Best GPS Navigator

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 19:12
ThreadID: 61111 Views:7657 Replies:7 FollowUps:12
Yes it's been done, but with new technology, things change. SWMBO has suggested she will buy me a navigator to go in the new 79 Series Ute, which we hope to finally pick up on Friday or Monday.

Now as you know, when the wife says she is buying, you get a bit excited and look for the BEST.

I've had basic GPS experience and use one regularly in the boat, but have never had a 'navigator'. I'm figuring I want one that not only covers all major cities / towns at street level, but also all highways rural roads and preferrably tracks in remote areas. Ideally, if Hema has a map, it would be nice to have the area covered to similar detail (but I have no idea if this is available). Largish screen is probably a requirement as well since these days, I even need glasses to use the PC. But I also want it to be simple for a dummy to use.

Last time I looked (several months ago), the Garmin Nuvi 760 seemed to be the ducks guts and recommended by some who seem to know their stuff. Is this still the case or is there better available? Nuvi 760 seems to have come down in price:
Nuvi 760.

If I get something like this, is it a 'no more to pay' deal, or do I need to buy map cards etc as well.

Assume I know very little about this stuff and you can't go wrong.
But this is a rare opportunity I don't want to miss.

Advice please.

Norm C

Reply By: Member - Jon W (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 19:53

Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 19:53
Norm,
Check out post 61098.
Sounds like you need a Hemanavigator.
Jon W
AnswerID: 322339

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 20:18

Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 20:18
Norm
Check out this link, your heading the right direction ,

Garmin Nuvi 760 Report

AnswerID: 322343

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 20:41

Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 20:41
Doug, do Oz Troppo maps come with the unit, or do I need to buy them ($259 or so) to get the remote area coverage.

With the Nuvi 760 and Oz Troppo, will I have the sort of remote area coverage I am after?

I guess the benchmark for mapping of the sort I'm after is the Hema Navigator (based on reading - no personal experience). Will the Nuvi / Oz Troppo be similar? Will the Nuvi / Oz Troppo work 'out of the box' for a dummy like me?

From my limited knowledge, these seem the likely candidates at the moment.

Doug I know you are a big fan of the 760 and based on your previous posts, I'm certain it is a great unit. But you are light years in front of me in using and gettig the best out of this stuff.

Norm C
FollowupID: 589358

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 20:48

Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 20:48
Norm
Check your MM's

FollowupID: 589360

Follow Up By: KennyBWilson - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 21:05

Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 21:05
There is also a software version 4.00 update

as of August 18, 2008 for the nuvi 760
FollowupID: 589364

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 20:28

Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 20:28
You won't do much better than that price for the 760 Norm....the $100 cashback with Ryda's already great pricing, also made possible due to the recent change of Australian Distributors, means that now is the time to milk it for all it's worth. :-)

As for if there are better devices that may have better coverage that you require, i can't answer that sorry....i bow to aome of the more knowledgable members.

AnswerID: 322344

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 21:24

Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 21:24
Hi Norm,

No real easy decision here. I have the Nuvi 660 (older model of 760) and its a great street navigator and replaced my earlier Garmin GPS V (I to am a fan of the Garmins). However, with my 200 series I opted to fit the Polaris unit, it replaces the double DIN radio and you end up with a new radio/DVD/bluetooth/GPS/reverse camera.

The advantages of this is that you have a huge screen (6.2") and it has a very factory look (no unit on dash to steal or hide every time you leave the vehicle). The standard GPS is very similair to a TomTom and once you get used to it, is practically as good as a Garmin (uses same base maps - Sensis). Also, the bluetooth for the phone is a great bonus too.

Now if you are slightly IT literate, you can add Oziexplorer to it and you have the best of both worlds, a street GPS and a fully fledged off-road navigation system.

I chose the Polaris system as it was good value for money IMHO. However, for twice the price you can get the VMS unit which is very similair but has Oziexplorer already loaded (sold by the same mob that does the HEMA unit). This the VMS unit is functionally similair to the HEMA but has the advantages of DVD player, bluetooth, reverse camera etc...

The way I see it, there are two real options and then two choices for each of the options.
- A windscreen mounted GPS with Nuvi 760 with Oztropo OR HEMA unit.
- A radio replacement unit, either a Polaris OR VMS system.

All good choices at the end of the day, more about what you want, how much you want to spend and how much effort you will put in to learn.

AnswerID: 322355

Follow Up By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 20:22

Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 20:22
Hi Captain,

Have you added Oziexplorer and a revers camera and if so, how much did it cost. A good mate at work is looking around and I'm helping him source what's out there. The VMS sure looks good but as you said the price...

He is keen on the Polaris but we weren't sure if it was strictly a street-based unit or if it could double as an off-road topo GPS too.

Mark.
FollowupID: 589572

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 21:18

Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 21:18
Hi Mark,

I currently run Oziexplorer on the Polaris, just have to swap the SD cards over. One card for Ozi, another for Sygic (GPS program that comes with it) Only cost $40 to have a fully legal copy of OziexplorerCE. But you also need to add the maps too.

The Polaris is a re-badged Caska 3119 unit from China. The VMS unit ($2595) are a rebadged Roadrover imported from China.

Both can be purchased on-line from China for around the $800 mark but that is without the AUS navigation maps (~$50 to buy) or Oziexplorer (~$300 with maps) loaded. Both units have AUS nav software updates when they are imported so they run properly out of the box.

