Question - Configuring a Wagon for sleeping inside it.

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 09:07
ThreadID: 62562 Views:8806 Replies:11 FollowUps:25
Subtitle - A desperate attempt to aviod towing anything !

In our case its a GU patrol, but wondering if any have
configured there wagons for sleeping 2 inside ?

With kids moving into there own cars we are starting to have
more trips without backseat passengers.

We don't like the use of cargo barriers so potentially
we have a significan, but not overly large cargo cavity into
which a double bed arragement might be feasible.

We have multiple setups for our car, and one which has proved useful in the past is to remove one of the rear bucket seats and i constructed a framework to extend the cargo area forward to the back of the driver seat hence making a flat floor area big enough for one.
Worked well for one, but now we need a double.

The natural question is how to design things such that ->

A/ You can get into/out of bed easily
B/ Have to be able to carry all your camping gear without
piling it on top of the bed.

My initial idea is to build a flat floor the height of a can of food
above the existing cargo area, and extending to the back of the front row of seats.
This compromise might allow enough headroom for the sleepers and also allow some storage space underneath for chairs ,food etc.

How much headroom is needed for comfortable sleeping (600mm)?

The front 500m of this new floor would be removeable or hinged so that it could be placed where the upright of the current 2nd row seats are, and over the rest of the rasied floor.
Hence forming an emergency seat, or alternate cargo space setup.

I.E. We wish to have our cake and eat it to.

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 09:18

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 09:18
Robin

I have lost count on how many storage variations I have made to multiple 4x4's over the years but there is no simple answer to your dilemma. Somewhere along the line there has to be a compromise.

You either carry heaps of gear on a roofrack or you tow a trailer.

In the end I opted for the trailer. This, once again, presents its own problems when travelling remote and especially on desert trips or cross country driving.

The third alternative is to take an angle grinder to the body and re-configure it to suit your needs.

AnswerID: 329989

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 10:16

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 10:16
In my current configuration I have 500mm headroom. Add 100mm self inflating mattress and sleeping bag and I may have 440mm clearance. No worries, I sleep comfortably. Getting in and out of bed is sometimes a challenge...lol

I am a tad larger than you as I recall so 600mm for you should be ample

FollowupID: 597444

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 10:26

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 10:26
Hi Willem

I guess we have concentrated on a lightweight setup over the years and take no real weight , to give us max capability.

A trailer just wouldn't have worked as per recent posts , but one of those cute roof units for carrying lightweight stuff would be a consideration if we can't work out an effective internal setup.

Ok on your 500mm headroom - Two friends have had setups whereby a floor has been built at the level of the top of the rear sets.
Very effective for storage space but they only leave 400mm for headroom not including mattress and I tried it and its a pain, couldn't sleep like that.

FollowupID: 597445

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 11:13

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 11:13
Willem
You have seen inside my Troopy , bed, water tank, fuel tank , I couldn't think of a better setup in a normal sized 4x4,

FollowupID: 597453

Follow Up By: Member - Dick (Int) - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 00:14

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 00:14
Hi Doug

I am in the process of trying to reorganise the back of my Troopy also. Do you have any pic's of where you have everything in the back of yours.

BTW, where are you now.
Dick

FollowupID: 597580

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 00:58

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 00:58
Dick
No but I'll get some tomorrow and email them to you,

FollowupID: 597584

Reply By: troopyman - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 10:09

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 10:09
I had the dilemma of how to sleep in the troopy and still carry all the gear . The obvious answer was to buy an oztent . cheers .
AnswerID: 329992

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 10:31

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 10:31
Oztents are good Troopy but last weekend we had to leave at 5am which meant getting up at 4am in the dark to pack up not only the wet tent but sleeping gear etc.

Even though we did what we could the night before it was a pain.

I'm hoping for a setup where I can just roll out of bed , pour a coffee from the thermos and stumble into the drivers seat and off, but with a car that can still most things with ease.

FollowupID: 597446

Follow Up By: troopyman - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 11:30

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 11:30
Everything is a compromise unfortunately with this sort of thing . Here is your answer though . Perfect by the looks of it .
drawers
FollowupID: 597454

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 12:39

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 12:39
Thanks Troppy, didn't know about that and its the sort of thing I was hoping this post would flush out.

