Another adventure coming up

Submitted: Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 20:21
ThreadID: 57365 Views:4603 Replies:28 FollowUps:38
It’s time to go on another adventure again

A mate came up with the idea of visiting a particular place in the Great Sandy Desert. So we started the planning of the trek last May. I wrote to a number of friends and acquaintances to see if they would be interested in such an expedition and up to a few months ago, there were eight participating vehicles. Due to a number of unforseen circumstances with this planning there are now only four participating vehicles and the bloke who suggested the trip isn’t coming either!

We had to obtain permits to cross some aboriginal land to our destination and after 3 months of letters, emails and phone calls we were denied access. There may be a number of reasons for this refusal but we feel that there were some politics involved.

Then we had to revise our plans and look for another destination. We were very surprised to be able to obtain permits to traverse the Gibson and Great Sandy Deserts from the Dept of Indigenous Affairs in Perth and were able to obtain the permits within a week. So we will be leaving from Alice Springs on Friday 16th and heading out on the Gary Junction Road. Then, once across into Western Australia we will swing north. We are looking at doing around 400km of off track driving and it remains to be seen how the different types of tyres will handle the country. I am running MRF Cross-plies but the others are running radials to my knowledge. There will be quite a bit of Spinifex plains driving and according to the maps, we will probably have to cross over 500 sand dunes with some of them up to 15 metres in height. It is hard to actually visualise the countryside by looking at Google Earth or a variety of maps. Normally cross country driving like this has one travelling between 40 and 50km per day. We have put 14 days aside for trip there and back to the Alice.

I have been prepping the GQ and trailer, tightening bolts and nuts and even changing the oil in the gearbox. Had to replace both the batteries over the past month. Have been packing the trailer so that everything fits in snug and checking that the springs and wheel bearings are in good order and also looking for weld defects. The trailer has now done around 30,000km of hard trekking and it is still in good condition. The old GQ is making funny noises in the gearbox so I will drop some additive in shortly. Otherwise it is all systems go with everything more or less looked after.

Last week my Laptop came to the end of it’s life, and now, after even more research, I have opted for a PDA with inbuilt GPS, Natmap Raster Maps and Oziexplorer. Will not replace the laptop as what I can afford does not seem to be the best option to buy.

The rising fuel price has hit us all between the eyes and budgets have had to be revised. Will most likely be paying up to $2.50lt for diesel at some remote communities. Nevertheless, this is another trip that HAS to be done to fill in my Been there, Done That Map that hangs on my study wall...:-))))

I will write a trip report for the forum when I am back home again.

Reply By: Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 20:24

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 20:24
Half ya bloody luck.

Sounds like a good trip to do, look forward to the trip report when you return.

AnswerID: 302553

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:30

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:30
Ta mate.

This year is big in trips not knowing what 2009 will bring....lol

FollowupID: 568678

Reply By: Banjo (WA) - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 20:28

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 20:28
Willem

I wish I was able to do the trips that you do - one day!

- 'Nevertheless, this is another trip that HAS to be done to fill in my Been there, Done That Map that hangs on my study wall...:-))))' -

I wouldn't think there was much of that map without your 'mark' on it already??

Will look forward to your report, they are always entertaining.

Banjo
AnswerID: 302554

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:01

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:01
Banjo

There are still quite a few places to visit. The questions are

a. Is there enough time left?
b. Will I need a suitcase full of money for fuel?

FollowupID: 568660

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 20:35

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 20:35
It will be interesting when I have got bfg muddies on...... :) wrong tyres for sand but they do handle stockton ok.... Peter
AnswerID: 302555

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:03

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:03

I crossed the Simpson North/South in a Zook shod with Muddies. They were pretty good in the sand too

FollowupID: 568662

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 20:35

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 20:35
Hi Willem
Have a great trip and take care. The cross country travel is very hard on tyres, as we know. Go tail end Charlie and let the front vehicle clear the way. All the best

AnswerID: 302556

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:05

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:05
G'day Stephen

I told the others I would be going Tail End Charlie cos I have the trailer in tow. This time around they can cop all the stakes....lol

