Suspension on an off road camper

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 18:13
ThreadID: 63351 Views:5859 Replies:13 FollowUps:15
Since the big Wa trip and seeing heaps of campers of all kinds I have been thinking of designing a no canvas ,no cupboard(drawers only) off road camper for two people.As I often travel alone or with various friends 2 singles is the desired set up.Have my interior pretty well decided on but need to know from those with experience the best trailer set up.
Does one go for the tried and true leaf spring + or - shockers or is an independent coil set up more desirable?
The idea is to have a true off road trailer that can follow the Defender anywhere,but be very quick to set up and provide a warm secure area when weather is not kind to outside living.
Please give me some suspension advise based on experience and if possible with some comparisons price and maintenance wise.
Mary
"Some people walk in the rain,others just get wet."

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 18:16

Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 18:16
You just described a Track Tvan!
Except their MC2 suspension is better than leaf or wishbone type coil spring suspensions.
AnswerID: 334246

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 18:45

Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 18:45
Shaker...it has canvas....Mary does not want any ?!
FollowupID: 602013

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 18:49

Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 18:49
What about this......

Site Link
FollowupID: 602015

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 18:54

Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 18:54
Can overnight very comfortably without canvas!
FollowupID: 602016

Follow Up By: Member - Mary W NW VIC - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 19:13

Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 19:13
No nothing like it except the suspension perhaps and the $$$
Will be approx 9Ft long.
Largely home built with a ubute specialist lift up top I'm not going to enlarge on at the moment but loosely of the Avan type
It is not going to cost super $$ because i don't have them!
Mary

FollowupID: 602019

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 23:27

Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 23:27
No, she's described a Kimberley Karavan.

FollowupID: 602071

Follow Up By: Geoff M (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 11:33

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 11:33
I'm with Redbakk. We have one of these trailers (Odyssey ZR) and have put it to the test over many K's of very ordinary tracks. The suspension has never been an issue and have never broken anything inside the trailer.

FollowupID: 602101

Reply By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 19:01

Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 19:01
Hi Mary
You will certainly set the cat amongst the pigeons with this.
Leaf springs with rebound springs attached are a good option
As it is easy to carry an extra spare spring for replacement if needed and generally a simple inexpensive job to replace them.
The trailer will still go where ever you drag it.
There are still allot of 4wd's getting around some very rugged country with leaf spirings.

Rob.
I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!

AnswerID: 334251

Follow Up By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 23:12

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 23:12
I would concur with that, the only casualty in my time towing a camper with 7 leaf and rebound springs is 1 can of solo, mainly because I didn't pack it properly....
MC
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 602196

Reply By: Supercalafreakinawesome- Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 19:20

Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 19:20
Hi Mary,
have a look at member 1/2A 's rig in the members list. I reckon it looks the part. Pacific Aluminium Trailers Vision Hardtop Camper.

AnswerID: 334255

Follow Up By: Member - Mary W NW VIC - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 19:55

Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 19:55
Thanks-some interesting components there

FollowupID: 602026

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 20:20

Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 20:20
My view is based on not wrecking the trailer, or its contents.
Suspension should be relatively soft, long travel and be fitted with decent shocks and wheels & tyres that are identical with your tow vehicle.
The short, stiff leaves and no shocks that are fitted to most trailers don't do that job. Just imagine the ride if they were under your 4x4.

OKA96 Motorhome
AnswerID: 334268

Reply By: Member - 1/2A - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 20:29

Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 20:29
Have a look at Vehical Components this is the suspension I have on my camper, its fantastic we did a lot of dirt in FNQ and none of the cans of beer in the fridge had any wear marks, which is a good test of the suspension.
AnswerID: 334272

Follow Up By: Member - Mary W NW VIC - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 18:17

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 18:17
Yes -did check that site.Is yours the coil sprung or the airbag version?Thanks,Mary

FollowupID: 602138

Follow Up By: Member - 1/2A - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 18:38