FollowupID: 597467

Reply By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 11:20

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 11:20
Rob, I have a campertrailer but with just the fiance and I, unless staying put in the one place I long for the tent. I hate the fact I have to pack up the tent to visit somewhere...hence the camper.

But as an option to your delema...I think the roof top tents are a joke in the fact that the setup is substantial and the windbrake they represent on the road must cost a fortune in fuel.

Im not sure if you have seen these though... Magollina Roof toppers? These are hard roof capsules so you leave all the bedding in the pod and just drop them down when finished for the night.

Would allow the vehicle to hold all necessary gear and the roof tent for sleeping but being sreamlined and fibreglass eliminates the wet tent packup and is fuel efficient.

Plenty of variations that might suit.

Im not associated with nor do I own the product but have seen it in action and was impressed!

AnswerID: 330003

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 11:42

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 11:42
Hi Matt
Some good thoughts and some of those setups are pretty good, but its not just me, and the idea of ladders and height won't work for us, hence concentrating on what can be done inside a car.
If I can do a test setup in the Patrol it will influence my next car decision.
I.E. If it looks good, but marginal on room I can consider the bigger inside cruisers.

My mate has a good setup, he has a trail bike trailer with poles at corner and mounts one of those rooftop tents just above the top of the bike.
This makes it lower than on a car, with less wind resistance, but he can still view out of the cars back window. Works well, if you carry bikes which I do sometimes.

FollowupID: 597456

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 13:09

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 13:09
Rooftop works well for us...and the windbreak effect is academic in a 'Fender.

Packing up wet hasn't been a problem...and we have all our bedding stowed up there permanently.

Mind you after a number of variations on storage etc...I think Willem's comment echoes well...no one thing will ever suit the entire job.

FollowupID: 597471

Follow Up By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 13:39

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 13:39
No worries...I do know the feeling about set-ups...there will NEVER be the perfect one for anyone! I built most of my camper and its still very different from what I would build again if or when I do again.

For another bike carrier camper have a look here TrailerMade

I tried to find a price on those Magginolia toppers but they are very elusive....I think in the vicinity of $3k....hefty!!

Still I would love to have one fitted over the back on roll bars in the dualcab permanently.... I think I would do more short notice, short trips with that convenience. See the Safari and the deluxe where you still have storage space on the roof of the module for bikes spares or surfboards etc.

Ummm, oh well....just another lotto dream haha!

Matt. (still dreaming of my perfect set-up)
FollowupID: 597475

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 16:17

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 16:17
Hi Matt

We find we use ours more often because it is ready to go. And I think you are right about the price of the Magginolia...

FollowupID: 597493

Reply By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 12:01

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 12:01
Robin,

Sorry, been too busy to get down to the Coffee Shop.

Pop into the factory and I can go through some things with you.

Give me a call on 9706 6527 first to make sure I'm not out.

AnswerID: 330006

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 14:19

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 14:19
Yep gotta do that Jim - just doesn't seemed to have happened so far.

FollowupID: 597479

Reply By: age - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 12:34

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 12:34
Robin

Link to a Bike Camper as you have mentioned above - bit expensive though
Bike Camper

A
AnswerID: 330007

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 17:57

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 17:57
Wow age

Looks a bit like our friends but his was $3k but doesn't look as cute and doesn't have that tiltable top to enable the bikes to come off easier - great idea though.

FollowupID: 597505

Reply By: OzTroopy - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 12:34

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 12:34
Hey Robin

Isnt it great when they get their cars - the amount of space available in yours seems to increase tenfold ... LOL

Pretty much whatever arrangement you come up with will come back and kick you in the butt somewhere along the line. There will always be the " I wish I did this or that" situation ... lol

In a troopy ... I built a storage box that filled the rear half of the storage area .. on the pass side. The lid lifted up for access and bulky, heavy items could still be stowed at floor level on the dvrs side. Careful stowage was required due to left and right weights in the vehicle but the extra effort was worth it, for the easy, full height, floor to ceiling access from front to rear when unloaded.

