2001 Jackeroo 3.0 TD Warning

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 12:40
ThreadID: 63038 Views:13234 Replies:5 FollowUps:10
I bought a 2001 3.0 litre TD Jack six weeks ago.

The injector seal recall had been completed in 2005.

Last Friday it died while my wife was driving it (and I was in Darwin). A puff of white smoke and it lost power while she was leaving a car park. She stopped and called the road service.

When the RAA checked it there was diesel in the coolant and the radiator hoses had blown up like balloons.

They towed it to a mechanic who checked with Holden to see what might have caused this unusual problem. The local Holden diesel mechanic was aware of the issue which has recently arisen for the 3.0 TD Izuzu engines and Holden have just issued a technical bulletin about the problem (which I have seen but could not copy). There is a sleeve around the injectors which can erode permitting diesel from the common rail to blow past into the coolant. There is a modified sleeve available to be fitted to all four injectors.

The car yard are also arranging to have the head pulled today to check the other possibility - a cracked head. Cost to them so far $1,500 for the injector mod which could climb to over $8K if the head has gone.

Glad they are paying and not me and that it didn't happen the week before when we were camped up the Murray on vary quiet tracks and a long way from the nearest tow. The car yard have been very good about the whole thing, but they are not happy about the cost which is not surprising.

If you own a 3.0 litre TD Jack this is something to be aware of but I don't know how you could check for it apart from looking at your coolant regularly. The beast had been blowing a little smoke under hard acceleration but I was thinking it might just need an injector clean. We don't know how long the sleeve's were leaking but all the rubber components in the cooling system have been eaten away and need to be replaced.

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

Reply By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 12:58

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 12:58
Amazing how one fault like that can balloon out to a potential $8k repair bill. Is this being warrantied because of the seal recall.? The car couldn't be under warranty.? So Holden are paying. Not too many 3.0TD Jacks out there obviously
AnswerID: 332615

Follow Up By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 13:30

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 13:30
It is covered by the second hand dealer's warrantee, not Holden.

According to him Holden have just identified the problem as in issue. We were just "licky" enough to have it happen to us early so it was covered by the 3 month warantee.

Pete

FollowupID: 600464

Reply By: Member - Madfisher - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 13:05

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 13:05
Thank god I stayed with the v6, a much more reliable motor.
Good luck Pete
AnswerID: 332617

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 13:56

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 13:56
wow....your mechanics can do somehting...mine cannt!!
we're going to 5th mechanic an hour away from next week.....

glad they are paying for it instead of you....!
AnswerID: 332637

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 16:09

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 16:09
Dont get caught up with too many mechanics as your cost will balloon past most peoples ability to pay.
The motor is 4Jx1 and is the dog of all Isuzu motors as it has the Huey(Easy Spelling way) injection system from caterpillar on it modified by Isuzu which means it is a hydraulic electric injection which uses oil pressure to open the injectors.
There is two oil filters one for engine and one for injectors but uses the same oil and its got to be special as the wrong oil sludges and creates havoc with the sensors the injectors the harness and everyone chases thier tail trying to figure out what is wrong dont find out but normally still wants you to pay for thier time.
The Jackaroo with that engine is sold in the UK as the Isuzu Trooper and the forums there are rife with problems with them.
I have just bought a 2002 with a shot motor cheap the car is immaculate and Im doing a conversion on it with another diesel.
I could have bought a brand new huey for $6800 in either Melbourns or Brisbane but why end up with the same problem in a few years .
Apparently the problem take some time to entrench but I have read where some have died after 60 Thousand.
I have some experience with Isuzu we have four of them but without knowing the above it can break you.
Ian Martin

FollowupID: 600496

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 16:39

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 16:39
Hi Ian, I am right into my Isuzus, have an MU and a MU Wizard both running 4JG2 3.1 turbo motors. So was wandering what motor your going to put in the Jack. Oh love my 4JG2s, and yep would not touch a 4JX1, the one in the green MU has a 3 inch mandrel bent exhaust and a water to air intercooler, probably getting around 125 KWs and 400 NMs.

