lancruiser Clunk in front right wheel

Submitted: Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 18:52
ThreadID: 57462 Views:5212 Replies:6 FollowUps:5
Gday to all in forum land !

I just heard a clunk in the front right wheel that sounds to me as if it was a CV noise and before I start ripping stuff appart I thought I would ask where I should be looking 1st , I only just had both sides kited with new seals and what ever else comes in the kit and it was done last september and all looked good as far as the mechanic could see ,it happens on hard right lock and is loud. Well I just thoght I would ask so if you have any info I will be more than happy to take it on board .

Cheers J.B.

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 19:09

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 19:09
I don't know diddly about Landcruisers, but my old Navar ute used to make a noise at full lock, It was the steering bump-stop and was easily fixed with a small dob of grease applied every couple of months.
AnswerID: 303088

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 19:44

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 19:44
I'll second that. Cheap way to find out, stick a bit of grease on and see what happens.
FollowupID: 569256

Reply By: tukka - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 19:10

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 19:10
Could be your Tie rod ends, they make a pretty loud knocking sound when turning if they are buggered. Cruisers have a tendency to go through a few when driving on rough roads alot. If it is get it checked, nothing like your tie rod letting go and having no steering. Nearly lost my car and my life that way, not a nice feeling. I know check mine every time i grease or service vehicle.
AnswerID: 303089

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 20:16

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 20:16
tukka
Sounds like a load of bull to me, I have 2 old cruisers, 60 series close to 700 k and never had tie rod ends done, except the spring loaded one which has just been done because the spring broke, and a 77 model 45 series which has around 400k on it mostly off road and paddock work, and although it is a bit worn, its a long way from coming apart.
johnny boy
I am assuming that you are in 4wd when this noise happens, if so it will be your CV, as turning on lock and hearing a clunking noise is classic sign of worn CV.

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 569263

Follow Up By: tukka - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 22:37

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 22:37
It happens. Talk to any station owner who use the 75 series mate. Any in the Kimberleys anyway, where Toyotas are the only thing that will survive the punishment. And believe me mate driven more and done more k's in a 75 series Cruiser then you. I am a die hard 75 Series man but there is just some things that cant be helped.
Nothing wrong with my CVs after i got my tie rods done, so that rules out CVs doesnt it. And no clunking noise anymore.

Anyway no point trying to give out some friendly advice when its just thrown back at ya by someone who has no idea.( And is called Pesty) That explains it
FollowupID: 569291

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 00:53

Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 00:53
Go get him Pesty...hahaha

Cheers.....Dave
FollowupID: 569300

Reply By: Vivid Adventures - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 21:08

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 21:08
sounds like CV joint.

Just had mine done at 220ks. Replaced the joint and put in a new inner seal - pretty painless in all.

Mine was the front right wheel too.
AnswerID: 303124

Reply By: Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 01:03

Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 01:03
If it isn't the CV joint it will be the swivel hub top or bottom bearing.

Been there done that a few times.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 303157

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 10:00

Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 10:00
JB,

Some of the 75 series would make a clunk on full lock, because the springs used to hit the shackles against the hangers, especially if the bushes were worn.

AnswerID: 303197

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 12:02

Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 12:02
Thanx for the post guys ,I juswt thought I would point out that it is a 98 mod T/D 100 ser L/C and the sound happens when turning tight right circles in 4WD mode and out of 4WD mode it is a live axle front end and it sound very clunky, I dont think the CV will be too hard or costly to fix would it ?

Regards J.B.
FollowupID: 569343

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, May 12, 2008 at 18:05

Monday, May 12, 2008 at 18:05
Check the wheel bearings for play first. Bearings loosening up has caused a clunk on a couple of Landcruisers I've owned including the 79series which is identical to your front end.
AnswerID: 303456