Bush shower floors?
Submitted: Friday, Sep 12, 2008 at 20:00
Louie the fly (SA)
Hi all. What do you use to stand on when having a shower in the bush?
I thought about making a shallow stainless steel tray but a) couldn't be bothered, and b) need to cart it around and don't really have the space. I thought about those soft rubber mats that fit together that you can buy from Kmart and so on. What else is there?
Reply By: Garbutt - Friday, Sep 12, 2008 at 20:03
Friday, Sep 12, 2008 at 20:03
We use several of those clip together foam mats with holes, but then put a solid rubber mat on top to stop the mud splashing back, works for us.. 4 holey mats covers the floor area of the shower tent with a solid one on top.
Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Friday, Sep 12, 2008 at 20:23
Friday, Sep 12, 2008 at 20:23
Thanks. BTW, yabbies, where, when? Haven't seen a catch like that for a while.
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, Sep 12, 2008 at 20:49
Friday, Sep 12, 2008 at 20:49
Agree, those foam mats (we only use one) work a treat.
Feet get a bit muddy if used a lot, but that's
camping.
Follow Up By: Member - Bob S (NSW) - Friday, Sep 12, 2008 at 21:33
Friday, Sep 12, 2008 at 21:33
Good idea. We use the solid ones and then there is little chance of mud between the toes.
Follow Up By: Garbutt - Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 11:12
Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 11:12
Louie,
Yabbies were up the Darling last September.
Reply By: Member - Peter R (NSW) - Friday, Sep 12, 2008 at 20:06
Friday, Sep 12, 2008 at 20:06
I've got those K Mart mats, I just take one, & use it for showers, the tent door or at the rear of the car, gets
well used!
Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Friday, Sep 12, 2008 at 21:08
Friday, Sep 12, 2008 at 21:08
Gidday Louie
I don't want to sound like a rude fella, but why would you want a shower mat in the bush?
Kim
Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 08:08
Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 08:08
Just so the family is not standing in mud. I thought of a 800x800 tray so we can catch the
water and re-pump it but its a matter of carting the tray with limited space.
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 08:48
Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 08:48
Louie,
If you're interested in re-pumping the
water, why not use one of those plastic storage tubs (40l - 60l). Use
the tub to store all your showering kit when travelling. We use it with one of those 12v shower pumps from Jaycar or such.
Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 09:06
Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 09:06
We have one of those 12volt shower pumps. Was planning to use one of our plastic storage tubs to store the
water. Having said that, we don't generally use much
water.
Reply By: OzTroopy - Friday, Sep 12, 2008 at 21:15
Friday, Sep 12, 2008 at 21:15
I use two standard rubber, meshed house door mats. They are thick enough to keep you out of the mud in most cases and drain easily.
When its time to pack up, chuck 'em back in the car as heavy duty floor mats.
Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, Sep 12, 2008 at 21:31
Friday, Sep 12, 2008 at 21:31
Those Rubber Mats with the Holes are Great,
I all have used a Plastic Bread Delivery Tray, the ones that are used
to deliver Bread to shops ect, you can tip them upside down and
stand on them, and they drain easily, allso are handy to carry things in.
Daza
Reply By: Hopper51 - Friday, Sep 12, 2008 at 21:32
Friday, Sep 12, 2008 at 21:32
We usually just look around for some flat rocks to stand on. Works a treat. We have done it that way for years.
Chris W
Reply By: Vivid Adventures - Friday, Sep 12, 2008 at 21:49
Friday, Sep 12, 2008 at 21:49
I carry around one of those door mats made of strips of old tyres or other reinforced rubber.
The gas bottles sit on it in the trailer usually, except when I'm showerin' on it.
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 19:26
Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 19:26
That is what we also use. Does the job of keeping feet and sleeping bags clean.
Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 08:10
Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 08:10
Thanks for the replies. We can go without most things while
camping but one thing I need at least every couple of days, is a wash and cleaning my teeth. I just feel 'wrong' otherwise. I am just tired of getting mud everywhere in the process.
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 19:30
Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 19:30
Hi Fly
We value our wash every evening when
camping. When away from the caravan, a bit of warm
water in a bucket, flannel and soap does the job with very little
water. We wash out of doors, standing on the mat, then climb into the back of the ute and the sleeping bags. No shower tent, no fancy 12 v shower. Not much extra to pack.
Reply By: Ozboc - Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 08:52
Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 08:52
My shower tent has the floor as a clip in/ clip out ( coleman ) very handy and does not take up any extra space like the floor mats do ..