Cheers Bruce
FollowupID: 600504

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 17:25

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 17:25
Hi Bruce
Ive got 2xMU4jg2 one manual and one auto 1 MU as a spare and Ive just sold a 91MU ute with 2.6.
Im experimenting with an 4jbiT but balanced with a 27T garret and a cam cut to breath it better with a 3" exhaust and putting it on Sequent11 diesel gas and intercooler Im tipping better perfomance than the 4jHi common rail.
Then I might try the 4jgs with a 4jBi head for direct injection with the same set up as I think I can get 200HP with it but Ill have to use billet pistons.
The Manual 4jG2 at the moment puts out 94HP at the back wheels on the dyno as a standard engine with chemical intercooling.
FollowupID: 600533

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 17:32

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 17:32
bruce
I forgot the old 6BBi in the twin cab that you just cant kill that as soon as you touch the key it starts it seems to know your going to turn the key.Fair Dinkum.Its my sons but it wont be long before the cab falls off. Best economy truck ever produced.(My opinion)
FollowupID: 600537

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 18:11

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 18:11
I reckon there must be an Isuzu diesel that they can fit in the Patrol to replace the ZD 3.0 what do you think? Great to see another MU lover here to. I can light up the MT MTZs now on the Moo, I tell the Misses I need the extra hp for towing the van hahahaha and she says yeh 50 going on 15 hahaha

Cheers Bruce
FollowupID: 600563

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 18:32

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 18:32
Bruce
If Nissan problem did not exist with the 4.2 6 cylinder it was a lazy motor and with a good tune up and a 3 inch exhaust and better breathing it was as good as a V8.
FollowupID: 600573

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 20:55

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 20:55
Yep dead right there, some people have got awesome power out of them thats for sure.
I thought one of the Isuzu smaller truck motors might fit the Nissan, make them into a real truck then hahahahaa

Cheers Bruce
FollowupID: 600611

Reply By: Stiphodon - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 08:30

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 08:30
Is this the same 3.0L engine that was placed in the 2001-2002 Rodeos? I was just thinking of upgrading to one of the newer 3.0Lfrom my old 1996 2.8td which has been bulletproof, but maybe I should stick with the old donk!
AnswerID: 332802

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 08:50

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 08:50
The 4JX1 was only in the Jackaroos 1998-2003 and it is the common rail start.
The Rodeos I believe went to another 4 cyl Isuzu the 2nd phase common rail but in them they are a lot more reliable but extremely costly if the electronic pump fails .
FollowupID: 600675

Reply By: timeout - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 15:12

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 15:12
cripes, I was about to buy a 2001 TD Jack and have placed my deposit down. Any advice appreciated if I should walk away from the deal. I'm a little concerned now......!! Holden dealer service area says the injector issue was a recall issued several yrs ago now.

The vehicle I'm looking at is a ex council vehicle so thought it would have been looked after pretty well only having 83,000km.

Hope you have no further dramas Pete.

cheers,
Ray
AnswerID: 335701

Follow Up By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 15:41

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 15:41
All good now. The problem ended up being a cracked head - $8,000+ to repair at trade rates. $5,500 parts and the rest labour.

The TD3.0 has a very complicated common rail injection system based on the caterpillar one where oil pressure is used to fire the injectors (rather than a high pressure fuel rail). The crack cross connected the oil, fuel and coolant systems. New head, all filters, all rubber components in the cooling system, new fuel pump and other bits and pieces. Full flush of cooling, fuel and oil systems. All covered by warranty.

If I was making the decision again knowing what I do now about the fuel system I would probably pass, but they are a very nice bus to drive and towing my 17 ' 6" pop top van on a recent trip up the Murray we returned 14.9 l/100km. Bombs along at the speed limit quite happily on the flat and will hold 90-100 kph on all but the steepest hills.

The oil type is critical, they use oil pressure to fire the injectors and the factory spec is something like 10-30WGT. If heavier oil is put in they are very hard to start in cold weather.

If the injector recall was done there would be a sticker inside the right hand door hinge. That recall is critical as the original seals could leak and the engine would take off and run away firing on sump oil until the driver stalled it.

Pete

FollowupID: 603383