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 18:38
Hi Marry,
I have the airbag version. As far as know they have not had an airbag failure, but if that did happen you can still drive at 60kpm on the dirt and 80kpm on the black stuff. Danny from Pacific Aluminium Trailers had a customer with a Vision that felt the normal high of the suspension was to high and he lowered it down onto the stops. He did the Oodnadattia track with the suspension set like that and complained to Danny that the suspension wasn't any good as some cupboard door fell off during the trip. When Danny had a look at the down stops they were like mushrooms but everything else was still in good shape.
With the airbag system you have less unsprung weight which which is a good thing.
Arthur
FollowupID: 602142

Reply By: Markymark - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 21:31

Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 21:31
This year we did 25,000km in our Trak Shak with leaf springs and shockers. While most was bitumen and dirt roads, there was plenty of bad corrugations and we didn't have any problems. It towed beautifully.
I believe that the quality of your tyres and ensuring their pressures were suitable to the terrain you're on would be just as important (if not more) than the type of suspension you have.

Mark.
AnswerID: 334281

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 23:58

Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 23:58
Some off road camper trailers are so over sprung that the tyres are the only suspension!
FollowupID: 602075

Reply By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 22:02

Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 22:02
Personal choice I think. I have two, A poptop and a trailer, I run HO 210 leaf springs with rebound springs on both and a spare bolted underneath a two tonne axle and landcruiser six stud hubs. These have been running up and down the Gibb and the Duncan for over four years no problems.
I repair about forty a year for insurance and Campervan and Caravan companies and I find the more common the suspension the less down time on your holidays.
An axle and springs is available off the shelf. A swing arm usually has to come from the suspension manufacturer who may not be the van manufacturer. This all takes time to work out where and from whom and then the freight to get them to a remote location.
The worst one you can have go on you up here is the torsional suspension that trochoidal rubbers instead of springs. ouch a six week wait for alcoa to make a new one to your size.
Good luck with your choice but remember the KISS principle.
AnswerID: 334284

Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 23:47

Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 23:47
Squizzy,

Any common break points or weaknesses you see in the suspensions you repair?

Tim
FollowupID: 602074

Follow Up By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 01:24

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 01:24
Main one is collapsed wheel bearing destroying axle. caused by two things, water and or lack of maintenance. When they collapse they destroy the axle, On a swing arm this can be a pain as most are made with an offset.
Swing arms cracked or broken caused by failed shock absorbers. they then bounce that much they either break limit strap or shock absorber completely, from there on they go into self destruct mode.
Had a few this year that had slipper springs on offroad trailers and when one broke it ended up ripping the axle clean out from under the campers. The Bungles road and the Gibb are good at that.
Maintenance is the biggest thing tho and the lack thereof. Worn shackles, worn pins, loose u/bolts and overloading, weighed one trailer after replacing axle and springs, Manufacturer said it should be six fifty unloaded and seven fifty loaded so no brakes..lol... weighed in at a smidgen under one point three tonne, think there was one to many kitchen sinks on that one.
FollowupID: 602078

Reply By: Member - Barnesy - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 01:13

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 01:13
I would stick to rebound leaf springs. Trailers simply aren't built as tough as cars and springs break so you want a cheap and easy thing to repair on the side of the road or bush town. The number of so-called "off road trailers" that break down on corrugated roads is numerous so make sure the springs are heavy duty.

One grey nomad we saw on the Gibb had a fancy new bushtracker with airbags only and one stick through the bag meant the van was on the side of the road until a new airbag could be sourced. It was still on the side of road 4 days later!

Another trailer broke a spring so the next day he went to the local roadhouse, bought a replacement and fitted it the next day. Back on the road in less than 24 hours!

