Overloading - Are we all guilty as charged?

Submitted: Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:02
ThreadID: 59262 Views:5770 Replies:15 FollowUps:37
Just started research in to the allowable load capacity of my vehicle and it gets a bit frightning when you add it all up. (Have posted a Payload Calculator in the Members file swap if you can not get to a weigh bridge). I will be heading to the weigh bridge after I load the beast for the trip next week, first calculations are scary. My mate is leaving for the Cape today and has a Toyota Dual cab 5l Diesel. He loaded this with most of his gear and off to the weighbridge, 100kg over GVM and still has to put in the Wife two kids and a bit more camp gear on top. This vehicle I can tell you has not got a real lot attached to it and just the usual in the back!

I will let you know how I go, but for now I am off to research the ramifications of the overloaded vehicle. Every time I see a loaded 4x4 on the road now it makes me wonder how we get away with it!

Maybee some of you have done the research and can give some quick informed answer and save me some square eyes. Regards Tony.

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:26

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:26
If you exceed your vehicles GVM & need to make an insurance claim you may well find you are in trouble. A friend rolled his 4by & caravan & the first thing after salvage was a weigh in to see if weight had been exceeded. He was ok just, assessor told him the claim would have been rejected if GVM had been exceeded. This
is apparently now becoming widespread, as the insurance man said
it is now commom place for GVM to be considered as increasing
number of vehicles are found to be overweight. Yes they can include the weight of passengers as well.
Solution...get weighed , dont guess, it could be exxie....oldbaz.
AnswerID: 312549

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:35

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:35
Yes, I will get weighed, but not sure what I could dump if I am over...mmmm!!!! Maybee should have got more than a toy 4x4 some may suggest! Regards Tony.
FollowupID: 578528

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:44

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:44
Tony, I dont think your "Toy 4WD" will be any worse off than the big guys....If you put 5 big blokes in a new 200 series with a slab each you are close to the limit of that vehicle as well. I suppose
we are to blame...demanding too much electronic gizmos etc
& then bolting on heavy bits like bullbars, winches & so on. Even the so called tonners arent legal with a ton anymore. Its an
increasing problem, particularly the Insurance issue....oldbaz.
FollowupID: 578535

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:56

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:56
Yes, still looking if you can up your GVM, not looking good as the chassis and braking capabilities comes into the factor! Regards TONY
FollowupID: 578540

Follow Up By: Vivid Adventures - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 22:22

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 22:22
Time for a trailer.
FollowupID: 578612

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 07:17

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 07:17
Ta, that was an option but on the long trips we were trying to save the drag weight and try not restrict where we go. We set up like this because we do tow the creek boat when we camp up the Cape, thus we can put some of the load in that when doing those trips. Regards Tony
FollowupID: 578636

Reply By: Notso - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:29

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:29
It's amazing what some people get away with. If I did some of the things I see others doing I'd either be booked or dead.

Saw`a mazda 626 towing a dual axle van with a tinny on top a while back.

AnswerID: 312550

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:38

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:38
Yes. That is what I was pointing out. I used to work on the cape roads and some of the rigs you would see left you with your mouth wide open. Stuff hanging off every part of the vehicle and a roof rack full of jerrys and spare tyres. Wonder if it will be policed one of these days? Regards Tony
FollowupID: 578531

Reply By: The Landy - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:43

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:43
Not just an insurance issue either; if you have an accident and they find that your vehicle was overloaded, especially if injuries are involved, you may find yourself with criminal charges......

I have the base weight of our vehicle and work out a load sheet when loading for a trip, find that works well to keep us within weight and to ensure we don't take things we think we 'might' need.
AnswerID: 312557

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:54

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:54
Handy Advice. I made up the Payload Calculator for this reason. It told me get down to the weigh bridge ASAP before you go. All the heavy stuff is the stuff to make the trip safer!!! So what do you choose to dump? (2nd spare, hi lift jack, winch, bull bar, etc) can not toss the tent or fridge! Ta regards Tony.
FollowupID: 578538

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 19:50

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 19:50
Could always get a 'Landy' with 3,500 gvm.....

