Whistling Troopy

Submitted: Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 12:05
ThreadID: 57381 Views:3339 Replies:8 FollowUps:1
I have a 2004 troopy with 1hz non turbo eng. whistles like a turbo under part throtlle up to full throttle . Worse under load. Appears to get worse when warmed up. Appears to be coming from exhaust pipe. Also quite loud under vehicle as well. Has anybody had similar problem. Troopy has done 90,000km. thanks in advance Agroe

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 12:58

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 12:58
What tune's it whistling ? :))

I had a problem with a hole in the manifold once that produced similar results.
AnswerID: 302675

Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 16:16

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 16:16
Teach it the words...:))

Sorry, couldn't help it. :)
FollowupID: 568818

Reply By: Stu & "Bob" - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 16:15

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 16:15
Is it coming from the muffler?
Maybe there is heaps of soot in the muffler causing a restriction, hence the whistle?

Just a thought
AnswerID: 302706

Reply By: Member - John and Val W (ACT) - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 16:47

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 16:47
Probably doesn't apply to your much younger diesel Troopy, but our older petrol one had a habit of pressuring (don't know if negative or positive pressure) its fuel tanks, resulting in whistling fuel caps. Might be worth checking out as it seems the faster you draw fuel from the tanks the louder your whistle - easy to check by just removing/loosening the cap/s.

HTH

AnswerID: 302715

Reply By: Member - David P (VIC) - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 16:50

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 16:50
What sort of electrical load at the time....alternator?...silverback
AnswerID: 302717

Reply By: RovingOz (QLD) - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 17:45

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 17:45
When we installed the reversing camera we got the same noise - couldn't work it our for a while - it was coming from the speaker in the LCD screen.
AnswerID: 302730

Reply By: westozal - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 18:24

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 18:24
Hi Agroe,
My old 80 series pet4.5 used to whistle as a few revs came on...was the exhaust mainly the muffler. Got a new system, noise never returned.
Alan.
AnswerID: 302740

Reply By: Member - steve H (QLD) - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 19:20

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 19:20
My son's mate has a non turbo troopy ute and his whistle comes from a small air leak in the snorkel

AnswerID: 302751

Reply By: Member - Agroe (WA) - Friday, May 09, 2008 at 01:38

Friday, May 09, 2008 at 01:38
thanks for the replies it soundslike the exhaust. but reluctant to replace on off chance. i thought about snorkel but the noise is defitnitly at the rear. Would a egr valve do it. thanks Agroe
AnswerID: 302809