Submitted: Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 22:26
richard
Every time I look at this
forum I reckon I see some lucky bugger who has had the courage to retire and start having the good life.
I am 55 going on 56 and could retire (am already taking my super) but still am working.
I keep thinking why I don't just pull the plug but like many others I reckon - nah just a bit longer and get some more money behind me.
I also have leased my 4wd which runs another 2 years but can buy it out at an extra cost.
Not sure what I will do though. I do want to become a
grey nomad but once again traveling costs need to be considered more these days. I am sure I will find life after work.
My current super is not to bad - a lot less than what I earn now but do you need it.
So was wandering what sort of money do people manage to live on in retirement when they are the proud owners of a 4wd.
I appreciate the above question may be a bit intrusive and apologize in advance if it is. If so just keep telling me how good it is to finally make that decision. :)
All the best to those who have and will do,
Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 22:43
Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 22:43
Well...work out how much money you need per year.
Multiply that number by 8 (%)(current average investment return)
And that is what you will need.
e.g 50,000 x 8 =400,000
We are pensioners and seem to get by on $20,000 per year and still do a few trips here and there. It is a matter of budgeting.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 23:08
Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 23:08
Reckon it is a good start Bro if you are looking forward to a short life, but if interest rates are lower with your sum, say 7%, you would only need $350k ($50,000 x 7= $350,000). That doesn't do my economics I am sorry.
To get $50K from $400k you need 12.5% return unless you deplete capital which is the way super funds are expected to work anyway, but you will get lower returns as you go.
Are there any actuaries that read these posts?
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 23:21
Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 23:21
Geez Don't make things complicated, Bro
I am a simple bloke with simple remedies and simple investments.
And that is probably why I'm not rich...lol
Reply By: Member - Bob of KAOS - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 22:57
Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 22:57
Can you work part time for a while? 55 seems obscenely
young to be retiring (from someone who will be 55 before the end of this year, but who will keep working til he drops). I guess it depends what you do. If you have shovelled shyte for the past 40 years then retirement would be looking very attractive indeed.
Follow Up By: richard - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 23:11
Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 23:11
Bob,
I work in IT and after 35 years it does feel like shyte. The industry has changed so much - it ain't fun any more.
Unfortunately I am not one of the lucky ones who have made a bundle in the industry as had 4 kids and was not that ambitious.
A change may be an option or part time as you mention but do want to hit the road while I can.
Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 02:12
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 02:12
"Can you work part time for a while? 55 seems obscenely
young to be retiring"
Hi Bob of KAOS, my hubby retired 26 days after he turned 55, couldn't wait to get out of the job he was in after 38yrs, as for me I lasted in my part time job three months after hubbies retirement, my work was getting in the road. It depends on what you want to do in retirement. Work out how much you will need for living working on what you are currently making.
As Willem has said, people on the pension can live comfortably if they budget, and when travelling around there are a lot of
Grey Nomads that are on the pension and having a lovely time. It all boils down to what you want and what you expect from retirement.
We have been retired for close on 4 years now and have no regrets, we are still fit &
well enough to get out there and not have to worry about doing strenuous activities, we are doing a lot of things that we probably wouldn't be able to do if we were another 10/20 years older.
D
Follow Up By: deserter - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 16:45
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 16:45
I took 18 months long service at 53.5 years and retired the day I turned 55. That was less than 2 years ago and I have never been happier - or busier.
Reply By: richard - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 23:04
Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 23:04
Willem,
Thanks for the reply.
I am trying to sort out the finances and reckon I would have trouble on that amount - may be if i stopped getting things for the 4wd we could :).
My super is not to bad and may be I am just getting to greedy but there are lots of things I would like to do and get.
But figures like that and comments on the this
forum make me think the time is very near - may be next year :)
Just being home would allow me to spend more time with my dog which getting old as
well, oh and the wife (who seems to be getting younger ).
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 23:16
Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 23:16
Richard, if you are in one of the marketed super funds, rather than your own (SMSF), it may be best to wait until the funds appreciate a bit in value. You may have been looking at last years value on your statement. Not many funds have appreciated in the last year, so expect a lower value.
Super funds have lost a lot of their customer base, reading the media over the last year as people had decided to set up their own super funds and pulled money out to invest. Lots of cash has been held in these SMSF as investment decisions in many cases hadn't been made. People who withdrew funds to go to the SMSF and hadn't invested are in a good position as at the moment cash really is king.
