Nissan Tyre Placard for 265/75.R16

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 13, 2003 at 16:01
ThreadID: 5963 Views:5007 Replies:2 FollowUps:7
Nissan have a replacement tyre placard available from spare parts which caters for the 265/75 size, costs $17.40 from dealers.. They have been available since 1998 Nissan recognised the limited options available in 265/70 replacement tyres. Also, the cab-chassis comes standard with 265/75 tyres so there is no technical reason not to increase wagon tyre size to that.

Nissan part number is 99090VB000A and it keeps RTA and, most importantly, your insurer happy.

Reply By: Geoff - Sunday, Jul 13, 2003 at 19:19

Sunday, Jul 13, 2003 at 19:19
Crowie,

Don't get too fixated with what's on the placard. The placard only states the OE tyres. VicRoads regs make no mention of the placard (I've read them). The GU owners manual offers several other size options. VicRoads regs say it's OK to fit 15mm larger/smaller OD than the largest offered by the manufacturer for the model/series. The largest OD offered by Nissan in the owners manual is 245/85x16. This size is about 10mm smaller than 285/75/16, therefore OK.
They also offer 7.50x16 in the owners manual, which are same OD as 265/75x16.
You don't need the placard, but if it gives you a warm fuzzy feeling, go for it.

AnswerID: 24861

Follow Up By: crowie - Monday, Jul 14, 2003 at 11:11

Monday, Jul 14, 2003 at 11:11

I posted this because while I was searching for something else on the Net I arrived at the Exploreoz Forum and a Posting that someone made back in 2002 asking for details of this placard. Looking through the answers to that post it it did not appear that it had been answered. Because I had the Part number details I thought I would post details in case someone wants to get one. The original posting was to old to respond to.

FollowupID: 16775

Follow Up By: relaxed (QLD) - Monday, Jul 14, 2003 at 23:20

Monday, Jul 14, 2003 at 23:20
Geoff & crowie
I'm soon due to replace my tyres on my GU wagon and wish to upgrade to the 265/75 profile tyres. A friend of mine who is a transport inspector up here said that legally (roadworthiness) I can not have tyres bigger (OD) than 15mm than what is on the tyre placard, the 75 profile is more than 15mm than the 70 profile. So I have written to Nissan asking them if it is acceptable to fit the 75 profile tyres to my rig, I'm still waiting for a reply (been 2weeks now) hope I don't die of old age waiting for a reply. My inspector friend said all I need is a letter from them stating that it's acceptable, I'll be covered and won't need a revised tyre placard. Crowie your post is welcome news for me, because if they say its not acceptable, I'll hit them up with your info and see what they have to say.
Relaxed
FollowupID: 16835

Follow Up By: Geoff - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2003 at 20:11

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2003 at 20:11
G'day Relaxed,
I don't know what the exact wording of the regs in QLD are. I got the regs from VicRoads web site. They're freely available. Why not get on the relevant QLD web site and have a read? You'll know exactly where you stand then. Facts are better than the opinions of others.
FollowupID: 16898

Follow Up By: relaxed QLD - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2003 at 22:38

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2003 at 22:38
Hi Geoff,
Yer, I've had a look at the site for tyres and it doesn't tell you much. Apart from what my mate told me, they say you can decrease the size of your rim and then put higher profile tyres on as long as it doesn't exceed the 15mm of the tyre placard and the limit for tyre widths. To me, thats about as handy as pockets in a singlet. I guess I'll have to wait to see what Nissan have to say. My real issue on the tyres is not really roadworthiness, because nearly every 2nd 4wd is running high profiles and the chance of getting pinched is remote. My concern is insurance, if I have an accident and they can see that the high profile tyres may have contributed to it, they won't pay and I can't afford that.
Thanks for the advise anyway,
Relaxed
FollowupID: 16913

Follow Up By: crowie - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2003 at 17:19

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2003 at 17:19
Gday Relaxed

Sorry for the delay but my computer packed it in. $700 later and I'm back on air.

Just looking at My Nissan GU manual and the only size specified for the 16x8JJ wheels fitted to my vehicle are 265/70/R16 112S. These apply to Wagon and Hardtop vehicles. For the same specification wheel fitted to a Pickup (ie.ute) the tyre requirement is LT265/75R16.

If the Manual is taken verbatum then apparently the only way to fit different size tyres is to change the wheel size. Have a look at the manual.

Everybody I know has been changing to 265/75/R16 using the 16x8JJ rims and purchasing the tyre placard. I know that many Prado owners are doing the same thing. I'll be interested to see if if Relaxed gets a response from Nissan
FollowupID: 17367

Follow Up By: relaxed QLD - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2003 at 23:13

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2003 at 23:13
Hi crowie, guess what, I got my reply back from Nissan on Monday just gone. They say that I can fit the higher profile tyre and it signed and dated on a Nissan letter head. Can't get much better than that. They also gave the the part number for the new tyre placard as well, but I don't think I'll worry about getting one 'cause I've got the letter and that makes it (the 4by) legal and roadworthy.
Gee it feels good to win one occasionally.
Relaxed
FollowupID: 17400

Follow Up By: crowie - Saturday, Jul 26, 2003 at 21:33

Saturday, Jul 26, 2003 at 21:33
Thanks Relaxed. That information should keep everyone who intends doing the same thing happy, I guess that's why there is a placard if you want one. Keep the original at home and a copy in the truck just in case you go underwater some day

Regards Crowie
FollowupID: 17696

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2003 at 20:18

Sunday, Jul 13, 2003 at 20:18
the wagon and ute are to totally different cars.. Designed for different things. Most utes have larger tires than the wagons, to cater for 1+ton payloads.. Thats why they have different placards from new.

Good to see they have the option.
AnswerID: 24868