Putting up a tent for the first time

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 26, 2003 at 23:11
ThreadID: 6197 Views:11896 Replies:13 FollowUps:0
Why did I buy this bloody tent.
Here is my tale - please don't laugh.

I have been looking around for various forms of camping gear. I am very new to it but did my research.

I could not afford a Jayco camper or a camper trailer so I decided to get a tent.

I looked around on the net spending many hours looking at comments and getting prices.

I came to the conclusion that the canvas pole tents were a bit expensive and probably did not suit my needs.

I wanted a tent which I could tour with as well as base my self for a couple of days if I wanted. So I decided on a dome tent.

I looked around and saw some good reports on the coleman explorer 4 tent (there is only 2 of us).

I looked around some more and for some stupid reason I decided to get the coleman riverview 7 tent ($399) - about twice the bloody size of the explorer but still thought it was OK - thinking it will just take a bit more time to put up and did have the sort of things I was looking for if I was based at a spot for some time.

Well today I put the tent up in my front yard to get a bit of experience and to make sure all the parts were there.

I only hope no one was watching or filming this as I am sure it would end up on TV.

I reckon it took me (and the wife) about 1 hour to set up - seemed a lot longer. Granted this was the first time and the instructions were OK but could be better.

There seems to at least 1000 pegs and as many if not more guide ropes that you have to attach. My wife passed a very ponted comment " we will not be travelling late each day". My reckoning is if we stop around 1:00pm each afternoon we should be set up by night fall :). All the posts are colour coded but unfortunately they did not colour code the pins at the bottom and you have a choice of 3 to choose from (only took me 3 goes to get it right!!!)

I would say this tent is a possible marriage breaker! I can see it now, the arguments following the frustration of having to put this thing up every day if we are travelling! and I am trying to convince her this is the best way to travel.

However, in saying this I believe the tent we did buy was/is good for longer stay camping - it is very roomy and has lots of ventilation etc but as touring tent (which we haven't started doing yet) it is probably not the best but time will tell. I reckon we will end up having to cart a small (very cheap) tent around as well for overnight stays

If I had the money I would buy a camper, or a one pole canvas tent (with an annex for longer stays). A couple of years ago we went to Africa where we camped in canvas tents and they were great - taking 5-10 minutes in the dark (mind you there is an incentive to get the tent up quick there).

Why write this - humour helps at times like this and perhaps some one who is in the same position as me may gain some thing from my experience.

Any way I am still looking forward to breaking the new tent in for real - which I hope to do very soon and I ask if you see a couple of old buggers trying to put a bloody tent which is way to big for them please don't laugh (there is always motels!)

All the best,

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2003 at 23:19

Saturday, Jul 26, 2003 at 23:19
Says enough to me to save for a canvas tent! LOL do it once do it right !!!

the thing is it may be HUGE and REALLY NICE, but if its pi$$ing rain, and getting dark, its still gonna be 45 mins to get erected...

I'd end up sleeping in the car!

Enjoy it and good luck!
AnswerID: 26057

Reply By: Ray M (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2003 at 23:23

Saturday, Jul 26, 2003 at 23:23
A bit of paint Richard and you can colour code those bottom pins yourself. Good luck.Hooroo
AnswerID: 26059

Reply By: joshinthecity - Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 00:42

Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 00:42
I feel the pain Richard.

My wife and I have the same tent, and I have the same story to tell.

Sometimes less is more.

Who wants to buy a riverview 7. used once. showroom condition.

Josh 0408-507-819.

AnswerID: 26062

Reply By: John - Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 02:43

Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 02:43
Hi Richard
I bought a 6 man dome tent from Rays (Model Geo 6) and it was a real pain, the first time I set it up with my two kids. About 40 mins. As you say great if you are staying at a location for a few days.
After a bit of practice we now do it in around 15 to 20, so just persist.
Mine is all color coded, poles etc very well in fact.
Practice makes perfect.

I agree about them not being suitable for touring and I will be buying a single pole tent soon for just that very reason, up and down in 5 minutes.
Still good fun all the same.

AnswerID: 26065

Reply By: chopper - Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 07:27

Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 07:27
I love stories like these>

It's a matter of priorities.

Do you want lightweight, small packed size, and large erected area? If so a big dome is the way to go.

If youare happy with heavy, large packed area and a smaller tent? then a two minute erecting canvas tent is for you.

Practice makes perfect with domes (and all other I am sure).

You'll learn little tricks to make life easier.

Peg out the corners first
Put all the poles Thru their sleeves (not hooks) and leave them flat on the ground,
Figure out which poles are the weight bearers and put these up first, then move around the tent putting the ends of each pole into their sockets.
Pack the fly in such a way that as you open it you slide it over the tent.
Have all of the guy ropes pre tied, and neatly looped around themselves, then only attach those that are neccesary.

