Fuel Prices, consider this, it's not expensive

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 21:24
ThreadID: 63639 Views:3741 Replies:13 FollowUps:23

Related Pages

I well recall paying 40 cents per litre for Petrol in Janauary 1982.

Some 26 years on we are paying $1.10. Given average inflation of 5%, it should be around $1.50, as it was a month or two back when everyone was screaming.

I can remember when a Potato Cake was 2 cents in 1970 and Petrol was 9 cents/litre (40 cents a gallon in those days). Spud cakes (Spud Scallops in some states) are now 80 cents each. Based on that Petrol should be $3.60 a Litre.

A piece of flake was 20 cents in 1973, Petrol was 12 cents a itre.. Now $4.50 to $5. Based on that Petrol should be $3 a litre.

Fuel is a very cheap commodity for what it does.

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 21:41

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 21:41
Jim,
Whitegoods, Appliances and cars are much cheaper 30 years on. Its no wonder we need two incomes to support a family. In years gone by most families had either none or one car and when the engine finally failed, we would replace the engine, Not now,
( unless you have a patrol 3litre). The gadgets and stuff kids have now is unbelievable. Lots of families did not have a home phone, including mine, now we have the internet, landline, Tv in most rooms, everyone in the family over 12 has a mobile.. It goes on and on.. MP3 players, PSP's, its hard to complain about the price of fuel when you consider all the non essentianl crap we all have.. Michael
AnswerID: 335974

Follow Up By: Rock Ape - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 10:08

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 10:08
Mick,

You nailed it. Once you had a barbie on an old plow disc or the bonnet of an old car, now you can use your barbie to cook for a 5 star hotel.

Have a good one
FollowupID: 603677

Follow Up By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 10:35

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 10:35
Yeap, that's it. It's Crap!
With three kids under11, we hear it all the time. So & so has this, a mobile phone, a tv in her room, she is always buying new clothes, why can't I. Jo Blogs has a mini bike.
My answer is; There is only one kid in their family, or he only has one sister or brother. Both their parents work full time, they go to their Grand parents place after school each day because their mum is working.

Than I ask my three, Does so & so have a horse each, do they have a swimming pool that their father built for them, do they have two acres in town to ride their horses on. do they have their own Vegi Garden? Does so & so go camping and see all the wonderful things that you guys see? Answer,No, they sit at home playing their Sony playstations,Then I ask, but who has the most Fun? Who has the best stories at show N tell?
And all three smile.

And that's what it is Micheal, It's Crap that they own.
FollowupID: 603684

Follow Up By: Tippa - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 18:41

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 18:41
My parents at my age bought a house and land package for $15,000 which was a years pay.
We now have to pay $500,000 for a similar property which is TEN years pay.
I'd rather have $3/L fuel i think...
FollowupID: 603779

Follow Up By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 19:26

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 19:26
Tippa,
That's a fair enough call. about the difference between when your parents bought, to what you have had to pay now. I don't think I would be able to buy into the market now, no matter where atm.
I would hate to think what my kids are going to have to pay for land & house in another 15 odd years time.
Hopefully the decisions I made 10 years ago, will help them then.

Having said that, I don't what to pay $3/L for my diesel.
FollowupID: 603790

Follow Up By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 19:31

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 19:31
Just want to apologize for spelling your name wrong Michael.
In the reply to you.
Sorry,

FollowupID: 603792

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 22:45

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 22:45
Utilities and rates ?
Council rates have sky-rocketed.
How much was a stamp in 1982 ?
The tax free threshold was almost the same !
Although we had sales taxes, we didn't have to pay GST if we called a plumber or electrician.
In 1982 we could actually afford their hourly rates !
There weren't many "free ways", but traffic wasn't as bad. The idea of paying to drive on a road was ridiculous in 1982.
Govt services were, on the whole, free if you needed them. No user pays.
The price of diesel was around 37c a litre, but most of us paid cash. Very few people had any credit cards except, perhaps for a Bankcard. There weren't many ATM's around, certainly not in country areas. Nobody would dream of paying both a fee to both deposit and withdraw their own money.
In 1982 we paid to get the water connected, we didn't pay extra to drinkl it. I remember it was included in the council rates.
BUT things weren't all that different.
If you could make a dollar and minimize your taxes, then you were probably doing well in 1982 and either couldn't see why others weren't doing the same, or didn't care.
So what's changed ?