The main difference between the two is that the Caska unit runs a modified Windows CE system thus you can load Oziexplorer on it (takes a bit of mucking around) while the Roadrover runs a different processor (ARMS I believe) thus can only be modified at the factory level (or so I believe). There is a heap of info on pradopopint.com.au about this, its where I got my info and downloaded the method to install Oziexplorer on the Polaris unit.

Another major difference is that the VMS runs navteq maps with Route 66 as the on-road navigator. The Polaris runs Sensis maps with Sygic autorouting software. You can compare the two on their respective websites but from what I have read I believe the Sygic is superior (read other web forums and see what users report).

There are other minor differences between the VMS and 3119 units (VMS comes with camera and Oziexplorer), but for the price difference there is no way IMHO the VMS can justify the markup for its product. I was prepared to pay the Polaris markup to have an Australian warranty and technical backup support and hence why I didn't buy off the web direct from china.

Another advantage of the Polaris unit is that is has pre-loaded the TMPS (tyre pressure management system) so that you can monitor tyre pressures from the unit. Note that Polaris has included this software but you cannot buy the hardware until later this year (spoke to Polaris previously about this).

The Polaris is $1295 while the VMS is $2595. The advantages the VMS does have are:
* the VMS can have 3 cameras whereas the 3119 only has one (but you can easily get a video splitter for as many as you want).
* the bluetooth cannot upload your phone contact book.
*VMS can use SDHC cards (up to 32Gb) while Polaris limited to SD card (4Gb)
* once Oziexplorer is up and running on the 3119, you have to swap the SD card to get normal street navigation back (am looking at a work-around for this)

I recently added the reverse camera (cost $75 from Derek at ABR plus $55 for wiring), very very happy with it and would recommend adding the camera from the start.

If you decide to go down this route, MM me and I can provide the info required to load and run Ozi on the Polaris.

FollowupID: 589595

Follow Up By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 20:36

Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 20:36
Captain,

You have answered a few things for me on Exploroz and again you have taken the time to give a thorough, considered response. Thanks once again for your effort, I certainly appreciate it (and so will my mate!).

Mark.
FollowupID: 589751

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 21:50

Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 21:50
Hi Mark

have a look at the NavNet system, it is what I use Global Intergrated Tech

it can and will run all of below, I have nothing to do with them, I just own one 1.5 years now

Street to street
Topographic Maps
Voice Guided
Time to Destination
Quickest or Shortest Route
2D and 3D View
DVD Player
CD Player
MP3 Player
Video Player
Digital Equalizer
Customized Skins
Web Browser
Email
Calendar
Internet Connectivity
GSM Modem
FollowupID: 589793

Follow Up By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 19:15

Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 19:15
Richard I have never heard of them before but they look great. Any idea on what price they would be? can't find anything on the website.

Mark.
FollowupID: 589925

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 21:13

Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 21:13
Mark, Hi

They are not cheap $3100.00 but came with two cameras, which I haven't got around to install yet.

FollowupID: 589972

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 21:32

Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 21:32
Sorry Mark.

That price was with all software and maps $300.00 - $400.00

windows XP etc.

I have a PCMCIA slot for my next G moden and a CF card slot.

FollowupID: 589976

Follow Up By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 30, 2008 at 20:17

Saturday, Aug 30, 2008 at 20:17
That's expensive alright but then you are getting some serious hardware, basically an integrated computer for your 4wd! The options then are almost limitless.

Thanks for the info and pictures Richard, much appreicated.

Mark.

FollowupID: 590064

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 22:14

Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 22:14
G'day Norm,

I have the Garmin 660, the 760's predecessor. If you just want suburban street navigation the 760 is the duck's.

However if you want OziExplorer and computers frustrate you then I would suggest the Hema Navigator represents the line of least resistance for you.

Buy it from EO and you get next year's membership chucked in.

AnswerID: 322373

Follow Up By: Steve - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 21:32

Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 21:32
so the Hema is better for thickos like me?

Must admit, I do like to keep it simple as I have too much going on elsewhere to bugger about too uch with this stuff. I think the hema gives you red light camera and speed camera warnigns same as the other?

Just had my original TomTom nicked so am in the market for another. Was looking at those two: Hema/Nuvi
FollowupID: 589779

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 11:02

Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 11:02
In answer to your thread title, depends on who you ask. I bought a Garmin Nuvi 250W because it;

1. Was within the budget
2. Did what I need
3. Is of a reputable make and came with good references
4. Has an SD card (gives an extra card for my camera)
5. Doesn't have much (any?) bling - I'm into functionality but not gadgets
6. Can be upgraded / added to, with other maps like Oztoppo and Shonky, et al
7. Has a wide screen - easier to see I think

If I had the dosh I'd buy a Trimble GPS. Anyone got a 90's model Transpak 2 for sale???
AnswerID: 322448

Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 08:32

Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 08:32
Hi Norm

I'd be under no illusions. For good technical reasons and features , the garmin 276c is still the best gps out there even though its getting long in the tooth now.

It is not as user friendly though as the Hema and 760 Nuvis etc.

While it can do many things like allow you to create a track and actually navigate this (as opposed to creating a route) these sorts of things do involve some time and knowledge from the user and
therefore it is not for everyone.

I've posted about its unique features and issues before , but if not sure of anything please ask.

AnswerID: 322588