Enjoy your trip...
FollowupID: 578582

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 07:08

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 07:08
Price was the problem, the best I could afford. You would think 2900GVM that gives you a 1250kg payload may have been ok!
FollowupID: 578634

Follow Up By: ross - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 23:07

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 23:07
Some load carrying vehicles(utes) can be rated a higher GVM with upgraded springs.
Landcruisers and Patrols can go from 3035KG to 3500kgGVM
FollowupID: 578815

Reply By: Crackles - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:55

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:55
Many utes can slip in under the max GVM when loaded but it's unlikely a wagon will get any where near coming in under weight unless they put very little in the car & tow a trailer. The allowable payload on many is only between 400 & 800kg so when 250kg is taken up with bar work & winches it barely leaves enough for the fuel & passengers let alone any food or gear.
"ramifications of the overloaded vehicle"......... Have never heard 1st hand of a 4 wheel driver being booked for overloading or of an insurance company refusing a claim because of it but no doubt it does happen. Accessory companies are well aware they are overloading vehicles but at the moment it doesn't seem to matter. The main issue I see with overloading is the poor handling, increased punctures & breakages. Shedding weight & taking less junk will definitely be a feature of my next vehicle.
Cheers Craig........
AnswerID: 312564

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 17:01

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 17:01
Yes I tried the KISS thing with my rig, but every little bit seems to be adding up to too much. Camper was made with Aluminium sheeting on a steel frame. Weigh bridge may show all is good though. Try that in a weeks time when fully loaded, give myself time to unload if I have to. Regards TONY
FollowupID: 578542

Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 17:42

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 17:42
To start with you could trim some of that steel bar work off & possibly fit a plasma winch cable ;-) I've gone for lighter weight sleeping bags, more compact inflating mats, smaller stove etc... , even removed the glind shower & replaced with a canvas bucket. After a trip it's amazing how much stuff one doesn't actually use.
Cheers craig..............
FollowupID: 578552

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 17:52

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 17:52
Unfortunatly or fortunatly depends how you look at it that steel bar work gets a bit of a work out. A lot of tracks we do get very overgrown in a short time and the bars save the paintwork a heck of a lot. A track near Cooktown the other week sore tested the bar protection. First thing to go would be the Porta Toilet the wife sees as a must, AT LEAST I HAVE AN ARGUMENT for that now!!mmm Regards Tony
FollowupID: 578554

Reply By: EaglePatrol - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 17:38

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 17:38
Whilst on the topic of overloading... I just read this in the Kimberley Echo...

Over Loading
AnswerID: 312580

Reply By: zacc - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 17:50

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 17:50
hi all i live in western australia and never heard of weighing a vehicle before travelling . does it cost to go over the weigh bridge ?
AnswerID: 312584

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 17:57

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 17:57
Only if you do not know someone, though I am sure there will be places that would not CHARGE anyway. I work in roadworks so I can fly down to the local Quarry and they will put me over for no charge. Just ask a quarry or a large trucking company.
FollowupID: 578555

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 18:31

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 18:31
$11.25 at Collier Road/Tonkin Highway.
All vehicles have to be weighed when reregistered as well as trailers.
FollowupID: 578565

Follow Up By: ross - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 23:03

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 23:03
There is a list of all weighbridges in wa here

Some of them are cheaper if you dont want any offiicial paperwork and pay cash : )
FollowupID: 578813

Follow Up By: ross - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 23:04

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 12:03

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 12:03
just go to the tip - thats where ive got my vehicles weighed
FollowupID: 578854

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 18:40

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 18:40
Get a C/T .. if anything happens while overloaded your in trouble.
I have a lawyer in the family and it would not be the first time someone lost the house over an accident.

