treg hitches

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 15:47
ThreadID: 63543 Views:4472 Replies:13 FollowUps:11
gday all

is there any type that is better or worse for a camper trailer?
i know there is a couple of different sorts out there but is any 1 more suited to a camper or not?

Reply By: Cruiser .- Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 15:55

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 15:55
Mark G,

As far as I am concerned the Treg is the best option, although a Pintle Hook and coupling isnt a bad option.

Pintle Hook and Coupling

Cruiser .
AnswerID: 335379

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 16:01

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 16:01
ol' fella

i was told that the swivelling one(360degrees) was the go,would it be better for 4wding though?
FollowupID: 603078

Follow Up By: Cruiser .- Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 16:29

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 16:29
Mark G,

The ADF use Pintle Hooks on all their vehicles and a 360 coupling on the trailers.

I used to drive 4 tonne 4WD crash trucks (aircraft recovery) in the sand dunes at Stockton using this system and it seemed to work well.

Cruiser .
FollowupID: 603089

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 16:05

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 16:05
Ken,

I use an AT35 Hitch, haven't had any issues offroad with it either.

AnswerID: 335382

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 16:13

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 16:13
crack

could you post a link on what these look like....i never heard of them,cheers.
FollowupID: 603083

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 16:20

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 16:20
Pampered Poodle,

This link shows most of the off road hitches

Cheers Sir Kev

FollowupID: 603086

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 16:22

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 16:22
KELVIN

thanx mate.
you say you've never had a problem with these?
what sort of money are we looking for the AT 35 ?

cheers.
FollowupID: 603087

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 16:27

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 16:27
Married to Jo,

I have no idea but I would say they are worth a few dollars, I wouldn't expect change out of a few hundred $$ at least

Cheers Stir Kev

FollowupID: 603088

Follow Up By: Member - 1/2A - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 16:34

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 16:34
I have the same hitch on my camper(AT35) and found it very easy to hook up compared to my previous camper.
FollowupID: 603090

Reply By: Sixtys Guy - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 16:39

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 16:39
I have a Treg on my Jayco Hawk. It is a bugger to line up with the vehicle and because of the weight of the camper it isn't that easy to move it. I have just bought a Hyland hitch to replace it.

Having said all that I wouldn't hesitate using a Treg on a lighter weight camper trailer.
AnswerID: 335387

Follow Up By: Member - Kingsley N (SA) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 17:22

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 17:22
I agree my friend of the sixtys,
We have a Treg on the Coromal Camper and it has always been a bugger to hitch up, especially on a slope where the vehicle tends to move afetr you reckon you have got it right. The solution is to have the jockey wheel on a hard surface (a piece of wood about 30cm square is good). Then it is just a matter of getting it lined up fore and aft (wifey guides me to this point using the radio) and chock the vehicle so it can't move away. Next get out of the vehicle and rock the van from side to side until the pin can slip in. We seem to have perfected this technique now. Sometimes it needs a bit of force. Having gloves on and a bit of WD40 on the pin helps too!

Kingo
FollowupID: 603093

Reply By: LOUNGE GECKO - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 17:59

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 17:59
been using treg on my last two cavalier campers, found them fantastic for the uneven going and wash outs. even used them on all our gear when fencing in south east S.A. and vineyards on the wire trailers and found they towed straighter in the boggey stuff. Agree they would be a bugger to hitch on a heaver trailer or van, the idea of the ADF style coupling would be the way to go. I am ex armoured corps and have never seen one fail yet but can be a bit "jumpy" so make sure van is well packed.
AnswerID: 335392

Reply By: Member - Niss42 - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:40

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:40
G'day Mark,
I have just listed an AT35 Off Road Coupling in the Trader Section under "accessories".
Barry.
AnswerID: 335405

Reply By: Dave... Adelaide (SA) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 21:38

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 21:38
G'day Mark

Have a look at these mate...good value i reckon

Trailer coupling
AnswerID: 335430

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 01:12

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 01:12
Yep!
Been using one for eight years, You will fold your trailer over the top of your vehicle or jacknife them together before you run out of travel.