The storage box lid was comprised of two lids. the top lid was hinged to fold over to the drivers side ... when the vehicle was unloaded ... and form a dble bed base. The mattress was two piece.

This worked well for a number of years.

Have a smaller wagon now and space is more limited. Currently in the planning stage of a single huge drawer, that will slide out leaving the interior totally free for sleeping. This will be for use on shorter trips where a trailer is not required.

( Jim ... I have design rights ... LOL )
AnswerID: 330008

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 13:34

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 13:34
Oztroppy, thanks for describing that.

I always considered a troppy a little bit narrow for sleeping two
but it must be 1200mm or so wide inside and I guess all the extra
space above and around must help, and it was probably easier than most to get into bed.
This would be an issue in the Patrol which is a little cramped, but not width wise.

With careful design of the sort not suitable for mass production you can usually do special things that can make the difference to achieve success.

Hope you can achieve this with your removeable box.

FollowupID: 597474

Follow Up By: Member - Alastair D (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 15:29

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 15:29
Robin,
We have just done up a troopy for the non-towing, no tent type trips. The rear is ~1440mm wide and we easily fitted a normal size dbl bed mattress. There is heaps of storage underneath in our home/custom made system.

Not the answer to your original question.

We also have a LC100 TD and it has cloned black widow dbl _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx which are just above the wheel arches and go to the back seats. Before we bought the troopy I took out the rear seats and built a simple timber frame which extended the flat surface of the _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx to near to the back of the front seats. The space underneath was good storage into which I could fit water containers, plastic storage boxes for various groups of things like cooking, food, clothes etc. Worked well but we decided it was a bit of hassle changing the vehicle mode. We still wanted the back seat for general travel. In reality it probably only took 2 hours to take the system out, clean up and put the seats back. Must be getting lazy.

My home made system probably was similar to the Black Widow system pictured but only cost a fraction of the price and was made to accomodate some of our gear best.

If you go this way then go down to Bunnings on a quiet weekday morning and they will let you try out a range of plastic crates, boxes etc to get the best fit.

alastair
FollowupID: 597486

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 16:08

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 16:08
Thanks Alastair , must have a better look at the new troppys but your comments on the LC100 are quite along the path I think I will experiment.
With a little thought perhaps part of the panels could detach and form a full width set back as well ,giving a very quick alternate set up for when we need to carry 6 or 7 extra jerries .
The Patrols a 100mm or so smaller in every dimension , so rather than have the _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx I'm thinking of building a wood framework which will still allow things to be stowed underneath and hence saved a few mm hear and there. This sort of thing could make or break the project.
If it proved that the LC extra space made the difference between acceptable or not I would consider a trade up (well to a V8 petrol maybe).

FollowupID: 597488

Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 22:04

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 22:04
The main restriction that I can see Robin is the height of the fridge at around 450 to 500mm doesn't leave quite enough room to get in & out of bed. If the cramped position doesn't bother you then a false floor could easily be run right up to the front seats. Good enough for someone with ducks disease but if you're over 6' then I doubt you could stretch out fully without tilting the seats forward. Storage _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx, water tank, etc could all be accessed easily from the rear & side doors. Personally the noise of the fridge cutting in & out all night along with the condensation would make me go back to setting a tent up pretty quick. In standard form a troopy is possibly the only vehicle tall & long enough to make a comfortable 4x4 wagon to sleep in.
Cheers Craig.............
AnswerID: 330077

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 08:03

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 08:03
Hi Craig

Fortunately we have that one solved otherwise it would be a real problem, and theres no real point in what I'm considering if you have to spend equal time taking everything out of the car then putting it back.
In the Patrol our fridge sits just between the front seats, and there are no large items I haven't got a place for except chainsaw so far.

The noise would be annoying as you suggest , as part of our general lightweight approach (and no full size second battery)we currently try to ice up the fridge and run the car for a few minutes before bedtime and then leave fridge off as insurance against flat battery. We would have to firm up on this one , but I guess if we forgot to turn the fridge off we would know about it.