I hope that the coppers will finally pull some over at the truck weigh bridges and check the load and get them off the road. especially the ones travelling 85 along the highway when speed limit is 100 or even 110. As it was mentioned above it can be a criminal charge and gross negligence when overloaded. I guess 90% are and give a damn about it. When you talk to people on the track they are even proud of what their jap crap can carry without breaking down.

good luck
gmd
AnswerID: 312604

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 18:50

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 18:50
Maybe get some oversize Mud tyres and put helium in them? It must be because it is not heavily policed that you do seea lot of overloaded rigs! Weigh bridge certificate it will be. Still no luck looking up changing GVM on a vehicle. Not easy to punch in the right search words. Ta. Tony.
FollowupID: 578571

Follow Up By: Member - G N (VIC) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 21:23

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 21:23
I am surprised you enjoy camping!
FollowupID: 578602

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 07:13

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 07:13
GN????? What do you imply. We enjoy camping and 4x4 greatly. That is why we have set up our car. But we do not want to go outside the law thus the reason for the conversation. Did you have anything helpful to say????? Regards Tony
FollowupID: 578635

Follow Up By: Member - G N (VIC) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 16:10

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 16:10
I must appologise Tony
I was actualy having a dig at gmd but obviously used the wrong follow up link.
GN
FollowupID: 578702

Reply By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 21:18

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 21:18
Maybe ignorance is bliss - if you dont know its overloaded and provided the overloading does not contribute to the accident then you MIGHT be OK

The following is direcly from my insurance company web

There is no insurance under this policy if at the time of the
incident your vehicle was:
6.5.1 in an unsafe, unroadworthy or illegal condition, but
this does not apply if:
(i) the condition did not contribute to the cause of
the incident; or
(ii) you or an insured person were unaware of the
defect and it was reasonable to be unaware of it;

overloaded, but this does not apply if the
overloading did not contribute to the cause of the
incident.

For example, you would not be insured for an accident caused
by carrying a bigger load in the boot than your vehicle was
designed to carry or by similarly overloading your trailer.
AnswerID: 312644

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 22:12

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 22:12
Hear what you are saying Trekkie, but plenty in there that a smart insurance lawyer or crown prosecutor could work with.

One of the problems when it gets to the point of prosecution or if the insurance company fails to pay is that it will cost you plenty of money to hire a smart lawyer to sort it out.....otherwise you just roll over.

FollowupID: 578609

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 07:20

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 07:20
That used to work in the Army when you wanted to get out of somthing, but I should not push my luck when ther could be a lot at stake. But I could be good at that I think!!!! Tony
FollowupID: 578637

Reply By: Member - Jim (Syd) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 22:26

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 22:26
This has been discussed before but I can't remember the thread. However the essence of the discussion was that it is possible in some cases to get your GVM upgraded. In NSW this involves getting an engineer who specializes in vehicle modifications to work in conjunction with the RTA to inspect you vehicle, work out what changes need to be made, (usually tyres and suspension components), make said changes and then be issued with a new compliance plate and certificate. Then own up to your insurance company (ours is GIO) who will add about $130 to your premium and issue you with a new insurance certificate. John Bourke at Specialized Vehicles did mine. It turned out that the shockers, springs, tyres and airbags I had already fitted were the same as they required, the vehicle got a good going over to check for cracks etc (none), he did a laser alignment after lowering the front diff to fix the CV angles and the thing drives better than ever, legally. New GVM is 3.758 tons.
Jim
VKS 737
Call Sign Mobile 2737

AnswerID: 312654

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 07:24

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 07:24
Thanks Jim, did try to search to find a thread, did not have much luck, keywords got no luck. I spent quite a while online looking as well, funny thought it would be easy to find the info. Next step is the phone call to the traffic blokes that will know. My lift kit did not alter the CV angles and I have the Air Bags with stronger springs so I will see what the rest will cost. Thanks for the feedback. Regards Tony
FollowupID: 578638

Follow Up By: John S (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 23:51

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 23:51
Tony,

I posted a thread back a few months explaining what we went thru to increase the GVM of our LC100. We also used John Bourke.

