Camping at Coffin Bay in January

Planning to get away from Melbourne at Xmas and think we've settled on Coffin Bay SA as a destination for some sand driving, beach camping, fishing etc. We'll be towing off-road campers and are looking for any suggestions as to best spots to 'get away from the crowds'. Somewhere good to launch a tinnie is a high priority as well. All suggestions appreciated. Cheers.

Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 21:31

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 21:31
I really like Morgans landing area in the Nat. Park. Nice spot - got shade in the camp spot, beautiful beach. Bit of traffic goes past and bees can be an issue. cheers JD
AnswerID: 329927

Reply By: Patrick W - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 21:45

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 21:45
Thanks JD, that's one of the spots I've been thinking of. Possible to launch a tinnie there do you reckon?
AnswerID: 329931

Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 22:12

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 22:12
I'm not a boater but I'm sure you could launch a tinnie there. Think some campers leave boat in water - always seems a calm place (unlike further out at Point Sir Isaac). Few photos of the beach - see dolphin in shallows - views across to other side - oh what a place.

FollowupID: 597383

Reply By: Member - Ron H (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 21:50

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 21:50
Patrick,
I recommend trying the Pool - adjacent Point Sir Isaac. Good selection of campsites, toilet, beach access and sheltered beach to launch the tinnie. This area is further into the Park and avoids some of the traffic. You will cover a fair bit of the Park getting there, including sand driving along beautiful Seven Mile Beach.This site is close to Sensation Beach for some great sand-driving, beach fishing and swimming.Will probably head down there myself for the Australia Day holiday. If you haven't already done so checkout the Park brochure - link below:
http://www.environment.sa.gov.au/parks/pdfs/BROCHURE_COFFIN_BAY.PDF
AnswerID: 329932

Follow Up By: Patrick W - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 22:26

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 22:26
Thanks Ron, and yep got the parks brochure. Looking forward to it, big time!
FollowupID: 597386

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 22:07

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 22:07
G'day Patrick

Both spots above are excellent camping areas, not sure if you still have vehicle access to the beaches anymore though, a lot of those places have been closed off...Another beaut spot is Black springs, at that time of year i dont think it will really matter where you camp, I lived in Pt Lincoln for quite a few years and every oppurtunity we had we used to head to Coffin Bay, along with 50000 others..If you go right thru to the point make sure you take note of tide times when driving 7 mile beach, have been caught a few times ...lol...anyway Coffin Bay National park is one of the best 4 wheel driving , fishing and camping places you will ever come across, heaps to do and plenty to see......If i can be of any more help to you mate let me know and i'll give you my email addy....

Cheers.......Borgy
AnswerID: 329935

Follow Up By: Patrick W - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 22:29

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 22:29
Brilliant work Borgy, I reckon I'm just about sorted! Cheers
FollowupID: 597388

Reply By: Bricky - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:03

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:03
Have to agree with the others. Have lived here for three years and anywhere in the Coffin Bay National Park is great. Not sure if you can launch at The Pool, I think you can at Morgans.

Daryl
AnswerID: 331262

Follow Up By: Patrick W - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:42

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:42
Thanks Daryl, Morgans is sounding good. Cheers.
FollowupID: 599041