Investers and potential superannuants who started that move a year ago and put cash into their funds have a lot to thank Peter Costello for.
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 23:28
Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 23:28
I have a friend who is on $200K per year. He has salary sacrified $150Kpa into his Super Fund. He told me that by the end of 09 he will have that $1Mil dream in his Super and then he will be ready to retire at age 53!!!! And then work as a Consultant in his own time after that. Hope his Super Fund lives up to expectations!
I also have another good mate who can't stop working and is cashed up plus and worth around $15Mil...and he says he envies my attitufe....LOL
Follow Up By: richard - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 23:31
Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 23:31
John,
I am on an indexed pension and luckily got my money out before it all hit the fan at the beginning of the year, so in that sense it is as good as I could expect.
What I am doing now is salary sacrificing and trying to build it up to a an acceptable level - but what is an acceptable level. I think I could survive if we cut back on things, I am happy with a simple life - not sure about SWMBO who wants to travel overseas.
It really is a tough decision which I am having trouble with and is good to hear from others who have - as said I drool every time I read here that some one has had the courage to do it and hit the road with or without you know who.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 08:07
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 08:07
I talked to a guy who has a SMSF of about $16m but wonder what that is now. I woan't discuss what our is built to, but of course that is up and down a bit with a sligh trend down across the year.
Ours bagan in 1992-93 with a share portfolio of $32k into a SMSF which is small today and the governance required is pretty high and certainly not for everybody and the requirements by regulators is too. There will be a lot more auditing in the future. I am not concerned by that as we comply.
Follow Up By: richard - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 17:57
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 17:57
Willem
Have a LOT of money does not make you happy. Helps a bloody lot though.
Easing into retirement may be good by working part time etc but I reckon you just wouldn't feel retired.
What I would like to do is just retire and if I felt like going back to work or I had to then I would.
If you are happy with what you have then then you have enough.
Reply By: Splits - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 01:14
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 01:14
I had no choice, I had to retire at 55 because of a rare illness. My wife and I manage easily on about $560 per week but we own our home and I do about 99% of the maintenance on our Hilux. It could be a bit difficult though if we were renting.
It is hard to answer a question like this because no two people lead exactly the same lifestyle. As an example, a couple of years ago my wife and I were touring Tasmania and we met a retired elderly couple in a small late model Mercedes van that did not look like a motor home. It had no pop top roof and you had to bend over slightly to move around in it but it was very tastefully and professionally fitted out inside. They lived in the car all the time and even stayed in the car
park at the casino while in
Hobart! They said it just looked like an ordinary car while parked there and nobody worried about it.
I would say their accomodation costs for the entire trip would have been zero.
Some people would have been happy with a thrity year old Bedford. Others would want a top of the range Winnebago. A caravan
park or motel each night would have been essential for some while nothing but the finest room in the casino would have satisfied others. Your living costs after retirement depend entirely on what you want.
That Tasmanian trip took us two months. We did 4,000ks in the State with a bit more to and from
Melbourne. At current diesel prices, that distance over that time would cost about $90 per week. If we were out on the road full time, I am sure we would not even average that much each week so it would be easily affordable even on our income.
We do expect to be full time on the road within the next couple of years but it will most likely not be in a 4wd. We will probably buy a late model two ton pantech and fit it out ourselves with a very spartan no frills interior that will include our own bed from home. We will be out to see the country, not the inside of a luxury vehicle. All windows and doors will be concealed behind the stock rear opening doors and a side door so when closed up it will look like a stock truck. It will be self contained and we can stop over night in it anywhere. Our only accomodation costs will probably be a few National
Park fees.
A vehicle like this is cheap to buy and although it is not a 4wd, it has a lot more ground clearance than a motor home or bus and can be taken over some very rough roads.
I think the key to being a
grey nomad if you have to watch your finances is to do it full time, slow down, take it easy, don't drive all day every day and have a vehicle you can live in even if it is only pop top camper on a 4wd ute with a box trailer carrying a bit of extra gear. If you do that then the cost can be no more than living at home.
If on the other hand you base yourself at home and take off on regualr trips for a month or two to the other side of the country, then the running costs, particularly for fuel, could be a killer.
Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 08:38
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 08:38
Some good points there Brian.
Working at setting your self up to minimize future out-goings always wins no matter level of income one thinks one may need.
