Tyre plugs ruin tyres sometimes?

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 18:19
ThreadID: 58269 Views:4860 Replies:8 FollowUps:5

I have only plugged two tyres in my life and both tyres cannot be repaired safely (only good as spares). Am I doing something wrong or am I unlucky? I have and ARB repair kit and follow the instructions exactly. I have a feeling the cleaning tool seems to open the hole much larger which breaks the plies ruining the tyre. Do all you guys use this tool or just plug the tyre without it?

I am running BFG AT and have done 40000km of which 30000km has been mostly offroad including the Gibb and Cape. I'm now in the position of having to replace 4 tyres early as I have 2 stuffed ones now. I don't want to ruin any more at $320 a pop!

Thanks for any advice

Tez

Reply By: Splits - Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 18:52

Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 18:52
Tez

Who told you the tyres were beyond repair? If you are talking about tread punctures then there is no way you could possible make a small hole so large with a hand held cleaning tool that it can't be fixed.

Have a look at the information and photos on this page and if you live within range of a Rema Tip Top outlet, then go and have a talk with them.

Your holes may be beyond the capabilities of your repair kit but there is a lot more equipment available that you won't find in kits.

http://www.beadell.com.au/tyre_rules.htm
AnswerID: 307186

Reply By: David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Alongs - Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 18:53

Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 18:53
If the hole is in the sidewall, don't use the clearing tool.

AnswerID: 307187

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 18:54

Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 18:54
I have plugged plenty of BFG's AT/s, no problem with the Safety seal product. You will not be able to insert the needle in the holed area without using the reamer first. You need to bend the steel belts backwards and increase the hole size with the reamer. I rarely use the lubricant that is supplied in the screw top container but i guess it helps make the job easier. I never have them repaired later with an internal patch, i cant see the point if they dont blow out or leak.
Also if you lean on a Bob Jane franchise hard enough, you can buy new 265x75 16 for $260 ea, assuming you have that size.. Michael

AnswerID: 307188

Follow Up By: tdv - Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 19:57

Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 19:57
Unfortunately I have 265/70/17 on a 120 series Prado hence the cost.
FollowupID: 573052

Follow Up By: Jasjul - Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 10:19

Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 10:19
The plugs are only supposed to be a stop gap repair. Unless they are repaired correctly with the internal patch, your tyre becomes unroadworthy. So if you were involved in an accident your insurance company may write you off. In Victoria anyway, not sure about other states.
Jason
FollowupID: 573170

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 19:22

Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 19:22
probabally becasuse the punctures were in the crown or sidewall.
in my experience tread puntures are rare
AnswerID: 307195

Follow Up By: tdv - Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 19:55

Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 19:55
Thanks for all the quick responses.

the holes both times were in the centre of the tread. The first one was repaired in Kununara with a tube and a sleeve with plug through the tread with instructions to only use as a spare and never on the front. That was OK as I was rotating 5 tyres anyway.

The second was on the Cape and repaired yesterday in North Queensland. The plug didn't hold and I has to use the dodgy spare. They have again repaired with a sleeve but you can see from the outside the broken metal in the casing.

By the sounds of it I am doing the right thing and just plain unlucky!
FollowupID: 573051

Reply By: Splits - Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 20:34

Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 20:34
Tez

I am assuming you have taken the tyres to an ordinary tyre service. If that is the case then I would recommend going further because there is too much money tied up in those tyres to not explore every avenue.

If you are anywhere near Townsville then take them direct to Rema for advice.

REMA TIP TOP NQ
2/355 Bayswater Road
Garbutt Townsville QLD 4811
Ph. (07) 4728 1953
Fax (07) 4779 6822

If not then ring them and find out the nearest place that has the equipment to do major repairs, not simple patches and plugs.

AnswerID: 307217

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 20:49

Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 20:49
Ahh I think I know your problem.
your running with too higher tyre pressue (over 40PSI) and prob a heavy vehicle
this can cause impact fractures where the plies ae squeezed together blowng the tread out. Not a penatration punture.
This causeses ripping in the tyre which yea stuffs them.
Not running 15s are you? it is more common with them due to the low load index
AnswerID: 307221

Follow Up By: tdv - Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 12:30

Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 12:30
I have been running 36psi, but yes the vehicle can be heavy especially with the camper on the back. As said above they are 265/70/17. They have a load index of 112, though I have since found you can get 119.

On advice above I have found a tyre repairer in Innisfail who claims they will fix most things up to 20mm for $62 a tyre.

Thanks to all who have given advice, I might have saved plenty of $$$$.

FollowupID: 573186

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 21:58

Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 21:58
doesnt sound excessive. I did few on my old campervan running 15s in the way that i mentioned
FollowupID: 573252

Reply By: bms - Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 21:36

Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 21:36
Tez I reckon you've hit the nail on the head about the reeming tool being to large.
I have a slime kit I think it is from memory and the tool is heaps smaller in diameter than the arb one and I've had NO probs with repairing my BFG's
Maybe get a different cleaning tool mate.

bms
AnswerID: 307394

Reply By: tdv - Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 12:15

Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 12:15
I visited the repair shop. No luck! Both have bulges indicating internal damage and hence need new tyres!!!

Best price i could find was $299 each. They'll be here on friday. In future I may not plug immediately, only if I get a second flat which is highly unlikely given past experience.

Tez
AnswerID: 307498