AnswerID: 335981

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 23:07

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 23:07
Not having a go at anyone here, just trying to balance things out.
"Expensive" depends upon your disposable income.
If you're a well remunerated CEO then a little thing like fuel probably won't seem expensive to you.
A pensioner on a fixed income might have a different idea.
FollowupID: 603647

Follow Up By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 07:56

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 07:56
So what's changed ?

Footy,
It's a long ride from the Womb to the Tomb, it just seems to be a lot more expensive these days.
Seem to have my hand in my pocket a lot more these days. Especially with three kids. Excursions, Sports days, Mufti day donations, School does not provide a bus, so the Parents drive them 'Always seems to be the same ones helping'.

1985, 19, Single, renting, Friday pay day. Yellow envelope with $325 cach, the tax was already taken out, Drive the old Fairlane to the servo, fill up, Packet of Wini Blues, pay my A/C, go for a quick surf.
Go make myself comfortable at the bar at the local and settle in for Friday arvo happy hour. Get Pizza, listen to the band, go home rollin drunk at 10 pm. Hadn't spent $60 out of my pay yet.
Pay rent, Food for the week, a couple beers through the week, Spend some money on the car/clothes, the girlfriend, And I could bank near $50 a week.

So what's changed ?

Kids are more expensive Footy.
IMO
FollowupID: 603662

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 12:02

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 12:02
Yes Footloose .... theres a big difference between the airy fairy, statistical , average wage ... and the average wage the average worker gets.

Value for dollar, Hairs ... thats what changed. Prices and wages have gone up but the buying power of your dollar is much reduced.

Have a 3rd generation boilermaker spending the same percentage of his income on public school costs as what my parents spent on me for boarding school.
FollowupID: 603699

Follow Up By: troopyman - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 12:15

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 12:15
Mufti day donations . Its a gold coin donation isnt it ?
FollowupID: 603701

Follow Up By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 12:52

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 12:52
Troopyman, Yes it is a Gold coin donation, it was used as an example, Three kids x $1 or $2 = $3 or $6 a throw, now it's not just once or twice a year, it's every term and they have other donations asks through out each term as well.
We also send cooking twice a term for the canteen which can cost some $10 each time.
P & C run a few things through the year as well, which they ask for Donations of goods or the Cooking of cakes,etc for other fundraising events that the State government has come up short of funding.

Our life style makes up for more than enough in the short fall of wages.
We get by. But we have to watch were each and every cent goes.
FollowupID: 603704

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 13:41

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 13:41
Edu ma cation costs at public schools are still reasonable....if you compare them to the cost of putting your 3 children through the Private School system.
Here's the rub. You are actually paying for the kids education TWICE. Once out of your pockets and once out of your taxes to help fund the Private school system. You have NO choice in the matter. The Govt taketh and the Govt bestows.
AFAIK In some parts of the US you can decide where your education taxes go, to the private or state systems.
Now I have Private Health Insurance, always have had. Keeps me broke, but I CHOSE to have the increasing payments and HUGE Gap payments necessary. That's a personal choice.
But you and I have very little say on where our education taxes are spent.
We are also paying for Federal and state education departments. A huge duplication and waste of taxpayers money.

Is fuel expensive ? I believe that for many Australians it is.
But according to some here, it's probably too cheap. (G'Day Landy)
How can I have it so wrong ?
Even the Federal Opposition appears to think that fuel is too expensive !
Why is fuel cost such a sensitive matter?
Perhaps because the "average Australian has never been better off "
Now where have I heard that before ?

FollowupID: 603708

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 14:26

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 14:26
Agreed Footloose ... the cost of private schooling is outlandish today .... I was referring to the percentage of the pay packet allocated though ... not the actual dollars.

