Batting for the other team now.

Submitted: Sunday, May 18, 2008 at 19:41
ThreadID: 57733 Views:2533 Replies:8 FollowUps:8
Hi people,

You might remember my posts regarding buying a landcruiser hzj80r.

Anyhow, I have been toying with the idea of buying a Patrol too.
As it goes, I went and looked at a few vehicles yesterday and spotted a white 97 GQ Patrol with 17,862 drive away. Stopped and had a look, really clean, checked the odometer, 137 thou. hmmm. Then the salesman came and I asked him which engine it had. At first he said 4.2 then my eyes lit up but then he corrected himself 2.8. Anyway that really didn't put me off too much because I am not going to be doing any towing and I like to travel as light as possible. So I proceeded to look. Full service history and good desert duellers all around including new spare. looked underneath and she was as clean as the rest of the vehicle suggests. Next step, test drive. she drives beautifully and is very smooth on road until she goes over a pot hole then you hear and feel the notorious rattles that they are infamous for. But I don't think that is a major problem as long as it doesn't fall apart at the seams that is. So I proceeded to put a deposit on it subject to an inspection.

I have owned two landcruisers; a hj47 troopy which I really loved and a hj61rg sahara. which I equally loved. I still love the Landcruisers but for similar money, there aren't many diesel Cruisers out there with similar klms to choose from.

I liked the way the patrol drives and hopefully will not cost as much to run going the distance as an equivalent Cruiser with twice the klms in examples I've seen.

So lets jump the fence and see how the other half live for a while.

Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Sunday, May 18, 2008 at 19:57

Sunday, May 18, 2008 at 19:57
gold(patrol)sahara; welcolme aboard.
AnswerID: 304556

Follow Up By: Goldsahara - Sunday, May 18, 2008 at 20:02

Sunday, May 18, 2008 at 20:02
Thanks. If the inspection checks out I will have to change my forum name like you suggested. But for now it stays the same.

FollowupID: 570614

Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Sunday, May 18, 2008 at 20:49

Sunday, May 18, 2008 at 20:49
The 2.8 are not as bad as they are made out to be......BUT look after the cooling system and it will look after you. It is a weakness if it is not maintained.

Cheers Stefan AKA 2.8 turbo battler!! LOL
AnswerID: 304575

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, May 18, 2008 at 21:18

Sunday, May 18, 2008 at 21:18
Phewwwww !!!! It's the Nissan/Toyota thing. You had me worried there for a while :)))

AnswerID: 304583

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, May 19, 2008 at 08:19

Monday, May 19, 2008 at 08:19
Gramps, I thought he had been "batting for the other team" by not owning a Patrol before now LOL!!!!

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 570698

Reply By: equinox - Sunday, May 18, 2008 at 21:25

Sunday, May 18, 2008 at 21:25
Don't do it Goldsahara,

Yes, they're cheaper but for good reason.

AnswerID: 304586

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Sunday, May 18, 2008 at 21:56

Sunday, May 18, 2008 at 21:56
G'day Equinox

Just wondering why you say dont do it??Have you owned one before and if so what was the problem with it??
Not being a smart arse , just curious.

Cheers.......Dave
FollowupID: 570658

Follow Up By: equinox - Sunday, May 18, 2008 at 22:06

Sunday, May 18, 2008 at 22:06
Hi Borgy,

I guess its just something I have had drummed into me since my mining days.

I have driven cruisers bush since the early 90's and have had only one breakdown. An electrical plug had fallen off the motor which started straight away when reattached.

My cruiser will and has taken me to anywhere I wish to go.

Nothing else, incuding Patrols will suit me at the moment - It just wouldn't feel right.

I have seen more Patrols bonnets up than crusiers. :))

Eq

FollowupID: 570662

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Sunday, May 18, 2008 at 22:09

Sunday, May 18, 2008 at 22:09
No probs EQ , i was just curious thats all , thought you may have had a bad run with one or something.

Cheers......Dave
FollowupID: 570663

Follow Up By: Member - Jason - Monday, May 19, 2008 at 07:25

Monday, May 19, 2008 at 07:25
May I butt in :-) I have to say that there is good & bad in all makes. I've seen new prado's on tow trucks, new patrols with the bonnet up etc etc. Until recently, myself & 2 mates had a Cruiser, a patrol & a disco. We have put them through all sorts of terrain & all have their good & bad points.

I'm on my second disco &, like you EQ, wouldn't feel comfy in anything else. Horses for courses, as they say.

Jason
FollowupID: 570694

Reply By: Member - Matt & Julie (VIC) - Sunday, May 18, 2008 at 21:52

Sunday, May 18, 2008 at 21:52
Hi Goldsahara
I have a gq 4.2 and yes a little noise have a look at the rear disc dust covers they seem to split then rattle I looked for mine all over the place SA,Vic,and found it in Springwood NSW hope you enjoy yours as much as I enjoy mine
Happy travels

Matt & Julie

AnswerID: 304594

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Sunday, May 18, 2008 at 22:16

Sunday, May 18, 2008 at 22:16
G'day Goldsarah

Are you saying $17,862.00..??
If so i honestly would have thought that to be a bit overpriced for a GQ...i mean dont get me wrong GQ's are a great vehicle although i cant comment on the 2.8.....If you have a good look around you can pick yourself up a 2.8 GU for around the same price.

Cheers......Dave
AnswerID: 304600

Follow Up By: Goldsahara - Sunday, May 18, 2008 at 22:32

Sunday, May 18, 2008 at 22:32
Hi Borgy,

Yes that is the drive away price which includes stamp duty etc. and I got them to throw in six months rego too.

The reason that I am seriously considering buying it is the fact that it is so well looked after and has low ks and I do want to get back into a 4wd soon. Call it impatience.

I live in Cairns and as you might imagine the car market is limited here in the far north compared to the major cities.

Yes I could find a vehicle in Brisbane easily enough but then I have the extra cost of transporting it here etc. And from past experience, I would never buy a vehicle without inspecting and driving it myself even if it did check out mechanically.

A GU would be nice but I do have a good feeling about this one.
FollowupID: 570670

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Sunday, May 18, 2008 at 22:55

Sunday, May 18, 2008 at 22:55
G'day Goldpatrol..(sounds much nicer lol )

As long as your happy with it , thats all that really matters , so welcome aboard , you cant go past a Nissan..lol..
The Patrols are a great car and i personally reckon they drive much nicer than cruisers..

Cheers.....Dave
FollowupID: 570674

Reply By: Hairs (Lawrence,NSW) - Monday, May 19, 2008 at 11:19

Monday, May 19, 2008 at 11:19
Hi Goldsahara,
So you've become a switch hitter?
Hmmm.

I thought that You're either a Cruiser man or a Patrol man. I thought it was against the rules to switch sides half way through the game.

No seriously, If it's Ai mechanically, and it meets your needs and your happy to change sides, go for it. The decision is yours. Go for it.

Let us know if you deicide to buy her and we'll have a minutes silence for the loss of a fellow Cruiser owner.

;-(

Hairs
AnswerID: 304681

Reply By: patrolmann - Monday, May 19, 2008 at 13:59

Monday, May 19, 2008 at 13:59
Hi Goldsahara,
Go for it, I bought a 97 GQ 2.8 turbo with 200k on it in great original cond for $14500.00 in adelaide
Apart from putting in a new clutch it has never let me down. I love it.
Have been all over the Finders Rangers and over to Googs Track and the OOdnadatta track. She loves to get out and play in the dirt
Im sure you ill enjoy it.
patrolman
AnswerID: 304700