FollowupID: 568663

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 20:39

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 20:39
Willem
Your a Mongrel you are , makes me wish I had the dollars to go too, C'mon LOTTO ,

Good luck and look forward to your report on your return, If in an emergency situation you need help for parts delivery , gimme a call

AnswerID: 302558

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:07

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:07
Thanks Doug. Hope I don't have to make a call :-)

FollowupID: 568664

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:11

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:11
Willem
SO DO I , but it create an excuse for me....lol

FollowupID: 568668

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 20:40

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 20:40
G'day Willem

Half your luck mate , have a great trip , hope all goes well for you
Look forward to reading your trip report on your return

Cheers.....Dave
AnswerID: 302559

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:07

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:07
Thanks Dave

FollowupID: 568665

Reply By: TD100 - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 20:45

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 20:45
I tell you what Willem i cant bluudy wait til i retire,i complain when life and time fly past me but when i read of your adventures bring on 65 i say!! only 25 years and counting hahahahaha cheers Paul
AnswerID: 302561

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:09

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:09
Drag the time out Paul, as that Big Number comes around all too soon

FollowupID: 568666

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 21:01

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 21:01
Willem

Have a good trip.

Kim
AnswerID: 302565

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:10

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:10
Thanks Kim,

FollowupID: 568667

Reply By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 21:12

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 21:12
G'day Willem,

I know your making our mouth's water and envious that we aren't all accompanying you on this trek.

Good luck. Although with all the planning I'm sure you have put into the trip you wont need luck. I hope evrything goes well and I'm another one who will be eagerly awaiting your trip report.

AnswerID: 302569

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:12

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:12
Thanks Paul

Luck does play a great part especially when it comes to the weather.

FollowupID: 568669

Reply By: equinox - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 21:13

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 21:13
Willem,

Have a great trip. Not sure about the $2.50 a litre, be prepared for more than that.

I will be slightly west of that area almost a month after you, will really test out the Coopers.

And like others, look forward to the trip report.

Take care.

AnswerID: 302570

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:25

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:25
Thanks Alan

Kintore was $2.00lt last week. KMart out at Well 33 will no doubt be over the $3 mark....lol

FollowupID: 568673

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 21:33

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 21:33
Willem,
Have fun. Looking forward to the trip report.
AnswerID: 302574

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:32

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:32
Thanks Richard

Are'nt you off to somewhere soon?

FollowupID: 568679

Follow Up By: Richard W (NSW) - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:55

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:55
Vic High Country late May early June. Winter woolly weather I expect.
Kimberly late June to late August. Joining the rest of the southerners.
Bourke Outback Trek to Port Augusta late September to mid October.

The joys of retirement :)
FollowupID: 568688

Reply By: Member - Bentaxle - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 21:39

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 21:39
I've just come back from a trip into the Little Sandy Desert and had spinifex blinds from top of bullbar to just under front bumper but found due to the height of the spinifex we had to extend the top of the spinifex blind so that it covered the area between the bullbar and the bonnet, the spinnifex was so high that the heads were flicking over the top of the bullbar and were getting sucked into the radiators. In some places the spinnifex would have been over 5ft. high. Have a good trip.
May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.

AnswerID: 302576

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 21:59

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 21:59
Yep

Gauze around the bullbar and also gauze either side of the grille and gauze on top of the air vents. All bashplates removed. Worst place for collecting grass on my GQ is in front of and around the fuel tank. Luckily exhaust has a complete shroud where it matters most

FollowupID: 568659

Follow Up By: ctaplin - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:02

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:02
Good Luck Willem and have a great trip!
From the replies so far to your message it seems you are an OzExplore legend, particularly for travellers interested in desert treks!
Happy Travels,

FollowupID: 568661

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:39

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:39
Thanks Chris

Maybe more notoriety than legendary.......LOL

FollowupID: 568685

Reply By: dedabato (SA) - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:06

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:06
Willem,
Wish was going with you on such a fantastic trip, and hope everything goes OK for the travelling party. Make sure to check under the vehicles for the build up of spinifex on a regular basis. And also to answer your question put to me the other day - No mate. I did not worked in a timber industry but worked in Adelaide Brighton Cement until retirement.
Cheers mate and have the time of your life.
Regards dedabato
AnswerID: 302586

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:28

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:28
Thanks dedabato. I am very wary of spinifex build up and crawl under vehicle evry night.

