Home cryovac / <span class="highlight">vacuum</span> sealer

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 02:48
ThreadID: 63554 Views:9069 Replies:11 FollowUps:10
Not sure if it is a bargain or not, or how shoddy the quality may be .... but i thought someone may be interested for a xmas present, etc. $80 + $13/$14 shipping seems ok anyway. Let me know if you get one, but don't blame me if it turns out to be rubbish.

Oh yeah, the link will probrably not work after mid day today, it will be some other product.

www.catchoftheday.com.au

This is their spiel:

RRP$199. State of the Art Preservation System

Backed by a full 12 Month Warranty

Includes 18 precut Vacuum Bags.

I've always been fascinated as to how grocers and supermarket keep cold meats, salmon and the like fresh for so long. With the Vacuum Sealer Pro, you can achieve the same incredible long lasting freshness, from your own home. This powerful device is capable of creating a commercial quality vacuum - perfectly sealing the bag contents. Oxygen and moisture in the air cause foods to degrade over time and lose flavour, texture and nutritional value. Not anymore, thanks to the vacuum sealer you save money, save freshness, prevent freezer burn and preserve flavour!

-Keeps food fresher & longer
-Simple to operate - 3 easy steps will have a bag sealed in seconds!
-Reseal food stuff tightly after consumption thus avoiding wastage
-Ideal for hygiene, fresher meals & health
-Keeps food fresh for up to three times longer than other storage methods
-Protect valuable items such as photos, documents, stamp collections and silver from tarnishing and oxidation
-Great for fruit, vegetables, meat, cheese - anything!
-Eliminates freezer burn on frozen items - extra long freezer life!
-Dishwasher safe
-110 watt power seal
-Compact design & light weight
-Easy to operate, with mechanical locking system, hands free sealing operation
-Slant vacuuming interface, positive seat for filled bags
-Easy cleaning, with removable vacuuming interface
-Cord storage facility beneath unit

Wazza.

Reply By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 04:45

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 04:45
Wazza

I have no doubts, that it's a bargain. SWMBO got one from the local Aldi store, a while back, and as yet has not fired it up. I keep telling her to give it a go, and will check out the results. Price, not sure at the moment, but was about that price, under $100.

From what I have been told, it's not the machine, you have to worry about, but the quality of bags. They have to be able to hold the vacuum.

Just my 2 bob's worth

AnswerID: 335460

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 18:31

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 18:31
Yep - same machine that Sunbeam have for $299 !!!

Nothing wrong with the Aldi bags - seem to be identical for the Sunbeam ones - for half the price.

FollowupID: 603256

Reply By: Peter 2 - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 07:59

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 07:59
We bought the smaller (10" ) Sunbeam one which works really well.
We tend to use the genuine bags as they are very thick and won't rub through.
Well we haven't had one rub through yet even on a Madigan crossing.
As long as it can pull a good vacuum and seal the bag well any vac sealer should be ok.
AnswerID: 335469

Reply By: rossco - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 08:49

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 08:49
We bought one and it works a treat. Great for sealing all your food for camping and also at home.
AnswerID: 335474

Reply By: SPRINT-GTO - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 11:13

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 11:13
Would worry about the "110 watt power seal" as indicated in ad??
Is the appliance 110w ??
AnswerID: 335492

Follow Up By: Wazza - (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 11:55

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 11:55
Why would that be a problem then ?
FollowupID: 603202

Follow Up By: Member - John W (WA) - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 12:34

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 12:34
Do you think he means 110V ?
I dont think 110W is high
FollowupID: 603207

Follow Up By: Wazza - (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 12:53

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 12:53
Yeah I am sure he meant 110v, I was just fishing.
FollowupID: 603209

Follow Up By: SPRINT-GTO - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 18:00

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 18:00
Yeah my blue --I did mean volts not watts --sorry ----I will now go and stand in the corner.
FollowupID: 603248

Reply By: That Troopy Bloke (SA) - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 12:35

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 12:35
The same thing is also available at Deals Direct every day.
$79.95 + $9.95 shipping.

No affiliation etc.

Glenn
AnswerID: 335506

Reply By: Skippype - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 12:36

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 12:36
Damm it... I just went there for a look and ended up buying a dozen bottles of red...................
Skip
AnswerID: 335507

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 12:58

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 12:58
I ordered one yesterday. CATCHOFTHEDAY is addictive. Bought my eeePC and some wine in the past from them.

AnswerID: 335509

Reply By: Sue & Clint - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 13:43

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 13:43
I bought one of these vacuum sealers a few months ago for the same price - roundabout. The only problem I have had with it is it cuts off before all the air is out. Things like mince (which is probably hard to do anyway) and sausages I found it would cut off vacuuming and seal straight away but there was a bit of air left in there. It would be good to have an option for manual vacuuming then seal when you are ready. It does have the option to just seal. Haven't tried it with vegies yet. But I am open to tips on how to use it more effectively.
AnswerID: 335515

Follow Up By: Sue & Clint - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 13:49

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 13:49
I just bought the bloody wine too!!
FollowupID: 603215

Follow Up By: howie - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 16:53

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 16:53
i found that you must leave space around the food for the machine to suck the air out.
this means not putting too much in the bags sometimes.
with mince, i now ram it into the bottom corners by hand first, flatten it out and vacuum. works for me.

just opened a bag of spice which would last for 6 months.
put half in the jar and resealed the bag.(the bag it came in)
big lump of romano cheese from italian shop, grated half into jar, sealed the rest for next month.
FollowupID: 603234

Reply By: Member - Niss42 - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 16:19

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 16:19
G'day Wazza.
In their spiel,
" Reseal food stuff tightly after consumption thus avoiding wastage"

WHAT THE ! I don't think so.

Barry
AnswerID: 335533

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 23:44

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 23:44
That'd be taking recycling to the extreme!

FollowupID: 603317

Reply By: Holden4th - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 19:26

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 19:26
I had the Aldi which worked really well until the heat bar on the sealing unit went west. I really liked it but they didn't have another one so I got a refund.

So with the refund I bought a "Seal A Meal" from the Danoz store here on the GC. It's working well and has done nearly 100 seals for me.

The beauty of this sort of device is it gives you some leeway as to how you use your car fridge. In fact, it makes an esky look like a good option again. Seal the food, freeze it for at least a month, keep it cold (let it thaw) and provided your fridge/esky is cold enough the food is going to last. No more blood in the esky/fridge.

I see this as ideal with an Evakool.

I'm heading to Tassie in 3 weeks and taking the vac sealer with me.
AnswerID: 335572

Reply By: noelvac - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 21:18

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 21:18
If you go to www.thepackagingcentre.com.au , they have vacuum sealers for $99 which use all types of bags. they have heaps of sizes and styles. Even bags with Ziplocks which standup. The plain bags are a 3rd of the price of the sunbeam, eurolab etc.. worth a look. I purchased one about 1 month ago, works awesome. THis one has a nozzle which allows it to work with all type of bags of their site. It came with 50 bags too.
AnswerID: 335768

Follow Up By: noelvac - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 21:21

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 21:21
here is the link:

http://www.thepackagingcentre.com.au
FollowupID: 603448

Follow Up By: Rod W - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 10:39

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 10:39
Bugger you noelvac (LoL)... I just ordered one
FollowupID: 603686