1985 toyo diesel problem.

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 22:21
ThreadID: 61145 Views:3046 Replies:12 FollowUps:5
Just about to do a Simpson crossing in a couple of weeks and I have problem that is making me nervous.
Every so often, the engine feels as if it is "missing". I know, it's a diesel, so it can't "miss". It just starts to hiccup slightly and wont rev beyond about 2000rpm. Then it clears and away we go.

Some background. On occasions. on long trips. the engine has suddenly just stopped. We pull over, turn on the ignition again and away we go???? Same thing again, but a little worse? I don't know.
Further thoughts. It has an additional long range tank. These are not connected by an electrical pump which transfers fuel from one to the other. Just flick a switch to take fuel from one tank or the other. However. Two years ago it began sucking fuel from one tank to the other. I presume a breather is blocked which build up pressure which transfers the fuel. This was actually convenient, so I did nothing about it. Could this be building up a vacuum in the tanks that causes fuel starvation?? One fuel tank fill cap has a breather on it. the other doesn't. Relevant?? I have no idea. About to put a new filler cap with breather on when I can get to Repco. Also about to start checking every electrical connection I can reach. Also going to replace fuel filter and double check air filter. Recently serviced by a garage I have always found to be pretty good, so don't expect the filters to be the culprits.

Engine also has an aftermarket turbo fitted.
Fuel pump on way out??

Any suggestions greatfully received and considered.

Reply By: qubert - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 22:26

Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 22:26
get new injectors
AnswerID: 322550

Follow Up By: qubert - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 22:28

Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 22:28
but before you do that , empty the fuel -water trap under the chassis about at your right foot ( as driving)
FollowupID: 589607

Reply By: Mainey (wa) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 23:18

Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 23:18
check the electronic connection to the diesel fuel cut off valve

Mainey . . .
AnswerID: 322555

Reply By: autosparky - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 23:27

Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 23:27
also check main earths , the edic control motor can shut the engine down without any warning .
AnswerID: 322557

Reply By: ross - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 23:27

Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 23:27
Helps if you tell us which model and diesel engine it is. In 1985 they 4 diesel engines

Removing the fuel cap and stuffing a loosely fitting rag will isolate the problem with the fuel cap.

Disconnecting the aux tank will help to isolate the tank problem.

Otherwise I would pull the pump off and have it bench tested
AnswerID: 322558

Reply By: Peter 2 - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 06:03

Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 06:03
Before you check anything else check the connections to the oil pressure switch that controls the EDIC motor. This is to stop the engine if it runs backwards or in the event of no oil pressure.
If the connection through this is crook it will stop the motor.
also check the plug into the EDIC control box which is up under the dash usually on the passengers side depending on vehicle model.
I doubt whether it is anything to do with the actual pump or injectors, more electrical by the sound of it.
AnswerID: 322569

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy Springsure- Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 06:37

Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 06:37
The early 75 series sometimes had a problem with the trailer plug it somehow caused the edic motor to play up giving the same symptome as you describe. Quite a few did this including my Dad's one. His was also an 85 model. The plugs seemed to work fine to power trailer lights etc but after being replaced the problem dissapeared. The NRMA guy at the time said that he got quite a few calls for this problem. That's how he knew where to look.
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 322572

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 07:36

Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 07:36
Thank you one and all. I will start working through these suggestions and (hopefully) soon post again re. what the problem turned out to be.
AnswerID: 322582

Reply By: furph - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 08:27

Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 08:27
If it is the factory L/R tank the fuel changeover is controlled through 2 solenoid valves located just inside the chassis rails.
As happened to mine, small particles of crap can get trapped under one valve which means it can draw from both tanks and return to only one.
To fix this I took the valves out and connected power to it to open the valve so that I could blow it out with compressed air. Small particles of some hard material came out which must have been in the system since new, too large to pass through the strainer on the pipe in the tank.
Only had to do it once, not long after I bought it new.
furph
AnswerID: 322585

Follow Up By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Saturday, Aug 30, 2008 at 08:04

Saturday, Aug 30, 2008 at 08:04
furph, I think you might have the answer on this one. The cruiser completely stopped a couple of days ago. Bled the fuel. Wasn't much pressure on the priming pump at first and the first fuel through had lots of air in it. Then the pump firmed up, air cleared out of the fuel and it has run well for the last couple of days. Our current thinking is that the dual tank changeover sucked air into the system when one tank emptied. Would that be consistent with the problem that you had? What exactly were the symptoms that yours was showing when you hunted up the solenoids?
I continue to be nervous that we may think we have this beaten and then things will go pearshaped about 200km west of B'ville
FollowupID: 589996

Follow Up By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 22:24

Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 22:24
Furph.
You get the Kewpie doll. My Toyo is just back from the sparky. Your solenoid suggestion was spot on and the Sparky and I both think the problem is solved.
Many thanks.
FollowupID: 590456

Reply By: Wizard1 - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 08:30

Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 08:30
Cut and paste your post into a Word Document.

Print the page.

Take the page and the car to a diesel specialist and go from there.

Mine was running rough on cold start. Thought it was the injectors, fuel filiter, etc, etc.

Turns out the glow plugs are on thier way out....

Only goes to show that you should stop asking for opinion and heresay and get an expert to check it.
AnswerID: 322586

Reply By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 08:54

Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 08:54
I had a minor hiccup in the Simpson just last week. Stopped at The Knolls to take the mandatory piccies- got back into the vehicle, it turned over just fine but wouldn't 'fire'. Other sympton was no dash gauges.
I called mate on the UHF for him to hold till I got going. Another voice boomed over the radio to suggest I check the fusible link !!
Anyhow I wiggled the fusible link holder and then all good !!
Turned out the other 'voice' was David from Mt Dare station who was camped about 4 k from where I was...
I hadn't had the problem before- or since !!!

AnswerID: 322592

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 17:31

Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 17:31
An update. Today it cut out altogether while i was on the road. RAA came, scratched his head and tried bleeding the system. He fiubd fuel immediately l but the fuel appeared to have a lot of air in it and when the hand primer was used, didn't seem to have much pressure at first, however the pressure built up as it primed. The car then started and I was able to drive it home with no hiccups. Booked into service station. As suggested, I have printed this page out and will pass on your collected wisdom to the garage.RAA think air might be getting in somewhere in the dual tank changeover issue. I had followed up one of the suggestions here and replaced a filler cap with a piece of rag stuffed in, but this obviously wasn't the issue.

More to come.
AnswerID: 322664

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, Aug 30, 2008 at 10:13

Saturday, Aug 30, 2008 at 10:13
Sounds like the fuel pump to me, which is part of the primer pump, think you can get a kit to rebuild it.
The other thing is my 89 has a water trap near the back wheel on the chassis, and a common problem is they rust out, and as this is on the suction line, a pin prick hole would let air into the suction system.
Not sure if the 85 has this trap in that possition.

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 590013

Follow Up By: trainslux - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 12:30

Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 12:30
Sounds like its sucking air somewhere, best to check the lines and joins to just make sure that its not a loose clamp near the tanks or valves you have.

check the simple things first before getting creative and removing pumps injectors which are quite expensive paths.

Trains
FollowupID: 590521

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Saturday, Aug 30, 2008 at 14:23

Saturday, Aug 30, 2008 at 14:23
Thanks Pesty. I am coming to the conclusion that the diode swap over is at fault this time, but I will wear belts and braces on this and will follow up your suggestions as well. The pinhole letting in air would also be consistent with the problem.
AnswerID: 322974