Changing Fuel filter- 1HZ??

Submitted: Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 08:22
ThreadID: 57872 Views:6099 Replies:2 FollowUps:7
'Morning All
What's the sequence for changing the fuel filter canister on a 1hz- as fitted in a 75 series. It is the standard single filter setup.
I understand the system (or filter) has to be bled??

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 08:26

Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 08:26
G'day Signman. I've never actually had to bleed mine, although you should. Just give it a few turn overs afterwards and it starts. But it's no drama to loosen the little bleeder and pump it a few times (tightening it afterwards of course!).
AnswerID: 305211

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 08:33

Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 08:33
G'day Footy,
Where's the little bleeder?? Is that the 'water' drain tap under the base?
73s

FollowupID: 571224

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 10:41

Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 10:41
Footy are you talking about the 60 in your profile or your 80? I didnt know the 80 had a bleed nipple
FollowupID: 571244

Reply By: Top End Explorer Tours - Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 08:33

Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 08:33
Undo the water sensor cable, take the filter off and empty in an environmentally friendly way, undo the sensor at the bottom, replace O ring on the sensor, screw the sensor no the new filter tight, put a film of oil on the rubber seal, put the filter on firm not over tight, take off the hose that goes to the fuel pump, using the plunger on top of the filter assembly, pump the fuel through when it comes out the pipe reconnect the hose to the fuel pump give one or two more pumps till the plunger is firm, and the job is done.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 305212

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 08:34

Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 08:34
Thanks Steve

FollowupID: 571225

Follow Up By: Ted (Cairns) - Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 10:15

Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 10:15
I always thought these systems were "self-bleeding" i.e. what I do is screw new filter canister in, then press a few times on the hand pump on top of the filter housing until it goes hard, then simply start the engine. Works for me! Actually I enjoy it, my first diesel needed to be bled in 4 places and then you picked your choice of either: a, loosening a high pressure pipe at the injector and turning the engine over (quickly tighten when all air is out and engine looks like starting), or, b, get a mate to tow you a few times aroud the block.
FollowupID: 571237

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 10:45

Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 10:45
They are self bleeding. also if you have trouble undoing the filter then undo the housing it sits on (only 2 bolts) and invert it this will give youmuch better access toit for removal.
Also te 79s have a cartridge style pre filter - check it doesnt have one as well
FollowupID: 571245

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 12:56

Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 12:56
G'day Davoe
I don't think it has a 'pre-filter' - I guess that's to filter out the crocodiles & railway sleepers..
If it does have one- where would it be located??

FollowupID: 571263

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 13:36

Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 13:36
was looking at a 75 the other day and that didnt have one. In a 79 its not far from the main one and looks a bit simular, basically the fuel line comes to the pre filter then onto the main so you cant miss it.
From memory the water in fuel indicator is in the pre filer in a 79 as well instead of the main filter
FollowupID: 571267