Boc
Reply By: al - Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 10:03
Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 10:03
hi louie
i usually stand on my feet they are connected to my legs very efficient lol.
sorry for the comment could'nt stop my self lol
have a nice day
al
Follow Up By: didiaust - Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 12:04
Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 12:04
We use the rubber clip mats and stand in a large plastic dish. That way theres not too much
water laying around the
camp. We set our shower alongside our annex . If we are in one place for more than a few days it does get a bit muddy without the dish . The dish serves as a good foot soaker too.
Reply By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 13:58
Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 13:58
A $1.50 6'x4' blue tarp pinned down by 4 tent pegs. Folds up quite small and along with my shower/pump/hose/pegs and some
kitchen stuff fits into a plastic bucket easily.
Follow Up By: Red Tail Black (WA) - Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 16:24
Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 16:24
Yes we also use a small blue tarp. We dig a small pit before we lay the tarp down and this catches the
water. Great way to wash your feet in the minimum of
water. Then we step onto another for drying on. Like Mike they are very easy to store.
Red Tail Black
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 19:54
Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 19:54
>We dig a small pit before we lay the tarp down
An excellent idea. Thank you, I'll do that too in future.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 19:10
Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 19:10
The trouble with digging 'small pits', is that eventually
camping spots have no grass!
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 18:39
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 18:39
Hi Shaker - long time no see, we should catch up?
What I want to know is... where do you
camp? Of the dozen or so spots around Victoria which I use regularly only two have any grass worth mentioning, all the others are mud-dirt. However it's a good point you raise and I would suggest carefully digging out the top sods of grass and setting them aside in order they may be replaced when the pit is refilled.
I always dig a "
kitchen sump" to dispose of washing-up
water etc which will contain small food scraps in order to prevent animals hanging around camps seeking easy food. I use the above method for these and when I return a few months later there is no trace of the sump.
Follow Up By: Red Tail Black (WA) - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 02:01
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 02:01
Hi Shaker,
Been away for a few weeks didn't see your reply till tonight. Like Mike said where do you
camp. If I come across a rare grassed site I would not dig it up but as we do a lot of outback travel I'm only digging up dust. Do agree with you about protecting those site though.
Cheers Red Tail Black
Reply By: Member - Gary H (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 13:59
Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 13:59
Image Could Not Be Found Hi Louie, we had the same problem with mud. Went to the recycle section at the local tip and bought a plastic pallet ( just like the large wooden pallet) for $5.00. Cut it down to fit into our foldable/portable shower room. Screwed an aluminium strip cover over cut area. It stands off the ground approx. 100mm.
Water drains away and no mud. When you're finished
camping just strap it to the 'A" frame of the van.
It works a treat and wouldn't go
camping without it. Hope this helps.
Gary.
Tried to attach a photo but not sure if it worked.
Reply By: Member - Rodney B- Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 15:20
Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 15:20
We use the foam mats but we brought a couple of pairs of $2
water shoes from Woolies and this stops any mud from splashing on your feet. Can also use the shoes when swimming/wading in the creeks and rivers.
Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 22:57
Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 22:57
Hiya Fly,
Went to Bunnings and they have a few different types of mats and stuff. We got a timber bathroom "mat" that is a dozen strips of about 38 x 19mm timber joined with two cross pieces. It is very light construction and I put a couple of extra screws in it here and there but as a flooring in the shower tent it works a treat and only cost about 10 bucks. Keeps you up and away from the mud
pool that tends to form about 30 seconds after turning on the shower.
We also have one square of the foam mat that you see everywhere. This is used as a mat outside the front of the shower tent to stand on once you have dried off inside the shower tent and then you can slip into your nice dry shoes outside without getting the tootsies dirty!
Both these mats take up little room and live up on the roofrack while travelling.
All very civilised I know but is is nice to go to bed felling clean after a dusty day on the track.
Muddy
Reply By: Crackles - Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 23:10
Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 23:10
In my never ending pursuit of saving weight we simply use the rubber floor mats out of the car, one in the shower & a dry one to step onto. As if the car is not overloaded enough already I see no advantage in taking any special mat or floor boards which will be used for as little as 10 minutes a day if that.
Cheers Craig............
Reply By: Squizzy - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 07:22
Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 07:22
We use the same foam mats, but underneath the mats we have some folded up shade cloth.
The shade cloth prevents the mats becoming muddy, and when dry you just shake the shade cloth and it is ready for the next shower.
Geoff.
Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 09:05
Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 09:05
Lots of good stuff here. Thanks everyone. I really like the ideas Mike Harding & Red Tail Black posted. Simple yet very effective. And I suppose if the pit is deep enough it forms the storage tank for the water to be pumped from.
Fly
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 19:05
Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 19:05
Plastic tarp works fine for us too.