The idea of moving quietly and not attracting attention to oneself also wins.
I still think I will need a good 4wd and a big part of my consideration will also be how to sleep in it such that it doesn't look obvious from the outside, this isn't as easy without a truck, but means that we will probably go for quite a while without towing anything and use a good tent for when its suitable.
Reply By: Gunna Do - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 05:28
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 05:28
Richard,
You could spend day or weeks trying to work out how much money you will need . And you could get a thousand different amounts from others. Perhaps a two or three month trial holiday doing the
grey nomad thing and checking on your expenses during that time would give you a better indication.
When it comes down to it, all the money in the world is no good if something happends and you are unable to enjoy it.
I have heard of, and seen, too many people work those extra years to save those extra dollars only to have some tragedy destroy all their plans.
I am a lot of years away from retirement so am a little distant from having to make the decision you are faced with, and perhaps I will look at this in a different perspective when the time draws nearer.
Regards Gunna Do
Follow Up By: richard - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 18:04
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 18:04
Gunna,
Well that very good comment is
well beyond your years then.
It is exactly what is going through my head at the moment and why I put this post up.
Given the responses a lot of people have been through it or are to go through it soon.
It is good to get other peoples opinions and experiences and nice to know you are not alone.
Reply By: Peter 2 - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 06:18
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 06:18
Go for it! I too am nearly 55, will retire the day I turn 55.
As has been said I've seen too many mates and acquaintances who have worked that little bit more to have more and have either retired at 60 with health problems or carked it a few years later.
Why wait till you are too old to do all the things you've dreamed about. I've met too many people over the years that regretted not retiring as soon as they could.
As for the workaholics, good on them, but not for me.
They don't dig you a bigger hole in the cemetry or give you a bigger urn because you are richer than the rest.
Follow Up By: Col_and_Jan - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 07:28
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 07:28
My brother worked as a Funeral Director for the last 15 years of his working life. He retired as early as was possible.
He shocked me when he said that any day over 40 is a blessing. That was a bit of a surprise to me as I was
well over 40 at the time.
I intend to hit the frog and toad next year as that is when I turn 55. I may do part time work to keep the wolves at bay, as I am in the type of job where there is lots of contract/supply work available.
I know of so many who leave it too late. "I am going to do the big trip one day" only to find health or other issues put an end to that.
Col
Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 06:21
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 06:21
All depends on what sort of lifestle you want. My Dad retired in his early 50's and could have done it much earlier but he always told me he needed 4 mil to maintain his lifestyle. I said to him he had to be joking as a mill would set me up for life even at my then
young age. But he wanted to maintain his current spending patterns.
Reply By: chisel - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 07:11
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 07:11
At 55 you have a long life ahead still (can't spend all your money in next 10 years), so assuming you don't draw down on your capital work on the calc Willem put forward ... although probably at 6 or 7% rather than 8% as a long term avg.
I reckon $1M would do the trick for most people, giving a *pre-tax* income of $70000 per year roughly. If there are dependents then that's another issue.
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 07:24
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 07:24
Income, although important is not the only consideration. You can always dip into your savings and run down your 'nest egg'. Sure this will reduce investment income (interest) but if you only run down your capital slowly to supplement your weekly spending or for large 'one-off' purchases then you do not need a huge income. I have no income other then interest on bank deposits. I calculated that if I live on capital alone it will take me x years at y dollars per week till I have zero $ left in the bank. As I reckon I will be sitting in front of the tv for most of the day at that age I am happy to run down my own savings as
well as living on the investment interest.
After I retired (mid 50's) I worked part time at a local high school helping out in the woodwork / metalwork classes. I did not care what my income was as long as it reduced my draw down on my bank balance. The work was a few hours each day one block from
home, school hours and I had the same holidays (unpaid) as the school kids have. It was great fun and no responsibilities I just did what I was told and showed the kids how to use machinery and all the other things that teachers did not know how to do ! :-))
Reply By: Member No 1- Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 08:01
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 08:01
bugga
gone past 55 some years back...but i also have 2 kids to get thru and finish college, so i'll be working a few more years yet :(( ...but when they finish .....it will be YAAAAHOOOOOO!
there is much i want to see and do.....buying all my toys...err
tools for my new office (existing garage) and with still some more to come to keep me busy later in life...if i dont kark it b4 hand
if you think you can afford it...Do It
Reply By: Mikee5 (Logan QLD) - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 08:07
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 08:07
Richard,
I am not an investment advisor so please verify everything I say.