The percentage of a paypacket needed to purchase items today is what has increased - not just the prices and wages.

In regard to funding for private schools ... It is much less than the cost of accommodating those students in public schools ... thats why its done.

a). Closed rural schools would have to be reopened / rebuilt / restaffed and transport provided.

b). Existing schools would have to be expanded in terms of land, buildings, facilities and staff.

Its actually a cost cutting exercise. Lets the Govt spend money on the important things like higher public service wages and retirement benefits.
FollowupID: 603713

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 14:44

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 14:44
Hi Footy

In context, a reasonable argument could be made for it. But I was always going to be lead off for a bollicking for making the comment...

I'll defend the argument though....
FollowupID: 603716

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 15:35

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 15:35
Hi Oz Troopy, I have to disagree that State Aid is cheaper than Public Education. I could start talking about unit comparison costs and the history of state aid etc but it would be too far off topic and boring to many.
But in saying that I note that some parents re pulling their kids out of the private system and back into state schools. This has caused a reduction in funding etc in some private schools, but little if any expansion in public school facilities. State Govts are reluctant to spend money on public education. (even if much of it is tied funds from the Commonwealth).
Anyway...
Landy, maybe you're correct. But in a country that breathes fuel consumption for it's very existence, perhaps the logic and economics of the situation might be tempered with some sort of national interest.
Where are our national reserves, for example?
Why aren't we world leaders in the usage of alternative power sources?
How much have we sunk into developing vehicles that don't rely on fossil fuels ?
I would argue that lack of large scale funding of such things have shown a philosophical basis for policy direction that has been largely
at odds with the Average Australians intelligence for some time.

To put it bluntly, the previous Bogans in the Govt have treated the rest of us as Bogans. What was that policy again ? A cash cow at every fuel bowser ?
Will the current mob do any better ?
I am waiting to hear some hapless Minister talking about "broadening the tax base" (getting a bigger hand in your pocket).

At this stage I reckon that the jury is still out.

FollowupID: 603729

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 16:15

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 16:15
Hi Footy…….

Overwhelming everyone will welcome a lower fuel price, but one downside is that at $1.00 per litre and below the development of alternative fuel sources will be shelved and the quest for fuel efficient cars will diminish. We have seen this in the past, most notably in the 1980/1990s.

And as evidence; you need look no further than Brazil, the world’s top ethanol exporter, to see the impact a lower oil price is having the expansion of ethanol as an alternative fuel. Investment has slowed dramatically in recent times.

That is the problem with oil (refined petroleum products); a lower price will equal greater consumption of what is a finite resource; eventually there will be a supply/demand imbalance leading to a massive change in the price structure of oil.

This is a separate issue to the usual cry that we are paying too much for petroleum products mind you, but it becomes a ‘circular argument’ eventually.
FollowupID: 603739

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 23:13

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 23:13
I had recently acquired copies of 'The West Australian' for the month of September dated 1963, was a fantastic read but the thing that amazed me so much was that a lot of what worries us today (including the price of fuel) was the same back then, shortage of water, who was migrating and how they were not intermingling, drought, politicians, etc, etc.

Nothing seems to change really.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 335986

Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 23:37

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 23:37
I have refrained from commenting on these fuel price threads, because we have to pay what we have to pay, but ...... what really irks me is when I see unleaded at 1.17.9 & diesel at 1.44.9!

That would be like seeing Flake at $4.50 & European Carp at $6.00!
AnswerID: 335987

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 00:19

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 00:19
Jim

Fuel is cheap, try paying someone to push your vehicle around

AnswerID: 335991

Reply By: Peter 2 - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 06:08

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 06:08
For everyones complaining about the cost of fuel etc, I often wonder what the percentage of travellers are that are totally paying for the vehicle (purchase and running costs) and the fuel they use on the trips.
I know plenty of people that the vehicle is a business vehicle and fuel is covered by the business regardless of whether it is on holidays or being used for work.
I've even met people permanently on the wallaby in their Denning tourist coach turned into motorhome with all the vehicle cost being borne by the business.
Anyone that has worked all their lives as PAYG taxpayer or are on self funded retirement or age pension are the ones that pay for their travelling expenses.
AnswerID: 335996