That comment I made the other day was very naughty. I will explain it to you some other time :-)

FollowupID: 568675

Follow Up By: dedabato (SA) - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 23:04

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 23:04
Willem,
Don't worry to much about the "comment". Sometime we all say thinks that we don't really mean it. Just enjoy your trip and give us a report upon your safe return.
FollowupID: 568691

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:13

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:13
Have a good trip Willem, and I too will be looking forward to your report.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 302589

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:32

Thanks D

FollowupID: 568681

Reply By: Member - SNAKE QLD - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:24

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:24
Travel safely Willem and Josie sends her best.Cheers Snake and Josie
AnswerID: 302594

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:34

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:34
Thanks Snake and Josie

FollowupID: 568683

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:32

Hi Willem

Have a fabulous trip and a safe return. Look forward to the adventure report.

Motherhen and Old Rooster

AnswerID: 302595

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:36

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 22:36
Thanks Motherhen

Judith is staying in the Alice for that time and is taking all her paints with her.

We have finally had some rain...20mm in the last week. Hope you have had some too.

Say G'day to the Old Rooster from us....:-)))

FollowupID: 568684

Reply By: Old Dave - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 23:03

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 23:03
Hi Willem
Have a good and safe trip look forward to reading about it when you get back,
Hope to meet you on the road one day.
Dave & Sandra
AnswerID: 302598

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 09:58

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 09:58
Hi Dave

Thanks.

The rate fuel is going now 'On the road' may become a thing of the past :-(

FollowupID: 568736

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 23:07

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 23:07
Have a good trip ya old bugga. White lightning or barbed wire this time ???

AnswerID: 302599

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 10:00

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 10:00
G'day Al

Unfortunately my excesses have recently registered in a big toe and I am on the Straight and Narrow for at least a month....sigh....lol

FollowupID: 568738

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 08:04

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 08:04
G'day mate,

a real shame the other trip could not be done, hopefully you will get another chance, that would be one to tell indeed.

wish I was out there now......

he who is not busy living is busy dying

AnswerID: 302621

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 10:02

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 10:02
G'day Young Fella

Yerrrr...these things come along to test ones mettle....lol

Anyway, I am sure our alternative route will be just as exciting.

FollowupID: 568739

Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 08:14

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 08:14
Willem,

It's great to know that you're off on another adventure. We'll be looking forward to re-living it through your eyes when you write your trip report.

Best wishes and enjoy your time in the desert.

Viv
AnswerID: 302623

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 10:06

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 10:06
Hi Viv

How are you both?

The deserts are Far from the Madding Crowd....that's why I enjoy them so much

FollowupID: 568740

Reply By: Member- Tony C - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 08:59

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 08:59
G'Day Willem,
Have a great trip.Sounds like your heading into some really interesting country.
A while ago i read Micheal Terry's biography Where he talked about some fascinating features in the area you will probably be near.One was O'Gradys Well the other is Brooks Soak,would be great to see.
Cheers .
Tony
AnswerID: 302630

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 10:08

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 10:08
Hi Tony

I have read all of Michael Terry's books(7 of them) and he sure lead an adventurous life. It whets the appetite for going places.

FollowupID: 568741

Follow Up By: Member- Tony C - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 10:58

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 10:58
Hi Willem.
His books seem to be hard to come by.Have had a couple on order through the library for a fair while now.
They sure do wet the appatite for adventure.
FollowupID: 568753

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 11:15

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 11:15
Tony

A friend has the whole Terry collection and has offered them to me to buy, at a price. I said I would think about it....... however the price is too high for my budget.

If you are interested I could put you in touch with him.

You can contact me through my website below.

FollowupID: 568758

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 09:10

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 09:10
Hi Willem,

You have certainly managed to make forum members very envious of your travels once again. Have a great trip and I look forward to reading your trip report.

