New V8 Landcruiser any issues ? Especially the 70 series ?
Submitted: Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 16:44
Beddo
I heard rumours that the mines in WA are having issues with the new cruisers. My brother is travelling up around
Darwin &
Broome & heard the mines were having problems with them but he was not sure what. Does anyone know anything ?
Reply By: Beddo - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 16:46
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 16:46
It is only relevent to the V8 Diesel. Sorry missed that important bit.
Reply By: Outa Bounds - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 17:23
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 17:23
We looked into the new V8 79 series recently. Apart from not wanting a $70k car loan the issue that you have heard of is what really put us off.
In the specs you will see that the rear wheel track is nearly 10cm narrower than the front wheel track. Once you know this you will easily notice it on the vehicle itself. The mines would be having issues with the off road handling - you can imagine the rear wheels trying to slide into the tracks of the front all the time. Of course it would not be a problem on the road.
I think it's snake racing (adverts in 4wd mag) make 50mm spacers for them, but from my understanding these are illegal on the road. And I don't think I'd run two different types of tires / rims which could help with the issue, it's just impractical if you're carrying spares out bush.
So we certainly won't touch one until they correct this issue - I can't believe a company like toyota can widen the front & forget about the back!
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 18:37
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 18:37
"the issue that you have heard of is what really put us off"
What is the issue????
He does not say other than mines in WA are having issues???
Sounds like a load of $hit to me.
Thousands of these vehicles in the country and no one has come up with any issue as yet.
Follow Up By: Outa Bounds - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 19:57
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 19:57
Like others have said, I guess more time will tell weather it's an issue or not.
Personally though (and it is personal opinion so may differ to yours) I would consider the 100mm difference a stuff up (or oversight is a better way of putting it) on Toyota's part. And I won't be buying it knowing they're likely to correct that whenever the next one comes out. But we're looking for a keeper, a car to serve our purposes now and also later into retirement, so we can wait a year or five. Besides the engine is new technology as
well, so I like to wait and see how that goes in the longer run too.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 20:08
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 20:08
I change vehicles every 3 years (company cars) I bought one the last of the TD6 Troopys in Nov 2006 just prior to the release of the TD V8, why I did that rather than wait a few months for the V8 was to allow time to shake out any issues with the new engine.
I watch these posts with interest as next year will be time to get rid of the TD6 and move to the new V8 model.
So far no one has been able to come up with a definitive problem or issue with these vehicles, rumors abound and unsubstantiated rumors are even worse.
The track difference whilst not an ideal set up does not seem to limit the vehicle or cause any real problem with the vehicles, 40 mm thereabouts on each side is nothing really in the scheme of things.
I continue to watch with interest and I await confirmation of any real issues.
Reply By: lizard - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 17:35
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 17:35
Yes , I have heard that several contractors have told their employees not to wash underneath them (with a high pressure cleaner), because the oil sender gets
water in it & the ute stops , could be same effect hitting a puddle !
Follow Up By: Beddo - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 18:35
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 18:35
We have 2 units in our fleet now & I know one stopped for no apparent reason. We are all have the traytops.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 19:19
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 19:19
I believe the stalling is a fuel pump issue that Toyota are rectifying.
LCOOL forum link
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 19:39
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 19:39
Phil can't get into that link, need to be a member.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 22:05
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 22:05
Sorry about that John.
Theres about half a dozen 200series and one 70series owner who have had problems with stalling or hesitation. Toyota know the problem, and some have been getting fuel pumps replaced. Others haven't bothered doing anything about it, but the following is lifted and probably explains it:
" Further to my comment on 22/6 re stalling. Car was trucked to Toyota in Port Melb for replacement fuel pump which took 5 days. Explanation: Built into the fuel pump there are valves which control the high and low fuel pressure tolerances. In our case fuel pressure was too low due to faulty settings. The engine management system cuts the motor out when the fuel pressure is outside these tolerances to protect it. No probs since."
Same issue was mentioned in
this thread on Exploroz.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 12:55
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 12:55
more hearsay. we have quite a few at wor and they get washed underneath once or twice a day with dirty great fire hoses ..... as wll as plug through slush all day and they dont seem to just stop
Follow Up By: lizard - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 00:31
Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 00:31
I'm sorry then , I must have heard wrong .... will check with my two sources on their next swing
Reply By: Crackles - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 17:53
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 17:53
Mine & Government agencies are also having issues with overloading the front axle. Simply fitting a 9,000lb winch to an alloy bar with 2 average guys in the front seats will take it over the max axle load. I know Parks Vic were experimenting with mounting
winches to the rear, moving slipon fire units back 1/2 a metre & disconnecting the front fuel
tank all in an effort to move weight behind the rear axle.
