rego's in nsw

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 10:17
ThreadID: 58793 Views:6205 Replies:8 FollowUps:12
gday all .yesterday we went to PRIMEX in Casino for their annual field day.walking around we came across the Jayco exhibit and we were looking at their pop top campers,and yep,very nice indeed.then i looked at the prices,seemed fair for the quality,but then laid eyes on the price for rego!!!! to register in QLD they were $145 and to register in nsw $2269.i am so glad we live in the revenue state!!!!can anyone tell me how the theiving 7$%#@(*$%^ can justify this cost!anywaythats me bitch for the day,cheers.

Reply By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 10:29

Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 10:29
Is there stamp duty payable on a new caravan registration in NSW?
In Queensland all drawn vehicles (caravans, trailers) are exempt from stamp duty.
I don't know if this may be a reason for the huge difference.
Glen
AnswerID: 310055

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 10:57

Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 10:57
theres a fee or tax on everything down here!!!
FollowupID: 576080

Follow Up By: Richard W (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 19:17

Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 19:17
Stamp Duty is 3% of the value and you have to provide documentary evidence of the value. Cost me $250 to register a trailer for $2,500 in NSW.
FollowupID: 576200

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 23:40

Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 23:40
The reason is that Qld & WA are getting more than their fair share of the GST revenue. NSW has to make up the shortfall somehow.

FollowupID: 576264

Follow Up By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Monday, Jun 16, 2008 at 06:37

Monday, Jun 16, 2008 at 06:37
Nomadic Navara,

I think your comments are ill informed.
To say that Qld & WA are getting more than their fair of GST revenue is incorrect and an unsubstantiated blanket comment. The fact is an independent authority – the Commonwealth Grants Commission (CGC) was set up for this purpose – so that it is at arms length from the Government in power of the day. All State Treasuries put in submissions covering all aspects of State expenditure to state their case before the CGC. The CGC uses a complex mathematical formulae to determine the per capita relativities of each state taking into account the states capacity to raise revenue and its cost of providing a standardised level of services. The aim is horizontal fiscal equalisation.
Here is a summary of the CGC’s role from its web page:

The Commission provides advice on per capita relativities to be used in distributing the
pool of GST revenue and Health Care grants (HCGs) among the States. It is asked to
recommend a distribution that provides all States with the capacity to provide the same
standard of services without having to raise taxes at different rates, provided they
operate with equal efficiency; that is, to achieve horizontal fiscal equalisation.
2 The Commission calculates the relativities using data for the most recent five completed
financial years (for example, 1999-2000 to 2003-04). These are called the assessment
years. The relativity for each State for each assessment year is calculated using the
methods described in this attachment. The relativities for each of the five years are then
averaged. The five year averaging acts to reduce volatility in GST revenue distribution
from year to year.
3 The per capita relativities for each assessment year can be calculated using one of two
approaches — one based on assessed expenses and revenues, the other using assessed
differences. The assessed expenses and revenues model describes State requirements
in terms of total expenses, less revenues and specific purpose payments (SPPs) treated
by inclusion. The assessed differences model is based on differences from the average
in each of expense, revenue and SPPs. The latter approach is particularly useful for
understanding the changes in State requirements. This attachment explains both
approaches mathematically and shows their equilivance.

Mr Nomadic Navara – please substantiate your claim of bias towards QLD and WA. Where is the CGC biased? Where is their methodology deficient.. Please study the distribution model and if you can fault it I’m sure your State Treasury Department would like to hear from you.

Cheers, GPM
FollowupID: 576282

Reply By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 10:35

Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 10:35
So it would appear they don't pay stamp duty on caravan rego in Qld. When I bought my Jayco in Vic last year, and transfered to NSW rego I got slugged with about $800 stamp duty, and actual rego is about $260 per year from memory.
How DO they justify that added expense?
What's the go in other states?
Fred.
AnswerID: 310057

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 15:55

Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 15:55
The NSW government charge 3% of the purchase price & is applicable to both new & second hand vehicles & caravans, so I suppose they charge the same for camper trailers as well as box trailers. On top of the 3% they also charge I think it is a $26.00 fee.

