ingo57
Gday All,
There has been a lot of discussion on Aldi
winches on this
forum.
I proudly purchased one under a year ago and It has not seen a lot of use.
4 weeks ago we did a simpson crossing just after it was reopened after the rain and some how the first night in it sent my cranking battery completely flat.
Tried to jump start it and the leads started smoking, disconnected the winch and she fired up & no more probs for the rest of the trip.
Spoke with Iron man and they told me it would be something in the solenoids but the warranty must go through the Aldi store before they look at it.
Ended up with a full refund and now have been given a pretty good deal through Iron Man on the new winch they sell.
Im not saying the Aldi
winches are no good for I do know a heap of people that also purchased the same winch and have used and abused them with no problems.
For what its worth I thought this should be known.
Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 15:33
Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 15:33
havent heard of people having issues but thats not to say it wont happen....glad its worked out for you anyway!
Reply By: howesy - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 17:04
Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 17:04
I put a heavy duty 250amp fuse in line for my winch and set it up so I can easily bypass it in about 15 seconds. Could be wrong on the figures but I think it will allow around 4000kg load before the fuse is overloaded which is more than enough for a vehicle of less than 2000kg. I have winched with it a few times now and it seems to work fine.
Something to consider. A fuse will blow should your winch develope a short.
Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:47
Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:47
Not sure on how beneficial the fuse would be Howsey as I doubt it would be big enough to allow the full pulling power of the winch. For example a Warn 9,000lb winch will only pull 1.8 tonnes at 255 amps & this is on the bottom layer. On the top layers it may pull as little as 2/3's of that for the same power usage meaning a poultry 1.2 tonne. At it's full capacity a 9,000lb winch uses up to 460 amps!
Although the vehicle only weighs 2 tonne you fail to take into account the suction of the mud or sand which you may be bogged in so in reality the full pulling power of any winch will at some time be needed.
Even if your wiring did short out to the body a 250 amp fuse would be unlikely to blow anyway, more likely to burn something off. For these reasons it is why fuses are not generally not fitted to
recreation 4 wheel drives. Best protection would be to simply leave the positive lead off at the battery until you need it.
Cheers Craig.............
(Winch capacity's off Warns Specs)
Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 00:05
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 00:05
I wouldn't recommend that you fuse you winch. You only have to drop a very small amount of voltage across your fuse to significantly reduce the power of your winch.
Not only that 250 Amps is probably not enough anyway. A Bosch GF starter motor used in a winch (similar characteristics to Warn 9000) pulls 400 amps at near stall - ie peak load.
Follow Up By: howesy - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 14:40
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 14:40
I get what your saying but so far its done a bit of work and the last pull was a falcon ute with no wheels on it dragging it on its belly up an
embankment to the top and it went no worries without working up a sweat. Like I said its on 2 posts, to bypass you just got to undo a wing nut and move it across(2 secs work)
Reply By: Crackles - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:11
Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:11
Definately sounds like an issue with the solenoids, possibly the vibration causing a short. Your experiences may be a timely waring to others to check their
winches for a similar fault & possibly travel with the positive wire off the battery or fit an isolating switch.
Sounds like you may be have been lucky the car didn't catch fire.
Cheers Craig..........
Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 00:08
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 00:08
G'day Craig.
I've helped a couple of people stuck with dysfunctional
winches. Generally when you ask anyone who owns a winch when it was last serviced you get a blank look...
Yet it's the first thing that gets drowned in a
river crossing.
Follow Up By: ingo57 - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 09:28
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 09:28
Definately will be fitting an Isolating switch under the bonnet when fitting the new winch.
Without knowing for sure my guess would be
water related,
the desert had only been reopened after the rain so there was plenty of
water crossings out of
Birdsville and into
the desert.
That night at
camp the cranking battery was completely drained in around 5 hours.
We were lucky, as you say crackles could have been a lot worse.
Follow Up By: Crackles - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 12:10
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 12:10
If you decide to fit an isolating switch fit a BIG one as load prior to stall is 450 plus amps. (Have seen several of those 100amp red key switches fail) Easier & cheaper way is to fit the battery terminals with the wing nuts for a fast connection.
Water as a rule wont short out a winch in fact they'll happily run submerged for some time. It's only a few weeks later when the corrosion sets in :-(
Certainly right Dave. The winch is so hard to get out on a modern profile bar that maintenance is done either when they break down or when the winch is fitted to the next car. (I'm guilty;-)
Cheers Craig............
Reply By: Robin Miller - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 07:41
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 07:41
Sounds like wiring issue , which left 1 only solenoid on which then draws about 4 amps continuously.
Most
winches only have 4 solenoids these days and leave out the 5th which was in series and switches the main power and provides extra protection.
For
mine , I didn't use the controller and put 2 switches in the Patrols dash.
Wired the solenoids thru a master switch which needs to be on before the others can activate.
Second thing I thought important was to remove the solendoid pack from near the winch and place it up high , away from
water.
Mine sits next to the battery.
Reply By: Member - Tour Boy Springsure- Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 10:47
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 10:47
Hi guys,
I have abused my aldi winch and it still works fine.
I had the 100 series (5 inch lift) bogged 2 inches up the doors in some of Central Queensland's finest mud. I winched for 4 hours, flattened both batteries 3 times, got it so hot that the bullbar was steaming in the rain and I snapped the winch cable. Yet the winch still works like the day I got it and it has been under
water more times than I care to remember.
It still has over 2 years warranty left anyway.
They are the same winch as the ironman anyway incl the wireless remote.
Follow Up By: Patrolman Pat - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 17:44
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 17:44
Not sure what warranty covers abuse and misuse. Must be good, I might have to buy one.
Follow Up By: ingo57 - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 22:40
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 22:40
The aldi winch is the old Ironman winch no doubt about it, but the new one I have from ironman is completely different to look at & the solenoid box is pretty much
water tight as
well.
Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 23:28
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 23:28
Dunno about the ironman but the Warn has a single smaller black wire earthed to the chassis/body coming out of the solenoid pack.
Disconnect this and none of the solenoids work.
I run
mine back into the cab and earth it via a missile switch.
That way the solenoid pack is disabled unless the missile switch is activated which is a two step process and very definite.
It's better than wingnuts as it only takes a second to kick it in when you need it but it's definitely inactive the rest of the time.
Run the in/out wiring in to a mom-on/off/mom-on DPDT switch at the same time.
That way you have full control from inside the cab.