Codan and Barrett

Submitted: Friday, Jul 11, 2003 at 21:26
ThreadID: 5939 Views:3178 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
This Thread has been Archived
Codan or Barrett that is the question.

I am now starting to look at some outback communications and wondering about HF radio. If I buy this instead of SAtphone what is the difference between Barrett or COdan. I am very new to HF and have no idea really what they can do and to be quite honest it is scary. I have used Sat phones before so I really need to no what the basic differences are between theses HF’s. Is it features or what?
We have so little time to enjoy our land
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Leigh- Friday, Jul 11, 2003 at 21:49

Friday, Jul 11, 2003 at 21:49
Hi David, not unlike yourself I know little about the difference in equipment. However after my research and taking into account where to mount all the equipment I took a que from am earlier post and bought a sat phone from telstra. They have them on special for just under $800 although the unit is now a discontinued item. I have decided to run with UHF and 27 meg SSB and sat phone if I really get into serious trouble. Will also keep the handbrake happy as well, not that I'll be in any position to help. I was reluctant to spend $3,500 on a radio that I wasn't going to be happy about, ie large mount on bull bar and a remote head that could only be fitted in a roof console. I wish you well on your deliberations. Check out all the earlier posts on this site with a search under "HF".

Cheers, Leigh
AnswerID: 24739

Follow Up By: Chris (W.A.) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2003 at 12:39

Saturday, Jul 12, 2003 at 12:39
Friend of mine bought one of those antennas, mounted on rear wheel carrier. Only two days old and drove under a low branch smashing to smithereens.
What was worse, he had forgotten to add it on his insurance - another $$$$$$ thanks.