Carrying Firewood

Submitted: Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 11:00
ThreadID: 63079 Views:13587 Replies:13 FollowUps:9
G`Day all,,,This post is to get peoples thoughts and ideas on how to carry firewood. As you all know there are times when we all need to carry a bit of wood for the camp fire. The problem is where and how to carry it, its usually dirty and dropping bark etc and usually has sharp bits sticking out that can cause damage to the interior of your vehicle. With a tray top vehicle it`s not so much of a problem as with a wagon as the roof rack is usually loaded to the hilt as is the interior. I have thought of maybe constructing a weld mesh basket that hangs over the spare wheel but of course if you have a jack or auto tune antenna fitted that is out. Any ideas please. Regards,,,,Foxhound(WA)

Reply By: austastar - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 11:07

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 11:07
Strap it to the bull bar - looks ratty, but who cares.
It got a couple of comments in Norseman about 'eagle's nest', but we had wood when we needed it.
We usually only need a small fire to do a bit of cooking and warm 10L of water for a shower.
AnswerID: 332835

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 11:20

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 11:20
Foxhound
I did a post a few weeks ago showing a vehicle that came to the C/pk I'm , see it at ThreadID: 61165 or do Direct Link

AnswerID: 332838

Follow Up By: Steve Ellis - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 11:52

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 11:52
Seems a good idea but dont come to NSW with it, or the first copper you see will nail you to the nearest cross. I notice in the photos that the number plate is blanked out, but that Qld is readable. Only reason Queenslanders come to NSW is to take home the State Of Origin Trophy. The original and real one and the only one that matters.
FollowupID: 600702

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 11:59

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 11:59
It fits snug against the bullbar when not in use,hardly noticeable, and it would not be used on the Hume Hwy (Sesame Street) , It would be used in such places as deserts and off road, I guess common sense prevails..... for some, ...(not directed at you),

FollowupID: 600704

Follow Up By: Foxhound (WA) - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 15:04

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 15:04
Yep, saw that one. My bull bar slopes back a bit allowing the IPFs to protrude a little so they could get damaged if I used that method. Another thing with these late model vehicles with air bags, any attachments to the bar is not on i`m talking welding etc. Regards,,, Foxhound (WA).
FollowupID: 600710

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 12:06

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 12:06
With the camper trailer on, it goes on top of the box on the drawbar.

When out with just the car, rope it onto the front of the bull bar as austastar does. Can carry up to 2 days of wood on the bullbar for a short distance. Lights are obscured but short lengths under 1500mm leaves indicators showing.

As we all do, you are eyeing off fire wood where ever you go and pick it up on the way back to camp.
AnswerID: 332845

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 13:45

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 13:45
I have a tendancy to carry a small amount of firewood to gatherings;)

AnswerID: 332856

Reply By: Member - cuffs (SA) - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 13:59

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 13:59
I buy boxes of envio wood compressed less smoke burns longer and easy to pack
AnswerID: 332857

Follow Up By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 19:11

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 19:11
Has any one got one of those metal compression gadgets that were around some years ago. The idea is to soak newspapers overnight until they are like pulp and then put them in this steel box (about the size of a house brick) and then by pulling the lever it is compressed into a hard block. Let it dry in the sun and then you can stack them away to take camping - apparently they burn for quite some time, smoke free I believe. I think I know where I can borrow one - may get it and try it and post some info next week for anyone interested.
At least re cycling is all the go now.
FollowupID: 600755

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 20:32

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 20:32
I tried making the bricks for the home fire place..
Extremely tedious, and they never turned out how they say they would. Was a waste of time making them I reckon.
FollowupID: 600769

Follow Up By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 07:12

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 07:12
HI Miss Jo,
I can imagine it would be a bit tedious and messy - something to do outide I imagine. Its something I have aways meant to try but never got to it.
Did you shred the nespaper first (or tear it into strips).
I think if you are going to do it - do a big supply at once to make it worthwhile. Maybe a big tub to soak papers in.
Did the ones you made burn OK. Thats the bottom line.
As some posts have stated above we should really not be taking firewood from one area to another -- if there is a practical alternative that would be great.
GPM
FollowupID: 600814

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 09:06

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 09:06
The ones I made didn't even hold together for me to throw them into the fire!!!! they just fell apart.
Yeh I shredded the paper.
If you have any luck giving it a go, let me know and I may consider giving it another go!!!
FollowupID: 600820

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 14:40

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 14:40
I have a mesh roofrack that sits flush on the top of my canopy. Most trips it is empty, and can carry a lot of wood. No issues with damage/dirt etc. I use heavy elastic straps (?Rok brand) to hold it firm.

Similar to what Doug has posted above, I've seen people use a pair of L-shaped brackets than hang off the bullbar and use decent elastic straps to hold the wood in the brackets. But the amount that can be carried is limited and it would be a pit to damage the front of the vehicle if a log falls off.

