Mag wheel cover snapped bolt

Submitted: Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 11:13
ThreadID: 61683 Views:3649 Replies:6 FollowUps:15
Hey guys,

While I was overseas I got the wife to book the GU in for a balance and alignment, by doing that they some how snapped the bolt that’s used to hold the wheel stud cover in place. The only way to fix this is to drill it out.

I had a go yesterday and failed and could not get the end bit out. Does anyone have any ideas on how I can get the rest of this bolt out of the hole? I am assuming I will have to get the hole rethreaded as well once I get the rest of the bolt out?

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 12:20

Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 12:20
Im not real sure what a stud cover is ......(like a hub cap?)
Have you tried an easy out?

AnswerID: 325373

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 12:36

Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 12:36
sorry my explanation is not the best

see this pic

ROH MAG

Now they managed to get the cover off some how but I am stuck with the bolt inside the wheel

FollowupID: 592468

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 12:49

Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 12:49
Gday there is no reson you shouldnt get it out with an easy out.

If that fails you can buy a heli-coil or re-coil kit
Get the kit that comes with a drill bit / tap / threads and insert tool.
Nothing hard about them at all. Just drill you hole and tap it straight. Use a bit of cutting compound when your drilling and tapping. (WD40 if you dont have any)

Go the easy out first though.

Good Luck
FollowupID: 592470

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 12:52

Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 12:52
Thanks mate I am guessing Bunnings well sell this type of gear?
FollowupID: 592471

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 12:58

Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 12:58
Im not real familiar with Bunnings?
Auto type shops like independant motormart, Repco or bolt supplies would probably be your best shot.
Dont let them sell you cheap ones....if you snap the easyout in the thread things start getting a little tricky, and make sure you get the right size. It makes any easy job hard if you dont get the right gear.

Hairy
FollowupID: 592472

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 13:02

Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 13:02
Should have added too......make sure you centre punch the bolt before you drill it, getting it in the middle makes all the difference.
My theory is do it slowly and carefully once and you wont wave a problem.

Let us know how you go.

FollowupID: 592474

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 13:05

Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 13:05
Problem is I already drilled it yesterday and it's very messy looking now and there's nothing to drill anymore and I have gone right through the problem is it's all on the sides now if you know what I mean?
FollowupID: 592475

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 13:15

Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 13:15
If you've drilled it out to that point I think the only way you're going to get it done now is to take it to someone with a drill press so they can lock the rim in place and then drill it out accurately. Probably end up oversize, but you've got no hope with a hand drill.
FollowupID: 592476

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 13:18

Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 13:18
Hey John,

Any idea who I need to call?
FollowupID: 592478

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 13:21

Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 13:21
Hahahahaa......
Sorry mate, couldnt help myself!

That was the bit about do it once slowly..... ;-)

If your hole is that bad that an easy out is going to stuff your existing thread in the rim, you might as well go straight to plan "B" and recoil it.

If your not real confident...it might pay to use an easyout first any way so when you drill it out for the recoil it doesnt drift off centre.
The drill will tend to drift away from the bolt onto you rim bacause its softer.

If you can take a close up photo of what youve got there, it would make it easier...but....if what Im picturing is right....
You need to drill the whole out
FollowupID: 592479

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 13:26

Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 13:26
Whoops...accidentially hit send.

You need to drill the hole out untill it is clean....you dont want to make it ant bigger than absolutely necessary , so start with a small drill bit and gradually work up until youve got a nice clean hole.
Measure that drill bit or take it with you so you can get the right size kit to suit your hole.
And dont forget to buy a new bolt while your there.

Does that make sense??
FollowupID: 592481

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 13:35

Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 13:35
Hairy's pretty well described the process. Take it to a local engineering workshop. They should be able to do it for you. I wouldn't try anything more until someone with the right tools has a look at it or you may stuff the wheel entirely.
FollowupID: 592483

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 13:36

Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 13:36
FollowupID: 592484

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 13:37

Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 13:37
that’s the best I can do with my camera on the phone can take a better one at home tonight if needs be
FollowupID: 592485

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 13:46

Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 13:46
I get the opinion from Mr Bitchi's comment your not a hands on sort of person? Hahaha

If you take it to an engineering mob they would probably do it in an hour for you and probably not charge a lot more than you will spend on a kit. Difference is thought you get enough in a kit to helicoil about a dozen threads ( all the same size though).

When I was an apprentice I used to work with a bloke who used to say " If you can Farrk it I can fix it" its the only way to learn.

Choice is yours.....

Its only a rim not an engine block or something, and if you stuffed up there is still plan "C" and "D" Hahahahahahah

Dont worry!!! Give it ago.

FollowupID: 592487

Reply By: SPRINT-GTO - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 12:24

Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 12:24
Ascertain size of bolt then either obtain a Heliciol to sui or use a screw extractor --something like an" Easi-out or similar.
Good luck--job requires a bit of patience!!
AnswerID: 325374

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 14:42

Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 14:42
Hi there, Best to take it to a wheel repair place and if the thread is ok, they can pick the rest of the thread out and replace the bolt for you ,or drill oversize and replace it with a helicoil, a thread that is actually a thread wound up in a square thread form, like a spring, it needs a special oversize tap and the insert.. As Hairy said, you must must must get the drill in the middle if you intend to use an ezy out and use the correct size as indicated on the ezy outs, and because the bolt is steel and the rim is alloy, corrosion is probably the cause of the bolt breaking off.... you have to wd 40 the area before atempting to remove the broken thread.

The alignment guys may have cross threaded the bolt.....

(advice from an old fitter and turner) Michael
AnswerID: 325392

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 14:45

Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 14:45
Sorry, Hairy covered the helicoil thing already, Michael
FollowupID: 592490

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 14:55

Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 14:55
Not sure if this will help but muffler place enoggera that did mine as I had a stud snap they get a mobile guy in to get it out cost was $40.00. Not sure about tyres maybe worth a try.

Quick and simple.

AnswerID: 325395

Reply By: Member - Chris & Debbie (QLD) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 16:08

Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 16:08
By the sounds of it you have already drilled most of the bolt out, so I would just be drilling and tapping the next size up. I would be guessing that it is probably only a 4 or 5mm bolt so just tap and use a 6mm bolt. I am not a big fan of Heli-coils especially at that size and the kit is not cheap. If you don't want to or can't go a bigger bolt, drill and tap the hole to a bigger size anyway and screw in a bolt (use locktite), cut this flush then drill and tap it to the correct size. I usually just make these inserts up in a vice or lathe if available before fitting. This type of insert is also available commercially that go by the name, strangely enough, Threaded Insert.
Hope this helps some
AnswerID: 325410

Reply By: Member - Longtooth (SA) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 18:49

Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 18:49
Maybe those who broke it should pay for the fix.......
AnswerID: 325438