Cheers Craig..........
Follow Up By: Beddo - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 18:31
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 18:31
Parks Vic hey, "GEE" Parks NSW are in the process of replacing the current Landcruisers with the new V8's & they'll be fitted with slip-on fire units &
winches.
Might just mention this to the guys or gals who are doing the ordering !
You watch I'll end up with a Ford
Ranger for fire fighting unit now - hope there stronger than the Courier, we use to destroy them fairly quickly.
Cheers Beddo
Follow Up By: Crackles - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 20:21
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 20:21
There's no doubt the power of the engine makes the Cruiser the pick at the moment for carrying a slip-on & with a spring upgrade they carry the weight fine. It's just a pity that Toyota have put such a conservative load rating on an otherwise sturdy car. To say they have stuffed up this model is an understatement with the narrow rear end, poor internal features & an undersized front axle. Our work have just placed orders for 60 light 4x4's & not one Cruiser due to lack of airbags & poor delivery time frames. I suppose with Nissan only offering a 3L what competition do they have. The car carrier driver who dropped off our last Patrol said "I hope you don't want to drive this up any hills" as he had difficulty getting it to go up the ramp with no power under 1800 revs :-))
I believe Parks Vic were looking at paying for GVM upgrades but not sure exactly how they solved the problem.
Cheers Craig..........
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 20:52
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 20:52
Craig what is the front axle load capacity on the V8?
My 2006 TD6 is 1460 kg and I checked the weights when in
Alice Springs awhile back on the weigh bridge which was capable of weighing axle loads and with all the front bar work, winch etc etc plus a full desert load and two adults I was within the limit on the front, the rear was another story :-)
I was also under the impression that tyre ratings contributed to this load limit??
Follow Up By: Crackles - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 21:17
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 21:17
Sorry John I can't help with the specific axle loading as it's one of the only 4x4's our company is yet to buy. Are just going on the direct reports from a manager in Parks responsible for setting these vehicles up. When I see her next I will get the details. I suspect the additional weight of the big V8 has lowered the overall capacity?
Cheers Craig.........
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 22:47
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 22:47
When I looked into GVM upgrades for GU's the bloke told me the priority was for the 200 series as they have stupid light weight limits.
thus the reason one model doesnt have dual fuel tanks (dont know breadboxes, so not sure which one it is)
Follow Up By: Harry - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 22:51
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 22:51
And for all, the front is 1480kg and rear 2300kg same as old truck.
Get that email John
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 22:57
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 22:57
Yep thanks Col its actually 20 kgs more than the TD6.
Wonder what the actual engine weight difference is between the 6 and the 8??
Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 17:02
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 17:02
".....the 200 series as they have stupid light weight limits."
Anyone that says things like that REALLY does not know what they are talking about with that subject. The poster is obviously ignorant of the facts.
Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 17:08
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 17:08
I should have added. If you
check, a 200 has a higher load capacity than a GU. So is the 200 is stupid light, what does that make the GU?
Unless of course you talking about the 200's torque and power to the GU's, then of course the GU carrying capacity looks way too high even though it is less.
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:58
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:58
Last time I looked the 200 had a carrying capacity 50kgs higher than the equivalent 100 series.
All these comments about its payload are ill-informed.
Follow Up By: Crackles - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 23:23
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 23:23
I'd question your source of the weight specs GB as the 100 series had a listed payload of about 760kg (depending on options) & the current equivelant TD listed at 650kg. This is despite the fact that the old Cruiser carries more fuel in the standard form. (Not that the vast majority worry about overloading :-)
Cheers Craig........
Reply By: Rock Ape - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 17:55
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 17:55
Beddo,
A couple of problems have surfaced, one is excessive oil consumption with some of the motors, don't know whats causing the problem we have a soom using oil where I work, also the 100mm difference between the front and rear track is causing problems in the scrub with the arse end not knowing what to do.
I would wait for the next model, I Hope this helps.
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 18:17
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 18:17
"heard the mines were having problems with them but he was not sure what"
anyone else find this funny?
