Milk crates

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 21:47
ThreadID: 63448 Views:17670 Replies:12 FollowUps:6
Is there a legal source of these incredibly useful objects (i.e., does anyone make them and if so, where can you buy 'em?).
Stopping on the freeway to collect the ones that blow out of the back of utes is a bit dangerous.

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 21:49

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 21:49
Bunings have a crate that is somewhat similar.

Not as tough as the genuine article but still serviceable.

Hope that helps,

AnswerID: 334753

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 21:56

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 21:56
I get mine here

AnswerID: 334757

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 08:12

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 08:12
i prefer woolies.....Kmart is cheap junk
FollowupID: 602587

Follow Up By: Member - Luke (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 22:47

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 22:47
What about late night shopping at the back of servos :)

FollowupID: 602693

Reply By: Wherehegon - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 21:57

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 21:57
Have a fair few of them old things in the shed but will never give away, like you have said so bloody usefull. As above similiar thing sold in Bunnings but not as strong, fairly soft on the sides. Not sure I would trust one to stand on with my weight like the originals, mind you my mate nearly lost his leg on one years ago, was obviously old and had been in the sun so had gone brittle and he used it for climbing up on like most of us and his leg went through it and tore his leg to bits, very lucky still has the scars. WHG
AnswerID: 334758

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 22:21

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 22:21
While they are an incredibly useful object, they are marked 'the property of - - ', and even if you have paid a deposit for their use, it is legally theft to retain them. Chances of getting fined are remote. Simpler to stick with the Bunnings or where ever equivalent.

AnswerID: 334765

Follow Up By: Ianw - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 23:04

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 23:04
10 years ago when I was in Melbourne the milk companies used to send a couple of "heavies" to the markets to retrieve them from stall holders. Anyone who wanted to argue was hit with a $55 fine. Don't know if it's still the same.

FollowupID: 602554

Reply By: SPRINT-GTO - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 22:22

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 22:22
Supercrap Auto have good solid similiar size black plastic crates and as they are without the holes they can also be used as buckets.
I was like you knocking off milk crates from the rear of shops till I learnt about the Supercrap ones!!!
AnswerID: 334766

Reply By: OzTroopy - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 22:48

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 22:48
Similiar sized crates as some have already mentioned are made by Nally and Nylex ... same sizes, one brand has rounded internal corners.

Big W used to sell them ... havent seen them there for a while. Bunnings sells them and so does one of the hardware chains.

I have some that have been in use, rattling around various vehicles for over 20yrs ... good as milkcrate and things dont fall through.

If you can find the square internal version ... the miniature ones at Bunnings, stack inside them perfectly x 8.
AnswerID: 334774

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 00:33

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 00:33
Klaus at InFront canvas makes a bag for them so they end up out of site. I usually have one with the gas bottle sitting in it. Keeps them dust free as well.

AnswerID: 334786

Reply By: Cape York Connections - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 06:43

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 06:43
the milkbar up the road has about 20 out the back.

AnswerID: 334802

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 08:20

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 08:20
Whatever you do, do NOT use them as a step.

I have seen first hand the results of someone standing on one. When they give the leg goes through and the plastic digs in deep. Any attempt to pull your leg out just drives the broken plastic in further. Its off to surgery to have the whole thing cut away.

We used to use them in the Navy, great for standing on to reach those difficult to paint areas. After a couple of these incidents they were banned.

AnswerID: 334811

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 10:16

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 10:16
I have a couple with plywood screwed to the top , just so they were ok to stand on in bare feet , but this probably makes them safer as well.

Glenn.
FollowupID: 602602

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 21:34

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 21:34
Top idea Glenn, might do that with a few of mine, starting to age a bit but good idea for standing on them. WHG
FollowupID: 602686

Reply By: Pebble - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 11:12

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 11:12
Got to love living in the country - we source ours from the tip.

The ply idea is a good one!
AnswerID: 334831

Reply By: OzTroopy - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 11:37

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 11:37
This site shows the Nally and the Nylex Cubes available from various suppliers. Also shows the Kitab brand available from Bunnings. The 605x405 are good, long lasting items as well and come in three different heights - great for sorting and packing.

Site Link

This might be handy too.

Site Link
AnswerID: 334835

Follow Up By: steved58 - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 23:52

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 23:52
We use a product called safe step and it is made to stand on also has anti slip on the edges probably could be purchased at industrial safety shops Good for standing on but don't know about storage
FollowupID: 602706

Reply By: olddigger - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 14:55

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 14:55
Thanks for all that info, which is much appreciated. I am on my way to becoming an organised camper!
And I'm going to get some ply for the crate I use to stand on ... very good idea. It's just the right height for painting ceilings and peering into the top of my very big pantry.
AnswerID: 335016