tree sap on tent fabric

Submitted: Monday, May 19, 2008 at 18:38
ThreadID: 57777 Views:4737 Replies:7 FollowUps:8
G'Day!
I've searched for this and found how to remove it off caravans, but my problem is that it's on my tent. I called the local camping shop and it was suggested that I try hot water.
I'm a bit concerned that hot water (as in kettle hot) may melt the tent fabric? My tent is not canvas; it's that tenty-nylony-type stuff (huh?)
It's also been 5 months since the tree sap was put there so time may have compounded the problem.
Anyone got any ideas for me to try?
Thanks!

Reply By: Red Tail Black - Monday, May 19, 2008 at 20:36

Monday, May 19, 2008 at 20:36
Hi SoloGirl
Back in January there was a thread 54080 from member BR he will hopefully see your post and give you the answer. I don't have any ideas but BR worked in the canvas trade.I kept his post as it was very usefull.
AnswerID: 304751

Follow Up By: SoloGirl - Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 14:55

Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 14:55
Hiya,
I tried searching for that thread but nothing came up...thanks though.
FollowupID: 570898

Follow Up By: Red Tail Black - Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 16:16

Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 16:16
Hi Again,

Have rechecked that thread and its the right no don't know why its not working for you. Hopefully BR will see this.
FollowupID: 570909

Follow Up By: SoloGirl - Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 17:29

Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 17:29
Eureka!
I have found the thread - now I can't find member BR!
Tried a search for BR and it comes up with everyone and his cousin..
Very informative chappie is BR, but I'm still concerend his info doesn't relate to my tent. Or is my tent made of vinyl?
FollowupID: 570924

Reply By: Steve - Monday, May 19, 2008 at 21:14

Monday, May 19, 2008 at 21:14
I'd be more inclined to ask a dry cleaner or laundry

it will make it more difficult as it's been there for 5 months

you could even try googling
AnswerID: 304758

Reply By: GerryP - Monday, May 19, 2008 at 22:39

Monday, May 19, 2008 at 22:39
Hi SoloGirl,
I might be wrong, but I reckon I recall something similar once and someone suggested eucalytptus oil. I know it's good for getting off all kind of gooey stuff so may be worth a try. However, I would try it on an inconspicous spot first to make sure it doesn't damage the fabric.

Gerry
AnswerID: 304774

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 08:44

Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 08:44
What are you doing camping under trees ? ( how else would sap get on your tent ?

This causes a dangerous precedent,, as there are people killed every year, by doing exactly that.... branches just drop any time
Please be carefull ! ........pick your camping spot a little better, and all that could mean is, moving your tent another 10-20 meters to the side.

AnswerID: 304812

Follow Up By: SoloGirl - Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 14:49

Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 14:49
Gee, sorry Bucky, I thought I asked for some advice; not to be reprimanded for HAVING to camp under a tree that you have no idea about!
FollowupID: 570897

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Friday, May 23, 2008 at 03:42

Friday, May 23, 2008 at 03:42
SoloGirl

Sorry if you felt I was a little over the top.

Better to be safe than flat !
FollowupID: 571377

Follow Up By: SoloGirl - Friday, May 23, 2008 at 07:36

Friday, May 23, 2008 at 07:36
No worries Bucky!
FollowupID: 571388

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 09:11

Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 09:11
Howdy SoloGirl, I would be inclined to try the hot water as I think all sap is soluble in water and if the water is hot it will speed up breaking the sap down.
Not boiling hot, but just warm & keep repeating it. OR try just soaking the fabric in cold water for 24 hours & see if that has any impact on it. Cheers
AnswerID: 304813

Reply By: Member - Guy 59 (QLD) - Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 13:43

Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 13:43
Hi SoloGirl,
You could try a solution of water & bleach or nappy san, if the sap you are talking about is the same as what you get out of most hardwoods then this should work.We use this often to remove tanin stains from canvas seat & backs on hardwood framed chairs.

See ya
Guy
AnswerID: 304854

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 06:43

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 06:43
Trouble with bleach is that it will "kill" the canvas...

And loose its waterproofing !

There was a post put on the forum, about 18 months or so, about the problems associated with cleaning canvas..

You may be ablr to drag it out of the Archives

FollowupID: 571588

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 16:28

Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 16:28
Howdy again SoloGirl, Gee only six responses in nearly 24 Hrs!!
Not as good as your 1300 odd for your squeaky belt thing a month or so ago.You need to smarten up a bit!! LOL & cheers.
AnswerID: 304882

Follow Up By: SoloGirl - Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 17:16

Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 17:16
Yup -I'm losing my touch!
FollowupID: 570919