Upcoming Holiday: but to WHERE???

Submitted: Monday, May 19, 2008 at 15:18
ThreadID: 57773 Views:2581 Replies:2 FollowUps:1
This Thread has been Archived
Hi,
I would like to put together an itinerary for a trip from Tweed Heads to somewhere (one way-fly home, another couple fly out and bring rig home (couple already organised-just not where to fly home from)). I have a toyota Prado pulling a windsor Rapid 17' off road. We have 4 children ranging from 7 to 14 (2/2). We have 7 weeks off from mid June 08 and want to go one way and fly home. We have already done the Warrago highway to longreach and as far out as Winton and came home on the capricorn. We like getting remote but not too remote/dangerous 4wding. Have generator/extra freezer/180 litre water capacity. I have been a flying doctor out of cairns and wouldn't mind getting back up that way again but thought it might be a chance to see The Rock, the olgas etc as well as do some time in Kakadu and Darwin, flying home from either Kakadu or Central Australia. Can anyone suggest an itinerary with interesting places to stay and see? Many thanks, John.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Jason - Monday, May 19, 2008 at 15:54

Monday, May 19, 2008 at 15:54
Hi John,

Suggestion - North into Lawn Hill (beautiful) then across the Barkley & down into Alice (or across the Plenty via Boulia - preferred).
From Alice through the West MacDonnel Ranges then around the Mareenee Loop road through Kings Canyon etc & onto The Rock (then back up to Alice via the hwy if you need to).
Been to all the above & highly recommend them.
Hope this helps.

Cheers
Jason
AnswerID: 304715

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val W (ACT) - Monday, May 19, 2008 at 16:24

Monday, May 19, 2008 at 16:24