My preference is always to collect wood away from the campsite, so you don't turn it into a dustbowl. But also you don't want to transport it 1000's of K's where you may introduce pests into the area you're camping in.
AnswerID: 332863

Reply By: Aussie.Nomad - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 15:28

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 15:28
We always have a pack of Readhead (or similar) compressed sawdust logs on board just in case. Broken up into short rings, 2 will give us all the cooking fire we need, plus a couple of hours worth of coals to gaze at.
Otherwise, we've tied logs to the bullbar, strapped 'em on the A frame when towing, and chucked 'em on the roof rack in an old sugar sack.
I like the basket off the spare wheel idea Foxy. Might develop that one.
AnswerID: 332871

Reply By: Flywest - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 16:06

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 16:06
Try not to transport frewood too far from where you gather it please!

It can carry termites obviously - but also a host of other baddies like Fungal diseases, such as Phytophthera cinnamomi (Dieback) and end up spreading the spores, and wipe out heaps of previously uninfected trees.

These spores spread thru the ground when wet - they travel slowly but over a period will work their way down slope until the whole water catchement becomes infected as far as the ocean.

Many of our trees have zero resistance to Dieback (Banksias spring to mind) and will be dead within 12 months of becomming infected, while others like a big Jarrah might take up to 40 years to die.

If you shift the fungus, via moving infected wood from one catchement to another by driving up over a ridge or saddle between two catchements, you've effectively sentenced every suscepticble tree within that new ctahcement to death - whether it is 12 months 40 or 100 or more years before it eventually happens.

Humans activities are by far the biggest spreaders of dieback, wet mud stuck to mudflaps is the easiest method to spread it - hit a bump further down the road and it drops off with infected spores in it - you just killed another million trees.

Dieback is so named because the tree dies from the tips of the crown back toward the centre of the trees crown.

This happens because the trees roots sense the invading spores of P cinnamomi fungus trying to invade the root tissue. The trees only natural defence against such invasion is to close down that root and stop intake of nutrients and water, and as it does so - it starves the trees crown and leaves of the nutrients they need to survive so we see the dreaded dieback symptom in the crown where the leaves die and the branches twigs etc stick out past the leaves.

Then the spores move downslope thru the moist soil to the next root and it in turn closes down - over a period of time ALL the trees roots close down and it dies!

The spores get into the wood and travel thru the tree - you come along - see a dead / fallen tree or branch and cut it up for firewood - and transport it to Northern territory or Tasmania - whatever and the whole shebang starts anew!

Try to gather your firewood where you intend to burn it!

Transporting wood like mud on 4wd's should be a no no - other baddies like european wood borer etc can be spread by the same practices.

Lots of ground dwelling fauna lives in that dead branches / trunks we see on the ground - we are removing our native fauna's homes, when we cut that wood up for firewood and burn it.

Numbats like to live in hollow logs as do skinks etc, phascogales, mardo's and so on.

We all have to do our bit to save the native animals and trees!

Cheers!

AnswerID: 332875

Follow Up By: Member - Damien L (QLD) - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 17:14

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 17:14
Gee after reading that I might have to sell my 4b and not move from where I live???
I normally pick up fire wood when I am getting near to where I will be camping for the night or days. I useually just throw it on the roof as I dont carry a great deal of gear on the roof rack, changes the centre of gravity.
I will have to change my thinking later on when I travel to dryer parts of Oz as where I go at the present time has plenty of dead trees on the ground.
Happy traveling all.
Damien
Love the bush

FollowupID: 600735

Follow Up By: Member - Paul M (VIC) - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 20:07

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 20:07
Good call flywest. If we don't protect our land our grandkids won't have any to enjoy!
Hope the weather's kind to the campers this weekend, but hope it rains. A bit each way, just like betting on the 'Cup. ;}
FollowupID: 600767

Reply By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 16:54

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 16:54
Fixhound

This is our method.

AnswerID: 332880

Reply By: Member - Michael O (NSW) - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 21:20

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 21:20
Maybe this???

AnswerID: 332937

Reply By: Member - Roger B (VIC) - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 21:38

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 21:38
We carry one of those large woven plastic waste paper/cardboard bales, and chuck it in my mates tinnie along with the chain saw and go for a little drive every few days. The bale keeps the boat clean, and just folds up and stores away when not in use. Of course, you've got to have a travelling mate with a tinnie!! Works well for us though. Cheers.

Roger B.........
AnswerID: 332940

Reply By: Muddie - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 09:05

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 09:05
I just put it on the roof
AnswerID: 332978

Reply By: Member - Alastair D (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 18:56

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 18:56
We try to collect firewood a few ks before we camp unless we are in a heavily wooded area. We now carry an old piece of canvas which I put on the ground in front of the vehicle, stack the wood on and then roll it up in the canvas, tie a couple of bits of rope around and then tie it on the bull bar. Easy, keeps the dirt out and is not a problem when only travelling a few ks.

Used to put it on the roof and got sick of the dirt and scratches.

AnswerID: 333045