Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 18:13
willo82
hey all
just a quick question on my 79 series cruiser tray back, how do I get the back bushes out of the leaf springs so i can put new ones in? cheers willo
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:29
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:29
The factory spring eye bushes are in 2 pieces. One side will lever out with a screwdriver - it will be the short bit, and will come out easily. The rest will be wedged in tight, and I find it easiest to hammer a screwdriver in such a way as it opens the eye a little and you can then tap out the rest of the bush. The top rear bushes are conventional rubber bushes.
IMO the factory bushes are better than any aftermarket bush because they have a nice steel sleeve. I have greasable shackles on
mine, and given my time again, I wouldn't have bothered.
Follow Up By: willo82 - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:53
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:53
thanks phil
the shackles i'm putting in are greasable, why don't you like them? And how much grease should should you put in them?
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:57
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:57
The Toyota 79series bushes are much better and stronger than the bushes fitted in the past to 75, 60 series and earlier.
But if you fit poly bushes, then you need greasable shackles for the spring to move freely. But IMO, they don't move any better than the Factory setup.
Also, a friend had the forward one break on his 79series when we were at
Camp Beadell on the
Gunbarrel Highway - snapped in the middle where the grease comes out, and destroyed the bush. Fortunately I was carrying spares, but it took a few hours of work to replace.
They take moly grease - pump until it starts to ooze. I find the grease only comes out in one direction, so I'd guess the other half doesn't get any.
Mine are ARB. The one that broke was not ARB.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:25
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:25
Heres a couple of photos of a spare factory bush out of my parts box, that will give you a better idea.
Follow Up By: willo82 - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 22:45
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 22:45
Mate that's great. pics have helped heaps. i'll let u know how I go
Reply By: Topcat (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:44
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:44
Hi willo82,
You will need to jack up the rear of your vehicle by jacking on the chassis so the rear
suspension hangs down to a sufficient height where the wheels are just starting to clear the ground.
Make sure your front wheels are chocked both sides to prevent any movement of the vehicle when you release the spring hangers.
Also make sure the vehicle is properly supported on appropriate stands so it will not drop while you are under the
suspension securing points.
Doing one point at at time(i.e.start at the left or right rear hanger),remove both the rear hanger pins nuts (upper & lower), then using a suitable brass drift knock the hanger pins out of the securing point on the chassis & the leaf spring. They should be easily extracted if the weight is fully off the wheels. Once the hanger is removed you can remove & renew the bushes.
Note: when fitting new bushes lubricate the bush bores & hanger pins with suitable anti-seize grease.
Reassemble the hanger to the spring & chassis securing point by using the reverse proceedure when you removed it. You may have to jack the spring up or down to get the hanger pins to fit.
Repeat the proceedure on the rear other side.
When you have completed the rear hangers, start on the front of one side of the leaf spring securing point. First remove the locating securing bolt on the opposite side of the pin nut. Then remove
the nut & knock the pin out. Now you will have to raise the height of that side of the vehicle sufficient for the spring bush to be removed. Fit new bushes lubricating as before. Lower the vehicle to align the spring & pin will fit & screw in the locating bolt, then fit the pin nut.
Repeat this proceedure on the other side.
Check all the securing nuts are tight & you're done. Hope this explains it ok.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:33
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:33
Gday Topcat,
The 79series bushes are steel sleeved (see photo above), which makes them a bugger to remove with the spring still on the vehicle. I open up the eye with a screwdriver and tap (bash) it out. I've found it easier to undo the U-bolts and remove the spring to knock them out.