AnswerID: 302634

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 10:12

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 10:12
No worries Captain

There is so much involved in getting these expeditions off the ground that it is good to be only a week away from the start.
I never even thnk of the 'What ifs'......lol

Unfortunately this may be my last Big Trip. I hope not but fuel prices and daily living costs will soon put these excursions beyond the means of the average pensioner.

FollowupID: 568742

Reply By: Dasher Des - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 09:23

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 09:23
Stop The Press!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The PDA has been stolen so you can't go. LOL
Have a great trip young fella and like the others, I can't wait to read the Trip Report.
Keep safe and Happy Travels
The dasher
AnswerID: 302638

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 09:24

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 09:24
I hope he has a few spare wheel bearings packed as well LOL

FollowupID: 568729

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 10:13

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 10:13
Yer a naughty bugger Uncle Des

Will call in on Monday when I pick the 'stolen' thing up.....lol

FollowupID: 568744

Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 10:51

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 10:51
I know that you were advised to ring me when you had problems with the newie but I do consider that to be really bad advice. LOL
Our mate bonz would be a good place to start as he has sooooo much experience with fixing up stuff ups. Next bet would be the guy who supplied it to you but unfortunately he may be away otherwise I could give you his private phone number that he only answers at 2.30 am of any morning.LOL
FollowupID: 568752

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 11:19

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 11:19
Yes I know that is bad advice Dasher Des, as you have as much knowledge of these things as the neighbour's cat.....lol

I do hope I don't have to need to call any of you 'missing' persons.

I thought Bonz was good at stuffing fix-ups.......hahahahahaha
FollowupID: 568762

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 09:51

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 09:51
Gday Willem
Enjoy , see you in July
Murray

AnswerID: 302641

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 10:15

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 10:15
Cheers Muzbry

I managed to do some preventative maintenance on the calipers and the leak seems to have stopped for now.....lol

FollowupID: 568745

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 10:18

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 10:18
G'day Willem,

I hope you have a great time and come back to us in one piece.

Theo
AnswerID: 302648

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 10:35

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 10:35
Thanks Theo

There is a piece around my middle I would'nt mind losing though....:-)))

FollowupID: 568751

Reply By: Moose - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 13:22

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 13:22
G'day Willem
Safe travels mate.
Hope that gearbox hangs in there!
Incidentally what goes in the trailer? I would have thought that, if travelling alone, removal of the extra seats would have allowed heaps of room inside the GQ. Trailers can be such a PITA.
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 302676

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 16:30

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 16:30
G'day Moose

The trailer is a PITA. Trouble is I want to sleep in the wagon on a nice thick comfy mattress and be able to slide out on to terra firma in the morning. Swagging or tenting it isn't fun anymore as getting up off the ground is troublesome....lol

Trailer is bush friendly. I have built in a a false floor which carries 12 jerrycans lying on their side. Some tools and tent stuff and Tanami pump also resides in that area. Top section has 2 x mattresses, 2x sleeping bags, Clothes bags, Porta Potti, Toilet tent, Screentent, Cooking stuff, BBQ plate, 2 x gasbottles, camp mats, plastic food boxes, Artists gear. 2x tables, 2xchairs, 40lts water, Hi Lift jack, spare wheel, spare spring. Canopy is purpose built with roll-out annexes to offer shade or protection from elements.

In offtrack sandy conditions I would run the GQ tyres at 14spi and the trailer at 10 psi. If an obstacle such as a high dune proves trouble I will just drive along it till I find a way over.

FollowupID: 568828

Reply By: Frank_Troopy - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 15:15

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 15:15
Hi Willem,

Have fun and take care.

Cheers Frank.
AnswerID: 302695

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 16:32

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 16:32
Thanks Frank and I will be taking care :-)

FollowupID: 568830

Reply By: Bros 1 - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 19:01

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 19:01
Willem,
Apologies for the late well wishes, but they are still there. Have a good, safe time bloke.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 302746

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, May 09, 2008 at 04:47

Friday, May 09, 2008 at 04:47
Thanks Bros, will do.

FollowupID: 568939