times from 30 seconds to 5 minutes.
AnswerID: 302306

Reply By: robak (QLD) - Tuesday, May 06, 2008 at 12:56

Tuesday, May 06, 2008 at 12:56
If you've been driving hard just before you stop then I would idle it for 1 to 2 minutes. Otherwise I wouldn't bother.

So if you have stopped immediately after driving in soft sand or turned off the freeway into a servo then let it idle. In city traffic you shouldn't need to idle more then 5 to 10 seconds.

I have an automatic turbo timer and after being on the freeway for an hour it needs to idle for about a minute and a half.

R.
AnswerID: 302307

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Tuesday, May 06, 2008 at 13:09

Tuesday, May 06, 2008 at 13:09
Hi Barry
I have had Turbo timers before, but have not had them for the last 2 diesel vehicles. The expects on this site will give you the correct details, but from past replies, most turbo should have cooled down enough after idling for a few minutes. You will find that after a while, it will become second nature to let your vehicle idle over before turning it off.