So they must make heaps considering they charge stamp duty every time the vehicle changes hands.
FollowupID: 576136

Reply By: Gazal Champion - Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 10:40

Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 10:40
Hi Mark,
Rego is also cheaper in Vic. I am told as is the stamp duty they charge. One of my friends bought a 5th wheeler and has rego it in Vic for something like the Qld. fee. Don't know what they paid in stamp duty.

As one of the members on these pages have on thier posts the line at the bottom which says

"It's official, NSW sucks."

How right they are. I know I live in it!!
Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

AnswerID: 310058

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 10:47

Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 10:47
He's smarter than us...he moved out recently LOL
FollowupID: 576072

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 10:51

Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 10:51
That's cause all QUEENSLANDers are smarter than all the cockroaches Fred hehehehe

Cheers Sir Kev

Go The MAROONS 2-1 here we come :)

FollowupID: 576076

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 10:53

Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 10:53
I knew that was coming Kev LOL
FollowupID: 576077

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 10:55

Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 10:55
the sooner Morris Dilemma goes the better i reckon!!
FollowupID: 576079

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 12:20

Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 12:20
Mark G,

"the sooner Morris Dilemma goes the better i reckon!!"

Do you honestly think that getting rid of the current Premier of the state will change things ?

He didnt introduce this ridiculous tax, its been around for decades.

Things won't change for the better, only the worse.

We are the most over taxed state in Australia and the next Premier regardless of his political persuassion will not drop sales tax as it earns the state so much in revenue.

Cruiser

FollowupID: 576093

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 12:35

Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 12:35
better to try something than just to sit on your hands.and besides he is after all in charge of it al,isnt he?
FollowupID: 576095

Reply By: DIO - Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 14:16

Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 14:16
Apparently any non-commercial trailer or caravan reg'd in SA costs $53.00 + Admin fee (about $6.00). There is no Stamp Duty payable.
AnswerID: 310094

Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 16:11

Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 16:11
In NSW
When we bought our van ($27000) we were slugged $810 stamp duty and $25 transfer fee.

Rego 9 months later $373
Comprehensive Insurance $334

80 series criuser $382 rego
CTP insurance $253

Hows that compare with SA

and what about Queensland??

I would be interested to here from you guys about this.
Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 576141

Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 16:08

Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 16:08
gotta love our state govt here! on - road taxes, gst, then theres their share in owning the mighy van....!

you looking at getting one???? go 2nd hand!!
AnswerID: 310115

Reply By: Garbutt - Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 17:53

Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 17:53
SA trailer rego $59

I have 3, a 6 x 4 to go to the dump, a CT and a boat trailer, all $59 a year, and I think caravans are the same.

GB
AnswerID: 310138

Reply By: Pomgonewalkabout - Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 19:18

Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 19:18
Listen call me a whinging Pom! But I spent 15 years in NSW and three years ago left for Outback SA.
IN SA to register our 7x5 box trailer cost $36 a year. Earlier this year we returned to our house in NSW and this week I attempted to change over to NSW plates. I had to get the trailer weighed, obtain a Blue slip went to the RTA queued for 30 minutes was then told their system was down and to come back later. I did only to find out that to register my trailer would cost $140 a year, plus plates and $50 odd dollars ito start the registration off! My intention was to leave it in the garage in NSW registered but sod it it is now in the garage and will be unregistered as we leave on Tuesday for a new life in Far North QLD where my partner will be a remote area nurse.

You don't have to weigh your trailer in SA but in NSW you do.
The tare? Weight was 10 kilo's over so instead of being $51 a year it was $140 for registration.
When we get to QLD our truck and Adventure off roader will be changed to QLD plates.

Tell me do you get used to drinking XXXX? LOL

cheers Eric

pomgonewalkabout.com
AnswerID: 310164

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 22:17

Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 22:17
Rego in NSW!

Yeah it's a pain in the arse!

However, you are going to pay the Government in one way or an other. From my observations after spending some time in "God's own State". I reckon that although we bitch about public tansport in NSW, we actually have it real easy in comparison to our cousins up north

If the state doesnt get you going out they will get you coming in, if, by the odd chance they miss both, then they will get you going left or right.

Don't get too carried away about rego/stamp duty charges.

AnswerID: 310219