Im guessing there the same problems
blocked radiators, shagged cvs, stuffed brakes,
whic is just norml mining wear and tear. It costs 20k pluss a year to keep a
mine vehicle going so
yea Ive got no doubt there having "issues" its not something the normal buyer has to worry about
Follow Up By: samsgoneagain - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 18:21
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 18:21
nup. i don't find it funny
Follow Up By: Rock Ape - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 18:25
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 18:25
Agree with you Davoe, if you read my thread the only probs we are having at this stage is a couple using oil out of 30 units flogged to death and the 100mm difference in track in the scrub.
Time will tell what the problems are and not here say.
Follow Up By: just steve - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 12:17
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 12:17
I actually own one of these 70 series workmates and I can actually say great car but in 30ks has used 9 litres of oil.
lately it is using 500ml per 800 kilometres and it is on what toyota call oil watch. don't know why! it uses it so what's to watch.
Follow Up By: Rock Ape - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 16:14
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 16:14
Yep! Steve I don't know quite what to watch either but I guess it just means they have been notified and will watch the progress of your engine. I believe they will be trying to find the cause and rectify it quickly.
I know I would be hitting them up for a few 5l containers of oil though.
Hope your problem is sorted quickly
Have a good one
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 18:42
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 18:42
Sounds like $hit to me!!
"I heard rumors" Yeah
well when you hear something definitive come and let us know.
Thousands of them in country now and no one has come up with any real issue other than some oil usage in the early km's which is apparently listed in the owners manual as a point to monitor.
Due apparently to hard rings taking time to bed in.
Follow Up By: Member - Gary W (NSW) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 18:51
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 18:51
John,
Beddo was simply asking a question from a site where there is a huge amount (usually) of information available from more experienced Aussies.
Gary.
Follow Up By: Nutta - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 19:24
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 19:24
I think rockape said the trackings an issue
john, so wot the hell are u carrying on about, its NOT A RUMOUR.
Wow, a toyota might have a problem, get over it.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 19:37
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 19:37
Lots of them out there with no issues associated with the track.
The previous model TD6 also had a small difference between front and rear track with no issue of significance there either.
Gone Bush from this site has a 79 series TD V8, spoke in person with him when he was in Melb a week or so ago and has no issues at all in his words "been brilliant" a few appearing in my 4wd club and performance has been excellent including
Vic High Country work and many river crossings, no issue with water and the electrics resulting.
As Davoe above points out any vehicle used in mining will get the $hit kicked out of it and they use brand specific for a particular reason.
Garry the question could no doubt have been a bit clearer other than "I hear rumors" with no foundation to support the rumor.
Nutta nothing to get over and you live up to your name once again.
Follow Up By: Outa Bounds - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 20:02
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 20:02
I guess a better way to put it would be that .. The tracking could be an issue depending on your usage / driving environment and it does also come down to personal opinion / preference. It's not going to affect or bother everyone, and some people will just brush it off regardless. Obviously if I was to spend $70k I'd want to be very happy with my new car too.
Reply By: autosparky - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 21:31
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 21:31
i know of 5 70 series l/c utes v8 diesels sitting in w/shops with problems 4 with turbo issues and injector problems 1 closer to
home after 38000k dropped oil pressure dramatically after 30000 service . turbos seem a problem
Follow Up By: Harry - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 22:50
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 22:50
Well, howdy there and could you elaborate on what part of the country that would be in as this could be part of the problem.
Follow Up By: autosparky - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 23:50
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 23:50
the problem so far is i can gather is to change oil before 15000k voids toyota warranty! (is this a running in oil?) fuel filter capacity is only good for 5000k . there is a glitch in fuel inject management? the mouse trap that controlls the fuel at ratios to the injectors under certain stochiometric conditions?and that metallurgic conditions ie conditions in harsh climates can contradict metal expansions , can in fact cause cracking in turbo housings so as to cause ceramic to bleep ter and end up in the upper reaches of the cylinders and destroy valve seats and rings?
Follow Up By: autosparky - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 23:53
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 23:53
the vehicles are owned by a large mining(iron ore co in wa nor west of
newman and up wards)
Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 15:12
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 15:12
Autosparky where are the landcruisers exactly? This sounds like a rehash of the I Peronally know of 6 LC wating for new morors rumour from several weeks ago which was proven wrong.
BTW if you cant change oil before 15000k you had better inform the dealers and get Toyota to modify the service book and procedure. They could remove those 100km and 10000
km
services based on your "experience" and "knowledge".
Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 16:41
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 16:41
sorry, that's 1000 and 10000km
services, and Motors not morors.
Gotta learn to type one day.
Follow Up By: autosparky - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:23
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:23
they belong to rio
Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:40
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:40
Strage another reliable rumour said Rio won't buy them cause no aribags.
How do you figure the 15000km no oil change? Is that as acurate as thed rest of the story?
Follow Up By: autosparky - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:02
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:02
rio bought 6 for site on a 12 trial because of the payload and the power?
Follow Up By: Skippype - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:20
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:20
Autosparky
Just a little more about my saga with the new V8.
Bendigo Toyota told me that an injector had to be replaced and they could not get one at short notice. They told me I could take the vehicle back to the Cooper Basin which I did. I called last week before returning and was told that all was
well that the parts had arrived, I drove back down and took the vehicle in only to be told that they had made a mistake and that they needed 19 (?) gaskets that they had not ordered. I called again today to be told that the gaskets should be there in the morning and that they would be fitted along with the new injector by tomorrow afternoon. I have taken 4 days and driven 3000km used 500ltrs of fuel only to be told that, "sorry we didn't have the parts after all."
Bendigo Toyota for you.... Anyway the V8 is going
well apart from the knock when cold and I am just hoping that they can come good by tomorrow afternoon other wise its going to be another 3000km round trip.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:23
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:23
The repeated claim that Mining and Government are not going to buy this model because of lack of airbags (OH&S issues) is obviously a complete load of rubbish.
They can't get enough of them to satisfy demand.
The Mines, Government and Business users in general are buying the vehicle by the hundreds because the product is a very good vehicle and far far better than anything the competition can come up with.
Reply By: Member - Sweeney (WA) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 22:15
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 22:15
All I know is that a mate I know very bought a TD6 79 in second hand
Albany after the original owner (a farmer) traded it in for TDv8 76. A month or two later the original owner offered him a direct swap to get his TD6 79 back. Apparently the TD6 has better low down power (off road/towing) compared to the TDv8 which better top end.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 22:55
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 22:55
Somehow me thinks that story is a bit mixed up.
If you look at the torque figures the V8 has much more low down grunt than the TD6 has thats why the V8 is so good off road in those low range areas and the heavy tow areas.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 23:08
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 23:08
mates, apparantly, farmer,etc etc all a recipe for BS
fact is the TD6 is daman good but the v8 is in another leage for grunt - and yes i have driven both. The TD v8 i had to back of coming up the decline because it is the only vehicle that will redline in top up the decline ive driven
Reply By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 22:45
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 22:45
I have a TD V8.....so I can speak with some authority on the vehicle ...cant say the same about a lot of these posts!..rumour mongering , bulsh*t and a few other things
It dosent burn oil..........it tracks very
well wherever I have been..... and that is along 3,000kkm of black top from
home to get to the Kimberleys.......the GRR and countless tracks off road up there, water xings etc.......I have spent most of my driving life off and on road and it is the best vehicle for comfort, handling and power I have had
maybe there might be some fuel pumps developing some issues...maybe... but what % of them?
I happily place my life in its hands in very remote areas...(and on Toyotas reputation for addressing any issues if they arise) as against some other "popular" models and makes whose negative and factual posts have been numerous on here
Reply By: disco driver - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 00:25
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 00:25
GEEZ,
Just reading this as a non toyota owner, I get the impression that criticizing Toyota 4wd vehicles in any way is a sure way to be told that you don't know nothing and your opinions are crap.
To the Toyota owners out there, don't be so defensive, admit that there are other opinions which just may be valid too.
Don't pick on me, I drive a Landrover and thus get bleep e from both Nissan and Toyota owners for my choice of transport.
Disco.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 12:59
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 12:59
that would be because
.............. theve been no proper opinions.
