Measuring Solar Panel Performance?

Submitted: Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 05:50
ThreadID: 62921 Views:4810 Replies:2 FollowUps:6
This Thread has been Archived
Hoping for some expert info here... Have acquired a few old solar panels (probly about 12 years old). They are made by 'Eurosolare' which I thinks is Italian, and they are labelled P5A. Now I have googled like hell, and found plenty Eurosolare panels, but no P5A, so I need to try and figure out how to work out their performance? They have been in a dark store for last 8 years or so. So I would be really grateful for any feedback on how to work out their performance or how good they are?
Cheers,
Gil
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 07:48

Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 07:48
Gil, I am no expert but it would probably help to know the type of panels and dimensions. They are most likely monocyrstalline which are still relatively efficient though the older technology.Mine are monocrystalline and have glass faces.

Lots rave about particular brands like Unisolar, an American brand but for the surface area they are lower output.

You are going to have to suck and see a bit I think as they ptobably put out 17v so can cause a bit of trouble to batteries sometimes charging for long at that rate. I was told over the weekend though, that the batteries I have - AGM, could take it unhindered, by the manufacturer of the gear.
AnswerID: 332053

Reply By: redeye141 - Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 08:32

Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 08:32
Gil,

To test their output place an amp meter across the terminal and measure current. In the sun without any regulators attached.

This will tell you the output current for the unit if it still works.

Measuring voltage can be misleading.

Redeye
AnswerID: 332057

Follow Up By: hazo - Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 12:41

Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 12:41
Redeye 141

An ammeter must be placed in "series" with a load for a reading to be obtained.