It may fill in some blanks for you.
FollowupID: 578997

Reply By: 4wln - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 23:04

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 23:04
Hello Tony,
I am in Nsw and have just had my 100ser petrol V8 GVM increased by 400kg GVM is now 3660kg. It is not impossible. To do it you must show how youve increased the load carrying capacity of the vehicle. My rig has the lot and empty with full fuel tanks weighs 3155kg and I weighed everything I normally cary in the draws and thats 145kg and thats 3300kg ,40kg over GVM before I went anywhere and thats with full fuel tank 275litres. I have weighed everything with my bathroom scales and know exactly what everything weighs and even the camping gear I put in for this trip to Innamincka next week. Camping gear and food etc is another 150kg so total weight is 3480kg leaving me 180kg for passengers. Not much carrying capacity left. Sh..t I'll have to lose weight. Lucky this trip I have only one passenger so I should make it under the Gvm. The only thing I can vary without leaving any gear at home is fuel .The rear tank is 180litres so this is my ace card where if I really want to I drop 70litres and hence around 70kg. I might go back and increase GVM by 100kg. I don't know what the upper boundaries are for this GVM increase are. I am glad I've got it done. I also tow a Trakshak CT hence thats why gear was only 150kg> If you have to carry tent and more gear etc in car that can be another 150 to 200kg.Then you'll have to start thinking what to take.
Now to get this done you will need to get an engineers report with all suspension mods done and LT tyres is one of them and in my case the trump card was the Polyair bags or any other airbags . My engineer said no airbag no chance. Now what happens if puncture bags , I don't know his logic behind why they were necessary.in lieu of a heavier spring. Next is a blue slip to prove that you have all this gear and then with both in hand down to RTA and fill out change of record form and its all done. Simple. My vehicle was technically legal but now I have it in black and white and I am covered > I also let my insurance know of GVM increase and all is good. . So go find an automotive engineer and get the ball rolling . In regards to smaller 4wds I don't know what GVM increase you can have. All up it cost me $800.00 small price to pay to be covered. Hope this has helped. regards Peter.
AnswerID: 312659

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 07:29

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 07:29
Peter. Thats good to know thankyou. Ive got all the good suspension mods including air bags, just put a set of Coopers Sts on so next week off to find out the rest and cost. Queensland may be different, will be good if they made it standard throughout Aussy, then a lot of threads would make easier reading I would think. Thanks Tony
FollowupID: 578639

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 13:00

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 13:00
QLD is similar. I was quoted $800 engineer cost and paperwork to reduce my GVM by 700kg and make it legal to drive with an ordinary drivers licence. of course I did NOT do that because I would have the same problem 90% of the 4wds have here. Even if you lift your GVM and have it fully fitted out you will most likely be over the limit. So are many Caravans, because most of them have only 350 to 400kg pay load. Weight is a critical thing and for insurers and overloaded vehicle or caravan is an unsafe vehicle and reason to deny a claim.
The best solution I reckon is a CT with decent load capacity.
good luck
gmd
FollowupID: 578672

Reply By: 4wln - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 13:33

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 13:33
Hello Tony , Forgot to mention re GVM issue All this came about from a 4wd trailer course I did. The instructor said go and get your rig and trailer weighed and so I did. I wasn't really surprised with weighjts I got. . But now I have it all fixed up. The instructor told me something I didn't know. I will have to confirm this. That the Gvm for Toyota Landcruiser 100ser is the same as stated even if towing something as you would normally have to account for the towball weight of trailer and deduct it off the Total Gvm you can carry in vehicle. I don't know if this is across their whole range. And he also said that with the other brands you have to deduct the towball weight for your Gvm you can carry. With this Toyota you don't. As I said I'll have to confirm this I know it sounds odd. I don't have any affiliation with Toyota this is just something they have told me.
Now the only way you can decrease your load carrying capacity is put it in a trailer like I did. I am so glad I did as far as Gvm goes as I would definitely be over again even after increasing Gvm. It does affect where you can go obviously . My trailer with boat and motor and gear weighs in at about 1700kg and thats just a camper trailer . My V8 tows it no problems on black top and rough roads even steep rutted tracks but in sand thats another story it can get thru but not up any steep sand hills without going flat out. If I am doing any sand driving I would take my tent. If you must take a trailer make sure its light if driving in sand makes life easy. I thought I might pass this on incase you have problems increasing Gvm. regards Peter.
AnswerID: 312702

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 14:39

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 14:39
tell him he is a complete idiot and should learn his trade before he starts rumours

here the data for the Kindergarden truck - the 200 series

Ground clearance is 225mm, kerb weight is 2555-2720kg, gross vehicle mass is 3300kg, gross combined mass is 6800kg and maximum towing capacity is 3500kg.

