2005 Toyota HZJ105R turbo questions

Submitted: Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 16:05
ThreadID: 63593 Views:7519 Replies:6 FollowUps:1
gday

my rig has done 150,000kms thinking of getting turbo for it, i have read on other threads not to mess about 1hz engines and turbo. given the ks it would be able to handle a denco turbo system surely?

any feedback appreicated cheers

Reply By: Flywest - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 16:51

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 16:51
Depends

Generally naturally aspirated diesels aren't built to take the added pressures and temps of turbo charging.

The heat can melt normal piston crowns as but one example.

OK - so you can buy replacement pistons with ceramic coated crowns - that might help - but probably you won't have 4 bolt mains eiither.

Lots of purpose built turbo engines have a under piston crown oil squirter - thats designed to transfer the heat from the piston crown to the oil - to be shed in an external oil cooler.....the naturally aspirated engine probably won't have those.

Theres a lot of good reasons not to add an after market kit but to instead BUY a turboed factory engine and be done with it.

The last thing you want to do is make the vehicle unreliable with poorly designed aftermarket add ons. * see note below about the context of 'poorly designed' - mentioned here.

Heck these days with electronically controlled diesel injectors - the damn stock standard vehicles can be unreliable enough without messing with them.

If you only have 150,000 km's on the engine then maybe you can sell it for a good whack to someone whos got one long in the tooth and needs a reliable replacement -and put the cash towards a 4.2 liter 24 valve factory turbo cruiser engine from a wrecker and drop one in?

That would be the path I would personally head down if reliability away from the ciity was the aim.

Even if you have to buy a large KM factory turbo engine and have it fully rebuilt with turbo ohaul and pump injectors, rings and bearings etc done - then at least you know where you are starting from in the reliability stakes.

Thats just my opinion tho - plenty of people have added after market turbo's and got away with it because they don't push the EGT's and boost levels...

* When i say above "poorly designed" - I don't mean the after market turbo kits - I mean - that unless the engines upgraded as well with oil squirters under the piston and ceramic topped pistons to cope with the additional heat and 4 bolt mains cranks to take the added stress etc..is what i am getting at- just adding an after market turbo kit doesn't instantly alter the engine design to cope with the added temps and pressures & loads and stresses.

I wouldn't consider a after market turbo if I didn't have EGT & boost gauges! (Oil temp as well) at a MINIMUM.

I wouldn't be winding up the boost pressures for more go eithger and I'd be trying as hard as heck NOT to keep my right foot buried in the accellerator or you WILL end uppaying for it one way or another.

If it's the more modern electronically controlled engine I also wouldn't be adding the available chips with the after market turbo either.

Likewise i wouldn;t go adding the diesel gas LPG conversions to the non factory turboed engine!

Frankly I reckon it's a bad idea if you havent gathered that from my response already!

I also wouldn't buy second hand a non factory turbo model so you may harm your resale value on a brand that usually holds it's price well.

Others who have converted and got away with it will likely disagree with me - it's horses for courses.

If you do add the after market turbo - I'd be installing a inter cooler and external after market oil cooler as well.

Cheers!
AnswerID: 335708

Follow Up By: qubert - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 22:37

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 22:37
most diesels have oil squirters
FollowupID: 603474

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy (Bororen) - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 17:20

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 17:20
Mate there are plenty of 1HZ motors running aftermarket turbos pulling big loads. My dad's for example, Denco system with glycol intercooler, no extra gauges and has been pulling a 3.5 ton caravan for the last 16 months.
No probs but it was set up properly ie, pump, valve clearances, injectors. Not just bolted on and sent out the door.

He has it in writing from toyota that the motor is still covered under warranty with it on as well. That says alot for the product.

2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 335715

Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 17:33

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 17:33
I had a Safari turbo kit installed by Bunbury Fuel Injection and it was a kit designed for my particular model engine....professionally installed and they "set the fire" regarding the fuel/boost/etc...came with warranty and good after sales service....and the difference in performance has been very good BUT I lost a bit on the consumption side but I see that as a trade off for the extra power and performance.
AnswerID: 335721

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 19:08

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 19:08
150000kms isnt that much if its had a good service history.Get the pump and injectors rebuilt, check valve clearances, maybe a comp. test.Does it use oil between sevices.
Ive just put a DTS turbo and I/C on our HZJ105, boy what a differance.I have a EGT (fit one for sure)gauge fitted and drive by this, temp gets up to high, I back off.I set it up for 10psi boost and max EGT's of 500deg.
Sure they may not be purpose built for a turbo but there are millions of vehicles out there in the same position still going strong.
One other thing, to get the best out of the turbo, fit a free flowing exhaust, I have 2 1/2,some go for 3", some say 3" is too big.Oh yeah, you will soon need to replace your std clutch after fitting the turbo.
AnswerID: 335744

Reply By: D200Dug- Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 22:16

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 22:16
I have been looking at the same idea and have been told get a good one fitted by a reputable mechanic. run it on a low boost and don't expect a race car performance from it and everything should be OK.
AnswerID: 335790

Reply By: Member - Stephen (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 22:59

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 22:59
I've had a Safari system on my 1HZ for the past 6 years and it's never missed a beat.

It was installed and set up by a mob in Melbourne (name escapes me now) who ar Safari agents. They gave it a conservative "tune" to maximise engine life.

I reckon after 100,000 k's however the clutch may be a bit under done as it's shuddering more than it used to.

Stephen J.
VKS737 - Mobile 2735

AnswerID: 335983