-there been something heard from someone about a problem they dont know what it is
- mates of mates that talked to some farmer somhere
- people guessing the track differencemay be a problem withut driving one
I mean cmon fair suck of the sav
Reply By: stamps - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 00:35
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 00:35
yep same here owner of a new 76TDV8 with 30,000k's on the clock only 8 months old and no issues so far. power is amazing so much torque and most of the time i start in second gear to take off. just luv driving it.
cheers and all the best,
Stamps
Reply By: narned - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 13:17
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 13:17
Well people
where to start hav owned and driven most 4wds for most of my life and i hav loved every one of them ,so what i am about to say is fact, as i hav lived most of it here in the NW of WA so 4wds are a part of every day life at work and play for me,i now own the 76 V8 workmate done 40ks once around AUS with van used small amount of oil while running in 5000km and i would say it now burns 1lt 10000km ,used 20lt 100km with van at a constant 100kp per hr first 10000km than 17lt 18lt next 5000km,now i use 15lt 17lt average with van 100km per hr ,around town 11lt 12lt out bush 13lt 15lt with full load no van , as for the fuel filter (I) change every 10000 toyota say when the filter light comes on, (I) change oil and filter 10000 toyota say oil only filter at every 20000,wheel tracking (I) do not and hav not had a problem up here as it is mostly rocks you avoid not ruts , but i agree it sucks TOYOTA,Rear spings are use less will change soon??? using Load helpers at the moment do the job well for the price ,Hav Toyota bull bar with winch do not know what the weight issue is , I hav not had a problem yet and i hav not heard of any and beleive me if there were any, word would be out as small
places like this it travels fast ,and there are bleep loads of the new cruisers up here ,and i work for mineing co and drive one at work, i do hope it stays the same . i brought it to tow the van and bush bashing and do not regret it one bit, its not perfect but bleep !! boys can you keep up? Regards Ned
Follow Up By: Crackles - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 18:30
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 18:30
"do not know what the weight issue is"
The weight issue as told to me is purely an axle capacity problem. The Cruiser carries the weight fine but legally is overweight on the front end when a bull bar & winch are fitted with 2 people in the vehicle & full tanks. For most private people this wouldn't matter but for government agencies & mining company's that are compelled to comply with regulations it leaves them in an awkward position.
A previous rely has said they are good for 1480kg on the front axle. Maybe check yours to confirm or rebuff the rumour.
Cheers Craig..........
Follow Up By: narned - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 00:54
Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 00:54
well Crackles legallaties is not my best point , so you have me and you are right about the companys , i was talking about can do for me ,mine has the 170lt single tank in the back fill it and the ass sags ,as for buying one that one of the companys has sold do not think so, if it has been up here 200km would be the norm and thay hav not been out that long , the ones i see or hav heard of tend to be sold by people that tought it was a good idear at the time and found out , its a truck !! not all the comforts of
home , a mate just scored one GXL76Workmate 20000km $53, bargain no rebuff Regards Ned
Reply By: Outa Bounds - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 13:55
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 13:55
There is already quite a few new V8's on the 2nd hand market for around $60k
And likewise you would pay around $50k for a HDJ79R with about 60000 on the clock.
So are people dumping the V8's or are the older TD's still overpriced? From what I gather you shouldn't be paying much more than $40k for the older ones with standard sort of k's.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 15:02
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 15:02
WA Dealers, those V8's are from the mines and are about 18 months old now having reached the KM's or time line used by some companies to change over their vehicles.
Follow Up By: Outa Bounds - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 15:16
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 15:16
Yes I was looking in WA, but widening the search there is more oz wide. Considering some had only 20,000 odd on the clock I thought it would have been too low for the Mining Companies, guessing they go around 60k on the clock.
I can see why people would just go for the new models that's for sure!
I think we have learned our lesson in regards to buying one sight unseen, when we got an older 70 series ute that we knew was an ex enviro car, we paid to have it checked out (independent inspection), but still when it arrived the check had told us nothing, yeah they said it was mechanically fine and a dint here or there but certainly not that the chassis was full of caked up mud and the
suspension was cactus! I suppose one should know better!
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 15:38
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 15:38
this is nothing new. almost from the day after any new model from any maker is released they hit the 2nd hand market
I dont get it and dont understand but its the way it is.
garantee the vast majoriy of hose cruisers would be company vehicles ditche for any number of reasons other than its reliability.
any private ones would e most likely repos
Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 15:02
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 15:02
Toyota owners aren't defensive. We just get sick and tired of people, who should know better, submitting comments from a "mate" somewhere about "a problem" he heard of from another "mate".
That's why I look at LCOOL for info on these new Cruisers. Posters on that site do not seem to post rumour and innuendo.
My TDV8 trayback used a bit of oil in the first 5000kays. It was all spent towing a van and I wasn't surprised. Just topped it up and got on with it. The thing pulls like a 15 year old boy.
I'm sitting in
Quorn at the moment on the way back from
Innamincka. It towed my Trakmaster over to ML and then up thru Cam Corner,
Bore Track, down the Strez and into Arkaroola (now THAT track is awful !!). Not a problem.