Domies aren't hard to use, and nothing will give you the room and strength of a Geodesic dome, It is the only structure that gets stronger as it gets bigger (ref Discovery Channel:-) )

Don't be discouraged, make a game of it, like how many beers can you drink while watching your wife put the tent up, then you try, should be very funny.
chopper
AnswerID: 26067

Reply By: Member - Paul T- Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 09:16

Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 09:16
Great stuff guys

In these circumstances out on the track I do offer to help when I see people struggling, but am very vareful how and to whom as in the majority of caese the responses are either a polite 'yes' please or 'no' thanks but ocassionally abuse is thrown my way (frustration on the part of the camper I think rather than any thing personal).

My wife and I used to love watching campers put their tents up for the first time. It was extremely entertaining and I used to sit and have a beer and have a little chuckle througout the show, if I wasn't helping, but the real purpose of this story is to say I don't think any Camper hasn't been there and done that with some form of camping equipment.

I remember putting up our very first tent for the very first time (20 yrs ago), and I can guarantee the air was blue around the site. My wife is still with me but I don't why after that event.

I also seem to remember some older bloke offering to help and my response was less than encouraging, needless to say he went and grabbed a beer, sat down and watched the free entertainment.

Yep been there done that.

PT
AnswerID: 26071

Reply By: Mick - Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 09:22

Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 09:22
Oh boy I reckon the only consolation for you is that you're not alone! Next fun time for you will be when the weather turns foul .... domes of the cheap variety don't like strong winds or heavy rain. You pay up to $2,000.00 for 4 season hike tents and they stand up in all conditions but the cheapies are grief! Save up for a centre pole.
AnswerID: 26072

Reply By: richard - Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 11:52

Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 11:52
To all,
Thanks for the replies. Sharing your woes does help.

both my wife and I did have a bit of a laugh about it afterwards - she is a bit more positive about it than I am (the tent was my decsion despite my efforts to blame her). I had suggested we do it again and time ourselves - went down like a lead balloon - mind you I was joking then as well.

As for people offering support when you are trying to do this. I must admit I am a bit pig headed and will persist by my self despite the problems. However in saying this any help offered would be appreciated, even if not accepted. If nothing else it would be nice to have a laugh with some one else afterwards, the comments I have received have indicated that we are not the only ones and one day it will be the other way around.

At this stage the tent is not up for sale and is in one piece (ie I did not rip it up in frustration or throw out).

Thanks Guys,
It has helped .

PS If I survive my real camping escapade in a few weeks time (and I refuse to tell any one where I am going) I will let you know :)
AnswerID: 26079

Reply By: Mixo - Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 13:01

Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 13:01
Spotted your problem....the canvas poles....nowhere near rigid enough... swap to ally.Gotta have red sand on those boots !
AnswerID: 26082

Reply By: johnsy - Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 16:38

Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 16:38
Richard at lest you had the sense to try the tent out before going bush I took two couples out for new years and you guessed it they had no bloomin idea. Picture this arrive late in the arvo to escape the summer sun ,a couple of beers on the track in and time to setup camp babies need feeding and a couple of tents no-one has had any dealings with I nearly set the Whole Western Macs alight with the language lol now
AnswerID: 26097

Reply By: Member - Alpaca (SA) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 22:07

Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 22:07
G'day Richard,
We used a centre pole tent for years and they are dead easy to erect and I too, used to get entertained by people trying to erect their tents and placing their vehicle in just the right spot etc. Got sick of making beds etc and bought a roof topper. They are great, BUT if you see a marone cruiser moving a bit here or a bit there trying to get the truck dead level, by all means laugh your head off but don't come and offer me any advice as the CEO is making just too many instructions on where to place the truck at that time of day. I'm thinking of how I can cheaply fit a set of those hydraulic car lifters that the V8 supercar's use to level the truck. Roof toppers beat the crap out of a tent IMHO.
You did the right thing by putting it up b4 you go away and a couple more practices at home will really help.
Good luck and enjoy.Alpaca
AnswerID: 26117

Reply By: yarda - Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 10:05

Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 10:05
Richard - one word for you buddy - OZTENT , quick easy simple. Welcome to the scrub, i'm sure you will love it. Brad
AnswerID: 26131

Reply By: KIM - Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 18:32

Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 18:32
Richard,
I use what is known as a "one minute tent" (centre pole). The tent is now close to 20 years old and has had a lot of use in that time.
Because I sleep in the back of the 4wd, I selected one with a vestiible that covers the back of the car.
Without a doubt, the best thing about these tents is their set up time. Four pegs in the ground, insert the centre pole, and thats it.
I have used it on quite a few occasions in the outback and after a long days drive the last thing you need is some complicated contraption that puts every body in a bad mood
I can't remember who I bought it off now, but their still heavily used, particularly by tour operating companies in Northern SA and the top end.

Kim
AnswerID: 26176