Barnesy
AnswerID: 334298

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 09:43

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 09:43
Another vote for simplicity from me. That is shackle mounted leaf springs. Longer ones will give more travel & a softer ride.
Greasable shackle pins will give longer bush life, but plain bushes
are very cheap & simple to replace. As already mentioned most
suspension failures are hub based so regular maintenance is the
go. Match the hubs to your vehicle, a longer axle will increase the
wheel options. Big offsets can then be used if required. Shocks
are a matter of choice. I dont run them & have had no breakages
or problems, suspension or contents wise. Same goes for brakes
but load limits apply. My plain bush, 5 leaf, unbraked, unshocked,
setup has given no grief in 20k of outback travel, including
Tanami, GRR , Bungles etc, & is probably the cheapest option
available. Not why I chose it. It is also practical, simple, reliable,
& above all easily repairable in most situations. My maintenance
costs have been about $25..for two sets of bushes, one fitted, the other for spares. You will, of course, carry spare bearings &
seals, & a pot of grease....:))).......oldbaz.
AnswerID: 334318

Reply By: Smudger - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 10:46

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 10:46
We've dragged 2 campers across some of the most rugged tracks out there, both had ALKO rubber torsion supension.
First one was pretty lighweight and used to bounce around when unloaded. Current CT is an old Dingo, must weigh close to 2 tonnes when loaded. It follows like a cattle dog at any speed. I didn't choose the suspension, it was on the units when I bought them.
Only problem I foresee is, if they ever let go I reckon it would be difficult to jury rig limp-home supension. But I've never heard of one braking down. - Guess I'm about to though.
AnswerID: 334330

Follow Up By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 12:02

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 12:02
Had a few that snapped axles off this year. When made the torsional arm, trailing arm and axle are heat treated as a unit.
As a get home fix I have ground the old axle out and machined a new axle to fit and welded this in. It gets you home, Is time consuming and expensive.
You get a one on one warranty with it as well once out of the shop or on the road thats it. Grin. have heard from two of the people saying they made it back home to Vic and NSW so seems to work well enough.
FollowupID: 602108

Reply By: Member - Fourplayfull - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 18:06

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 18:06
Steer clear of the slipper leaf types - came accross c/t on the Plenty with axle torn out and spring pack sheered thru each leaf at the centre bolt hole after hitting washaway . Helped owner carry rest of belongings to Jervois .

I have had a great run from the Sugar Glider unit with parallel bearings-1400kg rating per side - Withers Engineering Melbourne .

But as mentioned before, whatever you have you must do regular maitenance - very cheap in your own yard .

CheersJohn
AnswerID: 334381

Reply By: Member - Mary W NW VIC - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 18:27

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 18:27
Many thanks for all the advice so far .Am leaning toward the leaf spring option for simplicity and cost.
How many of you use shocks with the leaf setup?
Mary

AnswerID: 334385

Follow Up By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 23:17

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 23:17
Hi Mary,
Just read your post.We have an O'Briens full off road camper. It has heavy duty leaf springs with rebound spring dampeners, no shocks. When having it built we asked what they thought would be best. Shocks are really just another thing to brake. We have now done 52,000 kms on the road full time without a single problem. We have had 3 broken eggs (due to not driving to the conditions). The trailer has gone through very deep mud, over large rocks, soft sand, big holes ect.. We did the Gibb, including up to Mitchell Falls, Oodnadatta track, Across the top of Lake Torrens from Andamooka, Steep point W.A, south from Balladonia to Israelite Bay and everywhere in between including 3 months in Tassie. We have not touched the suspension once.Keep it simple, that way if something does go wrong you can fix yourself quickly and easy. Expensive suspension still brakes if not maintained, just costs more to fix. Think you have the right idea from previous comments, just wanted to reinforce their comments from on road experience.
FollowupID: 602198

Reply By: Sea-Dog - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 10:46

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 10:46
My camper trailer has Hilux leaf springs and shocks under it and I can't fault it... when I did Cape York a while back the trailer handled better than the car and when the suspension failed on the car the trailer just kept on keeping on.

Quite often when I am towing my trailer off road and I hit a substantial bump the car gets thrown around but the trailer keeps on towing straight and true.

Add to that the ease of obtaining Hilux springs if the need arises.

I would have no hesitation in getting another trailer built with hilux springs and shock again..
AnswerID: 334469