It seems to use about 500mls of oil over 5000 kays while towing. I can live with that.
When I get
home I may even put on the ultimate accessories (as recommended by some passersby who didn't know I was listening to their comments about my vehicle), two chrome smoke stacks coming up between the cab and the tray. Now that will look cool.
cheers and beers
btw, the Gathering was great !!
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 15:25
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 15:25
Good to see the trips going well.
Nice to catch up with you both.
Reply By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 15:50
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 15:50
There are no issues with the new cruisers. Like all vehicles it's important to choose a vehicle that suits your requirements. Saying the mines are having issues is a general statement. I can tell you the mines would have had issues with every vehicle they have ever bought, it's a matter of working around the aspects that effect them, unless off course they want to custom make or order a special vehicle.! Don't think so.!
The fact that the mines are ordering the new cruisers and not anything else is what you should be listening to, enough said.
What I personally get tired of is people who talk about rumours when it comes to Toyota, I'm only interested in facts, like anyone else I believe.
Reply By: Russ n Sue - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 17:42
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 17:42
OK. I'll declare an interest up front. I drive a Disco 3 and at the moment I work at a Land Rover Dealership. The mechanics at our workshop talk to the mechanics at the Toyota Dealer a couple of hundred metres down the road. This is what they have to say.
1) The lack of SRS air bags IS an issue for some mine operators and Govvy departments with a strong safety culture.
2) No-one has had a bitch about the difference in track.
3) Unexplained oil use is an issue with some vehicles.
4) If the starter motor needs replacement, the entire engine has to be lifted out.
5) To their knowledge, no-one has been left stranded in the bush because of any issues with the new Tojos.
That's it. Straight from the horse's mouths.
To me this sounds like any normal teething issues with any new model of any make of car. Toyota will obviously address these issues if they need it.
I wouldn't buy one myself, but not for any of the reasons or issues or rumours in this thread. I would take one if it were given to me though.
Russ.
Reply By: Outa Bounds - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 17:50
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 17:50
Yet more "hearsay" is that this model is a stop gap before they release the real version at the end of this year or early next. Something to do with the emissions laws.
I've heard of the difficulty of alternator replacement as well.
It's like most new products, there is always going to be a lot of excitement and criticism / speculation. I guess particularly true for those that are surrounded by a lot of hype.
Reply By: Member - Brad S (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 00:32
Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 00:32
There are many arguments for different tracks sizes. Some say it improves stability, eg. a tricycle with single wheel at front is less stable than tricycle with single wheel at rear i.e. a narrower track...others disagree;
http://www.wsca.ca/index.php?Page=232.0&Key=330
Many vehicles have wider front than rear track widths. It is hard to find the rhyme or reason for the variation. Sometimes i wonder if is is not just for aesthetics or the need to fit a bigger engine in the front etc.
Is there any evidence that the smaller rear track is detrimental to off road ability or are people listening to hearsay or leaping to conclusions rather than examining their own driving practices ? (No offense implied...but we do all consider ourselves experts...don't we?)
Follow Up By: narned - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 01:06
Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 01:06
only problem I see Brad or the main one is when driving in hard mud wheel ruts that fit the front but not rear , i hav not driven in any yet with mine, but it will be some thing i will be looking at when it happens Regards Ned
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 01:30
Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 01:30
The 30 or 40 mm track difference each side on the rear to the front won't make any noticeable difference to drive off road.
No wheel ruts are so tight as to be a snug fit to the front or the rear axle width.
You will stick in 4wd and just drive to the conditions.
Reply By: offroad Bob - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:58
Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:58
In reply to any issues with the LC70 V8 landcruisers - I have owned a GXL ute since February 2008 and used it as a tradesman's ute towing my work trailer and occasional offroad fishing trip. Great power, economy as stated by toyota, very comfortable especially compared to my old TD6 12ht. Issues have been large turning circle - get used to it.
Biggest concern has been the noisy injector/s. A real cold start slap until it warms up and then just a noisy rattle. Toyota says they are aware of it and are looking into reprogramming the computer to stop overfueling the injector.
Otherwise it is ok to keep driving. Mechanically it has been fine. Amazing ability to
hill climb on sandy beaches, the torque band is just so much longer than before so I don't run out of puff on steep sandy
hill climbs. No problems with axle tracking, great for towing fully loaded and still with power to overhaul roadtrains like a petrol car.