Cleaning diesel jerry can's

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 21:53
ThreadID: 59349 Views:18072 Replies:6 FollowUps:9
Have just been given a few 20 lt jerry cans that have been used for carrying diesel. Now need to use for storing unleaded fuel> Is it OK to just fill containers with unleaded & put through the 100 Series LC petrol, or should they be cleaned first? If so what should they be cleaned with?

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 22:02

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 22:02
Caddz

Throw a bit of detergent into the can. Stick the hose in, and let it overflow for around ten minutes.

Kim
AnswerID: 312979

Follow Up By: FLEXABILL - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 22:11

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 22:11
my goodness do you think the tanker that delivers the fuel to your local servo chuks a bit of parmolive in and lets it overflow 4 10 minutes between loads.
FollowupID: 578973

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 22:16

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 22:16
What the hell are talking about fella?

Kim
FollowupID: 578974

Follow Up By: FLEXABILL - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 22:17

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 22:17
trying 2 make sense of that tip u gave
FollowupID: 578976

Reply By: FLEXABILL - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 22:04

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 22:04
being 100 series LC petrol i would rinse them with turkeys bleep any other petrol motor i wouldnt bother
AnswerID: 312980

Follow Up By: al - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 19:06

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 19:06
flexballs
you should really go to another forum the crap that comes out of your head is about a use full as t# tts on a bull.

al
FollowupID: 579107

Reply By: qubert - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 22:37

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 22:37
crickeys. just fill them with petarroll ( aboriginal for petrol) and go mate go go . ye olde engine will say.... ' oh yeah diesel is nice and soft'
AnswerID: 312992

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 22:49

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 22:49
I agree 100%....whatever residual diesel might be left in the jerries will be so minimal as to be of no consequence. Maybe a teaspoon (if that!!!!) mixed in with about 100 litres of petrol (ie: once it's added to the fuel tank etc)........

You'd have to be more worried about other contaminants (eg: rust particles if they're steel) that might be in the cans.....

Too easy

FollowupID: 578988

Reply By: qubert - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 22:59

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 22:59
the olde 'soap n water ' makes me roll on the floor laughing..........holding my belly laughing.......
AnswerID: 313000

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 04:43

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 04:43
AS long as there is no rust, flakes or dirt, just fill the thing..

If in doubt, pour 1/2 lt of pertol in the jerry can, shake it about, and dump it, ( somewhere safe ) then you are right to go ...

No wuckers Mate

AnswerID: 313013

Reply By: richard - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 20:39

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 20:39
Just make it more confusing

What if the other way around.

I have a metal jerry can which has petrol in it are there any issues putting in diesel.

Also what is best for diesel the yellow plastic or metal jerry cans

I am not trying to steal thread and will start a new one if you like but is of interest to me.

AnswerID: 313133

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 20:56

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 20:56
If the petrol in there is just what remains after the jerry has been up-ended (a tablespoon-full at most), then no issues whatever IMO... if concerned about it, just leave the jerry in the sun with the cap off for a short while, and that small amount of petrol will evaporate...

Which is best for diesel, yellow plastic or metal?
Whatever ya have on hand and/or prefer to use..

Most of my jerries are (ex army) metal ones, though I do have a couple of (red) plastic ones.. I definitely prefer metal for petrol..

YMMV ;-))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 579138

Follow Up By: richard - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:07

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:07
Ed,
So the color does not matter :)

I have another metal one which has never been used - wasn't sure if issues with diesel and metal jerries - never had to use one before.

Many thanks for quick reply,
Rich
FollowupID: 579143

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:32

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:32
G'day Rich,
AFAIK (and I'm willing to stand corrected here, if mistaken), the colour is purely for identification purposes and should make no difference in respect to fuel containers.. It would certainly not be an issue with properly constructed metal ones, and I have no second thoughts about carrying diesel in the red plastic ones..

The issues arise I think, when someone other than the person who filled the container "thinks" that this red container contains petrol, and proceeds to tip it in the family commodore, when in fact, the "other half" had filled it with diesel for an up-coming trip (in the diesel 4by;-))
These sorts of issues can be avoided by simply paying attention! (and checking)...

Regards, Ed C

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 579154

Follow Up By: richard - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:44

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:44
Ed,
I made my comment a bit tongue in cheek but the point you have made is very valid.

Given the many stupid people around (which I have to put my hand up for) who do this sort of thing having a standard which people use or should use only helps.

Many thanks for the comments

Rich
FollowupID: 579158