You have an indexed pension and I presume a lump sum and are still working.
Use the retirement lump sum to buy a Non-commutable Allocated Pension. Salary sacrifice your wages back into super. Build up a new lump sum work a couple more years and then retire fully.
Example of a bloke near me who retired from the public service at 54 years and 11 months to exploit a loophole.
He has an indexed pension of $45000, and returned to the workforce on $50000. He used part of his lump sum to buy a NCAP of $20000 pa and salary sacrifices all of his wages into super. If you can't buy an NCAP just salary sacrifice as much as you can for a couple of years, living off your pension only and see if you can make ends meet.
I sure as hell wish I had sought better advice a few years ago.
Follow Up By: richard - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 18:16
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 18:16
MIke,
That is sort of what I am doing now.
I have been salary sacrificing since the beginning of the year and trying to live on indexed pension. My wife is also still working.
Agree if I can do for another couple of years it would set me up
well but as mentioned above the mind keeps thinking GO NOW and enjoy life :).
My work can be stressful at times but has not been to bad this year so far.
It would be good to have known what you know now a few years ago :) but such is life.
I have set a goal to see the year out and will make a decision next year.
When I was younger I always thought retire at 55 if can but more realistically at 58 but would not go beyond 60.
58 would be a sensible time at the moment but I have never been sensible :)
Reply By: Ron173 - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 08:30
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 08:30
Wow, all this talk of millions in your super!
I think realistically there was a post here quoting a bloke on 200k pa, he'd be about only one liable to tip figures like that.
As said above, everyones different, but one thing common is we all want as much as poss. Therefore:-
Aim for about 300k min in super, but in your last 10yrs working should try to keep most in low risk investment as you dont want to lose 25k a year like some have this year. True you wont make as much but its safe.
In final years working, bung in as much as you can afford on salary sacrafice.
Dont know about this 55 thing, I'm told 59 is first you can get super.
Agree totally with retire as early as poss, enjoy things in life, instead of working yourself into poss health issues.
Then go explore this great land!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rgds
Ron
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 13:02
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 13:02
Ron I think your referring to the Preservation Age?
Have a look
Here for the preservation details.
The ATO site has a lot of good info and a good search function to assist with these topics.
Reply By: Member - Footloose - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 08:53
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 08:53
According to the Super industry, the "average" couple needs around $48K a year to retire on. That's a lot of super or investment! Plenty have to make do with a lot less.
There are some "what if's"
How healthy are you ?
Can you do most of your own
home and vehicle repairs?
What are your expectations for retirement (and of course SWMBO)?
Don't expect the stock market to provide a stable income.
Try and have an escape clause...can you do a bit of paid work if you really need to later on ?
Overall, retiring is about the best thing I've ever done. Even if it was medical retirement. I've been healthier since I retired than I ever was at work. Mind you the poor missus still has to work for a couple of years yet.
Do you have hobbies that aren't expensive? Keeps you busy between trips:)
Whatever your decision, good luck with it :))
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 20:56
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 20:56
thats just great Footy...
I just lost $21548.00 this year out of my super closing B $171K closing B this year $160K and then I but $12300.00 into it.
Not happy Jan
Reply By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 09:00
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 09:00
I think the hardest thing is making the initial decision to leave the work force regardless of how old you are. I can testify though, once you have made the decision you will feel a whole lot of relief. As to how much you need in your super, its all a matter of what you expect in retirement.
Statistically, men are now living to 81 whilst women are living to 84.
I made the decision at age 52 to leave and whilst I need to wait until age 55 before accessing my super you are permitted to access some funds in your super prior to 55 however,you will pay the usual tax.
The one thing you need to remember in this whole discussion is......... they don't make shrouds with pockets in them.
Any decision should be based on what you really want to do and enjoy. Money should be secondary to your decision because your a long time dead.
Just a comment on the calculations used in this thread. I think historically you should only be calculating your funds at 5%. Furthermore, if statistically you are going to live for the next 30 years remember $40,000p.a. today aint gonna be worth the same $40,000 in 20 years time whilst returns will fluctuate over the same period.
I could go on and on but don't want to
bore anyone to tears.
I strongly recommend seeking out a good financial planner and when you have discussed your own situation, go and seek out another financial planner for a second opinion. I'm sure you will find it a most valuable exercise if you haven't had the discussion already.