as you see there is the term gross combine mass and thats the one to look at for overall weight of a vehicle and a trailer

Aggregate Trailer Mass + Gross Vehicle Mass = Gross Combined Mass

if you follow the rules and tow a 3.5t trailer with 10 ball weight, which is part of the GVM then you can load 300-400kg in the vehicle.

good luck
gmd
FollowupID: 578682

Reply By: 4wln - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 15:03

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 15:03
I will .Your right GCM does come into it. As I said I don't know what he was going on about. regards Peter
AnswerID: 312708

Reply By: Outa Bounds - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 10:50

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 10:50
I agree with the fact that a lot of 4x4,s are overwieght probably without knowing it. I mean just chuck a winch, bar, spare wheel carrier, aux tank on any of them and you're probably 3/4 of the way there! I'd say the problem is that these days the car makers are designing them with all the off road capabilities, but in the weight and carrying capacity regard they are being made to serve as shopping trolleys and nothing more!

In WA now they have made it even easier to change rego over from other states, if you meet certain ownership criteria you don't even have to have it inspected. And you would only have to have it weighed if the tare on your rego papers was too high, otherwise provide original documents to say what the tare vehicle was from new.

We traded our old 80 for something smaller & more efficient, but it would have been pretty wieghty with the dual wheel carrier, draws, bullbar, winch, fridge, fat tires etc. We did have poly airs and tuff dog shocks / suspension so no doubt it could handle it. Hmm I tend to think it's a reason OME shockies never lasted very long on it, probably not built to take the weight, and yes I'll admit on trips we probably were driving over the legal limit unknowingly.
Being now more aware of the issue, and having kids you tend to take safety over anything else. I tend to think insurance companies are catching on to0.

Isn't it true that you can't get some things installed at the time of purchase (like a bullbar / towbar). I think my father in law looked at getting a new V8 toyota ute and said they wouldn't install an accessory of some sort for a reason (probably weight). So you get these things done after market and at your own risk.

Really manufacturers should lift their game and make the vehicles capable of driving with accessories that people are likely to put on them. But I suppose the fact of the matter probably is that 80% will get used as supermarket trollerys?
AnswerID: 312836

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 13:42

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 13:42
Why should they raise their act ?
Nobody makes them do that .. why do you complain about gouvernment or manufacturers ?? it is "YOU" being mindless, buying what gets thrown at you. The market decides and the companies react or dictate if they can. It is the consumer with the ultimate power and if you complain about lack of service or quality you say that consumers are uncritical, uneducated, short sighted or incompetent. You make your pick.
have fun
gmd
FollowupID: 578868

Follow Up By: Outa Bounds - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 15:16

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 15:16
Well all I'm saying is that surely it wouldn't be that much harder if they were manufactured to take the extra weight from the start. Yes I agree as it currently stands the onus is on the buyer to make sure it is suitable for their needs and if not then to look into what it would take to make it so.

I don't have a gripe against the manufacturers at all, I just see it as a possible solution, but like I pointed out it's probably not in their interest since the majority of buyers probably never use them in the way that they are marketed. Yes take a look at the marketing, it's what lead me to say that in the first place - I don't see ladies loading shopping bags.

In regards to being mindless I don't know if you meant it directly towards me or not, but really there is no need to get personal in that regard. Either way everything we purchased was to suit the purpose of what we were doing at the time...
Long range tank - gets the spare out from under the car giving us more clearance and travelling across the Nullabor (which we did several times) we don't have to pay extortionate fuel prices.
Rear wheel carrier - two spares on the back not taking up luggage space
bull bar - pretty much a necessity with kangaroos & wildlife
winch - well that was from the previous car and a good to have, albeit mostly pulling other people out of trouble.
Now our travelling style has changed & thus we traded the car in taking a loss as you always do, and we're selling the camper as well.

I guess in the end, the main point of this whole thread is that people are buying these cars, getting all the goodies available for them, loading up the camping gear and heading off not knowing that there is an potential overloading or weight and safety issue.