These little things often have unintended side issues to , for example because we leave the fridge off we usually leave the car open to the cold night air so it stays cooler, but I guess that won't happen if we sleep inside.

Actually in typing this a thought just occurred to me - I wouldn't have to get up in the night to raid the fridge!

We carefully measured an 80 series in Benalla and my GU over weekend and they came out pretty much the same at 1900mm with the seats fully back but upright. So it looks generally feasible , but I think the detail will make or break the issue.

I have a secondary motivation in that every 3 or 4 days camping one of us gets a sore back - no real issue but annoying - and a flat floor should solve that as well.

On the troppy, I have to say that I was disappointed that the back wasn't widened along with the front on the recent model change.

FollowupID: 597598

Reply By: draff - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 08:42

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 08:42
Robin,

A bit of a late reply to your query but we have done exactly what you are after to a GQ patrol. We took this on our first trip around Australia and were quite comfortable for an extended trip. We had an existing draw system in teh back covered in carpet, we then removed all the back seats (temporarily) and we built a storage system that fits in there. We have a caravan water tank that goes along the floor (where the rear seats used to sit straped to the holes from the seats), the fridge sits stapped to the floor behind the passenger seat and above this is a system of boxes built out of ply and covered in carpet. The storage system includes a pantry with a draw that opens out the back right hand side passenger door, a vegie storage box with aeration holes, and several other boxes designed to fit all the other camping gear. We then custom built a cargo barrier that is mounted to the top of the existing rear draw system, the cargo barrier is hinged and can be unbolted from the top and lays down over the top of the storage system so you have a flat bed surface for the evenings. All of the storage system is cushioned using heavy duty foam to 'level' up the base of the car where its uneven from the seat mountings.

The only things on our roof rack are the spare tyre and gas bottles.

The pluses of this system we have found are:
* all the heavy stuff is stored low down (fridge, water, recovery gear)
* heaps of storage space, all easy to get to and everything has its place
* nothing goes in the back on top of the 'bed' area except the bedding and camp chairs (ie. the things you get out first anyway
* takes us 5 mins to convert the car from driving mode to sleeping mode
* everything can be removed easily when we get home and the seats put back in - we then just store the system in the shed for the next trip
* it is all homemade and relatively cheap

The negatives we have found include:
* airflow - on hot nights sleeping in the car does not allow for adequate airflow (we now take a swag which we use outside or in the car depending on how close to water in croc country we are!)
* there isn't a huge amount of head room (ie. you can't sit up) but we find it enough to be comfortable)
* its not the easiest to get in and out of but again its not a huge issue for us

I hope that helps you out with some ideas.

'Draff
AnswerID: 330109

Follow Up By: draff - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 08:47

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 08:47
Robin,

A few further details after reading the above posts, yes we fold the front seats forward at night for extra length, we sleep with our heads towards the back so its only your legs on the wire of the cargo barrier not your body so it doesn't dig in, and we are 6 foot and 5 foot 11 and we can stretch out fully with no problems (admittedly we are in our late 20's/early 30's so perhaps its easier for us to climb in and out of the car but my parents have slept in there and they are in their 60's).

Good luck sorting out your options - planning for camping trips is half the fun really.

'Draff
FollowupID: 597604

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 09:35

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 09:35
Thanks for taking the time to Reply Draff, its allways good to hear from those that have done similar.
It will be a challenge to make it work for us , but was easy when it was kids - they didn't care about stuffeness and air flow so much but I did have plastic flywire mesh which Velcro'd onto the outside window frame which allowed some airflow and we used to close the door to its first click which would let a little air in.

Fortunately we don't go to croc country much, but I imagine sleeping in the car would have been comforting.

Oh , I really agree with your last comment , planning and working things out and coming up with improvements and getting involved is all a great part of why we like the whole scene.

FollowupID: 597608

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 09:00

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 09:00
G'day Robin,

There was a mob some time ago that did a drawer system all the way to the driver's seat. It was one drawer that contained the bed. Can't recall the name but when combined with the latest very nifty looking rear tent structures available for wagons these days it could provide a comfy sleeping arrangement (not confined to the cabin) and the storage above is not lost or needing to be moved to use the bed. Also the area underneath the rear passenger area would be storage.