FollowupID: 603173

Follow Up By: MartyB - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 09:35

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 09:35
I have one that is similar to these on my camper trailer, I think it is an ORAC brand.
Works well when connected, has plenty of movement in all directions. Can be a bit of a pain to line up until you are used to it.
Main disadvantage is the part that stays on your car, very easy to drag when off roading without the trailer. So I remove the tongue when I remove the trailer.

Marty.
FollowupID: 603183

Reply By: Kiwi & Grenade - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 21:46

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 21:46
Barbie,
we got the one that the big pin goes in and the thing swivels around like they do, you know what I mean!
i thought they were all the same!!LOL!!
AnswerID: 335432

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 22:36

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 22:36
I have been using a Treg for the past 12 years on my Trak Shak and it is great. I do not have any issues lining it up and find it no more difficult than a ball.

Sir Kev & Darkie's link to the information on the various couplings suggests that the Treg is limited to 23 degrees either side of the horizontal and that is technically true. In reality the only thing that stops it going further is a small piece of neoprene. This does not limit the articulation of the hitch in any way.Mine has frequently been well beyond the specified 23 degrees with no problems.

Can't comment on the other couplings but one of the really nice things about the Treg is that it is so quiet. When you are crawling along a rough rocky track with the trailer continually pushing and pulling at the tow vehicle the lack of rattles is much appreciated.

AnswerID: 335443

Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 23:43

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 23:43
gday all

cheers for the replies.........now to make a decision,hhmmm !!
AnswerID: 335451

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 17:18

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 17:18
Hi Mark,

I had a Treg coupling on my Trak Shak camper for four years. It was very difficult to hook up unless it was on a flat surface and you could move the trailer.

I now have a 16' Bushtracker van with an AT35 hitch from Vehicle Components P/L. Even though the van is twice as awkward to move around it is still easier to hook up this outfit, than the camper with the Treg.

I have heard the Hyland hitch is very good and the best bet, if you are merely going on bush tracks as opposed to "off-road".

Willie.
AnswerID: 335545

Follow Up By: Harry - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 22:50

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 22:50
Your dead right Willie, I've used a Treg on my small 6x4 for yonks and it can be a hassle lining up, but being a light trailer it moves ok to fit the pin.
New camper came with a Trigg and being a heavier rig it needs careful alignment to fit the pin (reversing camera helps)
Took it off after rubber block started chipping and brass sleeve loosened up. Didn't need that sort of problem doing the GRR last Sept.
Replacement was the Hyland hitch and it is very forgiving if you haven't lined up properly as it will slide onto the ball no problem.
The Trigg and Tregg not so forgiving.
No rattles, no nothing to comment about, it's a damn good hitch and has far more articulation then most.
The best bit was , it used the same bolt holes.(obviously a standard )
Happy camper
FollowupID: 603309

Reply By: wendys - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 17:37

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 17:37
Have treg coupling on Trakmaster van, which is not light. Do not usually have problems hitching up - himself does the backing, I guide same and stick the pin through the holes. Sometimes I have to push or pull van to side and inch or so if his backing is not spot on - but van generally moves easily enough. Only time we can have an issue is at home, where we are backing uphill, so van and vehicle are not level in relation to each other, but have learned to manage that reasonably well.
AnswerID: 335547

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 08:34

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 08:34
I had an AT 35 on my camper trailer. Once you get used to it, it is pretty easy to use. Keep the pin clean and dry is the best bet.

On my Kedron van, I now have a Hyland Coupling. I find it to be even easier to use. Pretty much the same as hooking up a standard ball couplinig. The other benefit is I don't have to carry two couplings and change over to a 50mm ball for the fold up boat trailer. Van and boat trailer both fit the same ball.

Norm C
AnswerID: 335641

Reply By: strick - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 13:28

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 13:28
Only problem with the Hyland is you need a higher tow ball than standard to allow sufficient articulation. I have an AT35 with my 1 tonne camper and have no problems
AnswerID: 336033