Perhaps then a better statement would be more education, weather it comes from the manufacturers or the retailers, or perhaps more stringent registration regulations.
FollowupID: 578879

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 16:10

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 16:10
not meant personal at all .. "YOU" meant "one"

you said:
I guess in the end, the main point of this whole thread is that people are buying these cars, getting all the goodies available for them, loading up the camping gear and heading off not knowing that there is an potential overloading or weight and safety issue.

and thats what I call mindless. You do your homework and buy accordingly. If people would do that our vehicles would be different.
Australia has too many large engine vehicles for metro use .. and thats what I call mindless too .. just because they can they buy V8s .... stupid .. I do not blame the tradesman loading his ute and pulling a trailer. It's the guy buying the V8 ute to impress the girls or whatever the reason and raking up a debt on 3 credit cards. Just mindless and lacking education or style for that matter. Sadly too many of these.

People are lured by advertising and buy a dream .. I for that matter tend to avoid the companies who advertise strongly .. the more a company advertises the more I avoid their products. If others would do that too we would have a more open market.
But that maybe just me ..

have fun
gmd

FollowupID: 578885

Follow Up By: Outa Bounds - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 16:29

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 16:29
Ah yes buying the dream.

I suppose at least some of the ad's these days are very much unbelievable, thanks to computer graphics and what not. But I'm sure it's still getting a certain message across.

Me, I personally love researching the details if we're buying new stuff. But of course one has to be open minded, otherwise no education or research will help if say you are already biased towards a certain brand or product. And I'll admit at times I probably do end up going for a certain brand because of their reputation or whatever. I guess that's an example when marketing has sucked me in - or alternately all the good reports from other "suckers" LOL.

At least you know that you're personally not paying extra just for brand names and all those advertising dollars, by avoiding those companies as you have said.

You know it would be interesting to do a comparison of all the common 4x4's even the softraders and to list the load carrying capacity of each. I wonder if it would be much of an eye opener?
FollowupID: 578887

Follow Up By: Outa Bounds - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 16:29

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 16:29
Ah yes buying the dream.

I suppose at least some of the ad's these days are very much unbelievable, thanks to computer graphics and what not. But I'm sure it's still getting a certain message across.

Me, I personally love researching the details if we're buying new stuff. But of course one has to be open minded, otherwise no education or research will help if say you are already biased towards a certain brand or product. And I'll admit at times I probably do end up going for a certain brand because of their reputation or whatever. I guess that's an example when marketing has sucked me in - or alternately all the good reports from other "suckers" LOL.

At least you know that you're personally not paying extra just for brand names and all those advertising dollars, by avoiding those companies as you have said.

You know it would be interesting to do a comparison of all the common 4x4's even the softraders and to list the load carrying capacity of each. I wonder if it would be much of an eye opener?
FollowupID: 578888

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 18:04

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 18:04
Unfortunatly some of us buy what we can afford, not what the wish list would be? Yes the point of the thread was to be aware that you can run out of GVM Very quickly and you need to address that some how. I will find out tomorrow, put it over the weigh bridge without the camper and at the end of the week with! Got the fingers crossed. Regards Tony.
FollowupID: 579098

Reply By: kale - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 23:15

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 23:15
Just reading the comments, did not see any mention of need to modify or replace brake load proportioning valve, certainly the traybacks I modified this was necessary for engineer certification.

The other very important reason to weigh bridge tow vehicle and trailer is to know what tyre pressure to run
AnswerID: 313004

Follow Up By: John S (NSW) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 00:00

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 00:00
Kale,

A part of the fees I had to pay to increase our GVM to 3758Kg was RTA brake testing.
FollowupID: 578998

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 18:07

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 18:07
Kale. Thanks for that. Looks like this may cost a bit, but will give piece of mind. Regards Tony
FollowupID: 579099

Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 09:19

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 09:19
Yep, guilty as charged.

Remember the days before you owned a 4wd and went on holidays in the family sedan or station-wagon? Sure the rear end was low but we adjusted tyre pressures and then took it easy when driving. You weren't not going to go away because you didn't have a 4wd with an increased GVM and/or a trailer....and it's still going on.

When are we going to bring in the laws that say you can't go on holidays unless you can afford an modified vehicle with upgraded GVM? ;-))

AnswerID: 313027