Theo
AnswerID: 330110

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 09:37

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 09:37
Good Thoughts Theo - I sort I have in the back of my mind that if sleeping in there was marginal , then one of those tents at wagons back or even a large flywire screen that could be quickly thrown up might relieve the situation just enough to be viable.

FollowupID: 597609

Reply By: stevesub - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 10:54

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 10:54
We spent over a year deciding what we wanted and came up with the perfect answer - a pop-top Troopy. We looked at converting a normal 4wd such as Robin wants to do, tent tops, camper trailers, tray backs, etc, etc.

The Troopy has everything we want incl inside sitting room in the back when it is cold or wet plus sleeping for 3 and maybe 4. The up top sleeping is a perfect size for a double airbed which is what we use.

We have the storage space, fridge, stove, kitchen sink, water tank and dual fuel tanks and batteries. I can stand inside with no problems - useful for getting changed.

It is also used a day to day run around and being around the standard height we can still get into most carparks. It is also a registered 7 seater which has been handy from time to time. Being a Troopy, there are not many places you cannot take it.

Had it nearly 6 years now and we will never sell it as it is too useful and we love it.

We do have our cake and are eating it too.

Stevesub
AnswerID: 330120

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 11:55

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 11:55
Hi Steve

I have seen a few nicely setup Troppies although I always thought
they were a little narrow.

I think like you I could never go with the Britz type as being to high.

Did you consiously consider the ones that are fixed hinged at the front and push up from the rear, which look easier to get into ?

Do you find climbing up to the top an issue, some don't like ladders ?

Its a great feeling when you have got what your after for sure.

FollowupID: 597624

Reply By: stevesub - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 12:12

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 12:12
Yes, I agree the Britz ones are too high, especially for day to day use when you may have to go into low carparks.

When we bought ours, there was not a lot on the market at that time, in fact we only saw our model which was converted in Adelaide. I cannot remember the company but they do not do Troopys any more.

The ones hinged at the front are from Ballina. They should be OK but I sleep with my head over the front of the vehicle and do not know how much room there is for sleeping in that model.

There is no room for a ladder in a Troopy, we stand on the fridge to get up to bed, not ideal but it works (the fridge is a metal Engel).

As a nice feature, our fridge is mounted on springs so that it does not get as much vibration from the vehicle. They are fairly stiff but is should help with longevity for the fridge.

The other option around right now are ex-Maui pop-top ones BUT are they expensive - like twice what we paid for ours and we bought ours when it was 3 years old.

As for too narrow, well we find it is no problem and have a double air bed as our mattress. The one that came with the truck was too hard and we are happy with the air bed.

It is great, we pull up at a camp site, pop the roof, put our clothes bags on the front seats, get out the table and chairs -then Gin/Beer time all in under 5 mins. All food, kitchen stuff, sleeping gear, TV, recovery gear incl hand winch, spade, etc, etc has its own place in cupboards and under the seat and all are easy to get to very quickly and do not need to be unpacked.

Our only problem is the second spare which we only carry when we think we need it. It sits behind the passenger seat and is a pain but we only put it in for outback trips. A dual wheel carrier would fix that problem but make access to the rear more difficult.

You also cannot take anything on a roof rack on our model at it is more weight to raise when you pop the roof and the pop top part is fibreglass.

Hope that this helps.

If you are in the Bribie area, let me know and you can suss our one out.

Stevesub
AnswerID: 330129

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:37

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:37
Thanks Steve , the only flaw I can find in your setup is that you have Gin & Beer instead of Barcardi & Chardonay.

FollowupID: 597769

Follow Up By: stevesub - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 07:10

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 07:10
Actually we also have Whiskey and Chardonay (cask form when travelling as we try to have no glass in the truck when travelling) as well. If we run out of Gin and Whisky, then we get the rum as that is the only spirit we both drink.

Stevesub
FollowupID: 597817

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 08:25

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 08:25
Ok Steve - Then you do have the perfect setup !

FollowupID: 597842