Follow Up By: Ron173 - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 09:11
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 09:11
Paul,
"usual tax" on super before 55yrs. what tax if any do you pay on super withdrawals over 55yrs of age?
Is that a general earliest retirement age?
I was told 59 for
mine, but if can do at 55, I'm outta here as soon as poss. (I'm 45 now, actually today!)
Rgds
Ron
Follow Up By: richard - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 18:22
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 18:22
Ron
Happy birthday. They raised the age of retirement but I was passed that so could get access to my Super at 55 which I have done (based on financial advice).
Reply By: DIO - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 09:06
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 09:06
Far as I know you don't need any money to retire.
HOWEVER - you will require money for living expenses. Surely you must have a budget, use that as the basis for calculating. Not all that difficult - surely.
Reply By: aka - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 09:19
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 09:19
What ever you do make sure you see a good financial adviser before you do anything
Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 11:50
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 11:50
Lot's of good comments and advise so far, but seeing a reputable financial adviser is the most important one in my opinion. That's the path we took and have been pleasantly surprised at how far they are able to "stretch" the funds & minimise taxation etc.
Follow Up By: Grassparrot - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 13:57
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 13:57
I am a financial adviser and would strongly suggest the same. there is a lot of so called advice getting around on this thread, some of it true and lot of it not true or half true and without all the facts. Do yourself a favour and see someone reputable and as barry F said you might be surprised how far the funds stretch and how tax is minimised. Do an honest budget of your minimum expenses required with a 10% buffer before you go as that information will be most useful to any planner. Be preparared to see more than one if you dont like the first one.
Reply By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 09:22
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 09:22
HI Richard,
How much you need depends entirely on the lifestyle you desire.
However financial gurus like Noel Whittaker was recently asked this question and suggested a figure of $1.4 million (excluding family
home).
Over time low risk blue chip investments will yield an average of about 6%. (Yes you can get 8% interest on deposits at present but 5 years ago you couldn’t). At 6% a superfund of $1.4m will yield an income of $84,000 pa (or $42,000 each for a couple). This is the amount considered reasonable to provide a worry free retirement with enough income to travel overseas or in Australia, replace assets as necessary and generally enjoy life without financial problems.
Obviously this is a self funded retiree - there would be no Government pension..
GPM
Reply By: HappyCamper - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 14:52
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 14:52
G'day Richard
I was made redundant almost 9 years ago (due to govt cutbacks) and have never looked back as I hadn't planned to work till I dropped anyway..no pockets in shrouds!
Unfortunately my husband died at 44 so didn't get a chance to start our retirement plans.
For me, as long as I have enough to keep my head above
water, that's all I need and so far things have worked out OK, which is just as
well because I wouldn't have enough time to go to work now...retirement is too busy. Imho, if you sit around worrying about what 'will' or 'might' happen with a super fund/investments/etc then you will never stop working.
Just do it!!
Bronwyn ;-)
Reply By: wendys - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 16:19
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 16:19
Richard,
investigate seasonal work, which lets one be a
grey nomad, but still provides some income. Plenty of work up north in the tourist season (and beyond). A lot of jobs provide a wage and keep. We found we could even save money whilst doing this type of work. You do not necessarily have to be "qualified" - husband and I were both white collar professionals before early retirement. Since then have done a lot of seasonal work in tourist
places (cleaning,
cook, reception,
campground upkeep, tour guide), driving, harvest work, etc. If you have a
home base but travel to and from it to do a short term job up north, the travel becomes a tax deduction. I am not sure whether this is so for moving from one job to another, as harvest workers do. If you live for 181 days of the financial year in certain areas up north, you get a Zone A or Special Remote Zone tax rebate, too, which can also help the finances.
Reply By: richard - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 18:33
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 18:33
To All,
Given the number of responses and comments it is a hot topic.
Obviously a lot of old bugger like me roaming around - baby boomers I guess.
There have been many comments and all good. I was not sure how people would take it as it was not a 4wd question but it is a life style question and I very much appreciate the responses.
I have had financial advise and am following it but still like the idea of getting out ASAP and try something else work or otherwise.
I do have some commitments that will stop me from hitting the road full time but I have other things locally to keep me busy I reckon.
All the best to every one and thanks for the thoughts
Richard (thread orginator)
- About to go to my daughters 30th birthday dinner