tyres

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 20:10
ThreadID: 5909 Views:2057 Replies:7 FollowUps:6
I Have a 100 series landcruiser and my tyres desperatly need changing, can someone recommend a good 50/50 tyre which would be great for a 100 series

Reply By: Ben - Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 20:27

Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 20:27
Can't go past Cooper ST's.

Halfway between all-terrain and mud-terrain but still very quiet on the highway.
I bet you have just started a HUGE argumentetive question!!

Ben.
AnswerID: 24625

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 20:35

Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 20:35
Will agree with you there, Ben, a bloke was here this week from Melbourne, and the ST's looked to have plenty of wear left. We use BFG's AT, but would be tempted to change. Hooroo...
FollowupID: 16560

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 20:47

Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 20:47
I think they could do an FAQ page on tires, this comes up 12984021984029348092384 times a day!
AnswerID: 24628

Follow Up By: Lod - Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 22:58

Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 22:58
Thanks Guys
With the Coopers ive heard they need to be rotated regularly to get thier warranty valid. Is this true?
What sort of k's do you think there good for?
FollowupID: 16572

Follow Up By: Glenno - Friday, Jul 11, 2003 at 00:08

Friday, Jul 11, 2003 at 00:08
Yes they need a rotation every 10,000km's. The cost is $41.80 from memory for a "cooper service". T keep the warranty valid this has to be done at a cooper dealer. And in Brisbane there are none anywhere near the city, all out in the 'burbs.

I got sick of having to get it done on each 10,000 mark, as sometimes i was away from home etc and couldnt find a cooper dealer that was handy.

Suffice to say the 50,000km warranty on my Cooper AT's is more than safe, im up to 40,000 and there is a truck load of wear left.

So personally i wouldnt sweat over the strict warranty policy, just make sure they get balanced and rotated regulary.

PS. Up for a set of ST's next round.

Glenn.
FollowupID: 16583

Follow Up By: Steve from Drive Systems Victoria - Friday, Jul 11, 2003 at 08:55

Friday, Jul 11, 2003 at 08:55
Kelly Safari MSR, provided you have no hang-ups about going to a 75 profile.
FollowupID: 16600

Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Friday, Jul 11, 2003 at 00:13

Friday, Jul 11, 2003 at 00:13
I'm not sure how much off road work you do but even though i love coopers and ST they do rip some side lugs off .
But i have heard the new st will be on oz shores soon so look for them i imagine the side tread to change a little .
But if you are desperate the choice is yours

Where 's Diamond this is his job ?
lol1999 NISSAN NAVARA DUALCAB
DIESEL 3.2 & SPRINGY CARLTON TOY
AnswerID: 24663

Follow Up By: diamond (bendigo) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2003 at 17:52

Saturday, Jul 12, 2003 at 17:52
gooday mate.
ive been dying from the flu must have been the snow.
but back now.
new job coming so no fraser this time:-((
FollowupID: 16670

Reply By: wazza - Friday, Jul 11, 2003 at 09:17

Friday, Jul 11, 2003 at 09:17
Just got Cooper STT's on my 80 series 2 weeks ago. Fairly aggessive, hum a bit at speed, but seem to have good stories about wear and tear. I would go Cooper ST if after an all terrain, or BFG A/T's as I previously had.

Anyway, main reason for this reply is to say that when you find the tyre you want, shop around for your dealer as much as you do the tyre. My dealer will do FREE rotation as part of the service every 10,000 or 6 months and if I run low pressure on the weekends and get sticks and mud between the rim and tyre, he will clear them out on Monday for FREE as well. All part of the service for 4wd owners.

Talking mud tyres here, but the price I got was $299 for 285/75/16 on the Cooper
STT's which was about par with everyone else. He was a little more expensive on the Goodyear MTR's than the bigger discount guys, but I didn't haggle at all. I simply liked his service after getting mucked around all day by others... Won't post his details now, but he is in Flemington, Melbourne if anyone is interested.
AnswerID: 24672

Reply By: Justin - Saturday, Jul 12, 2003 at 00:19

Saturday, Jul 12, 2003 at 00:19
Lod I have an 80 series and recently replaced my tyres with Bridgestone ATs and have been quite impressed. After much research I was considering Micky Thompsons AT, BFG's AT, Coopers AT, Pirelli Scorpion, Toyo and Bstone. One of my mates with an 80 series has Toyo Open Countrys and swears by them, however 4wd monthly did a test on a heap of tyres and recon they are very good for many types of surfaces but not real flash on gravel roads. I am a little weary of Coopers warranty from what I have heard (very hard to get tyres replaced), but another mate just bought coopers and recons they are great (triton). BFG's are expensive, however I recon they are good but noisy on road. Another mate has a 75 series with Pirelli Scorpions and recons they are great - but I recon they are wearing a little too much and the sidewall strength may be a little 'light'. I am very happy with my Bstones but they too may be wearing a little too much (compared with BFG's). I recon the pick is Micky Thompsons, after reading independant rightups and looking at them - they are just a little hard to find at the right price although there RRP is the same as Bstones (265/75R16) $260. I got my Bstones for $200 from Kmart. Kmart are great value - ring up the other guys, get the best price and call Kmart. The perk of Kmart is that they will rotate and balance the tyres for free for the life of the tyres (every 10,000kms). That saves about $35 per visit!!!

That my view anyway....
AnswerID: 24756

Reply By: diamond (bendigo) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2003 at 17:57

Saturday, Jul 12, 2003 at 17:57
gday lod.
you cant beat cooper s/t.good on road and as good off road
as for waranty we dont give waranty out of the city(we in bendigo).
but when people buy a set from us we do a balance and rotation free of charge for the life of the tyres.mind you i have just fitted some h/t to see how they go heaps quieter and they didnt let me down last weekend.but wasnt really hard stuff.new job coming so no fraser this time:-((
AnswerID: 24776

Follow Up By: Member - Toonfish - Sunday, Jul 13, 2003 at 01:13

Sunday, Jul 13, 2003 at 01:13
I know a good cure for the snow cold . more snow!!!!!!!
yeah i know what you mean diamond its been a long week here personally with a few dramas this week but looking ok today.
thank God its Sunday.
How did the new job go???
sorry i didnt get back to you before boss came back too much going on.
cheers1999 NISSAN NAVARA DUALCAB
DIESEL 3.2 & SPRINGY CARLTON TOY
FollowupID: 16695

Reply By: Slunnie - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2003 at 01:00

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2003 at 01:00
The Cooper ST performs well, though in my opinion are pretty fragile for 50% off road. My ones were breaking lugs and ended up being replaced with the STT's under warranty. For 50% on/off road I would look at the STT or the MTR.
Slunnie.
AnswerID: 25067