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 10:07

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 10:07
. . or how many don't care that Diesel is so much dearer than petrol because they can get the Govt Diesel Subsidy.
FollowupID: 603676

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 08:04

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 08:04
Expensive or cheap is NOT the problem with the price of fuel , the problem is the price fluctuation that occurs for no reason other than GREED.
AnswerID: 335999

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 08:38

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 08:38
Of course, there is always the alternative that will fix the 'greed' problem. State run enterprises, similar to the China and Russian models. Mind you wouldn't need to worry about the price of diesel under such a model - you most likely wouldn't own a four-wheel drive or enjoy the freedom to travel as you please.

Be careful of what you wish for, the price fluctuations could easily be ironed out at the retail level by removing the marketing discounts applied to ULP - then you'd pay full price everyday. How would that be a better outcome?

ULP, diesel, and oil are all freely traded commodities if they weren't you most likely would not be able to pull up at a service station as and when you pleased to fill up your vehicle.

The arguments you are using are at a very high level and pose the question of whether we want a free and open economy or we want a closed one like Russia and China. The greed issue isn't limited to oil/fuel.

But what are your practical and workable solutions. Not winding you up here as I am open to understanding other views......

Cheers.....The Landy
FollowupID: 603664

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 12:33

Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 12:33
Landy , seems here we go again , give it a rest , not communist or a closed economy , just a statement of fact that fuel is the ONLY commodity with a wholesale and retail price variation on a daily often hourly basis ,,, as I put forth in a previous thread try to do the same with milk or bread and see what would happen ,, no one would stand for it so why should we allow fuel to do as it does , personally I coundnt care less if fuel costs me .60c per lt or $2.60 per lt as long as was a CONSISTANT price.
FollowupID: 603882

Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 13:03

Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 13:03
Axel

Just responding to the issues you raise. I trade currencies for a living and they go up and down all day long. Go to the fruit markets, you’ll find that fruit and vegetable prices go up and down, day in, day out.

As usual the fuel issue is raised, people vent their anger and say they are being ripped off, but ask them to quantify it and they can’t. If you can’t put some numbers behind the argument, how do you know if you are being ripped off? Give some quantifiable answers that doesn’t suit the arguments of the masses and you’ll be shouted down; doesn’t change the reality…

I’m happy to leave it there, but more than happy to supply you with factual information anytime if you want it.

Landy
FollowupID: 603885

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 17:35

Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 17:35
Landy , for some odd reason you cant get the gist of the problem that yoyo fuel priceing creates ,, as you say fruit and veg prices go up and go down , but nowwhere does milk or any other staple vary from $50 per unit of measure to $150 per unit of measure in a period of 2-3 mths or less on a basis like oil does ,, do some sums , by rights oil is now 2/3ds cheaper that 2mths ago , ergo the price at retail level should be 2/3rds less ,, go on all you like about currency fluctuations , that is another whole story ,, the powers that be can "print "all the currency they like ever since the gold standard flew out the window ,,,, no more....
FollowupID: 603926

Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 20:37

Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 20:37
I understand fully what you are saying, but what remedy do you propose as currently it is freely traded and the market determines the price.

Mind you milk doesn't turn the wheels of industry, and its demand is not in the same league as oil. Perhaps that is why you don't get the fluctuations.

However, your argument that oil is 2/3rd lower so therefore retail fuel prices should be 2/3rds lower is totally flawed (if you do the sums!). The currency has lost 30% during the same period for a start, and there are other pricing components that change and have an influence on the price of a barrel of crude being converted into petroleum products.

Other people can argue the merits of changing the way oil is traded. But I do recommend that you look further into how petroleum products are priced...

Perhaps we should leave it at this point, I've highlighted the issues and you, rightly so, have expressed concerns over the way oil is traded and the impact price fluctuations have on our daily lives.

Good luck, and if you're out and about I'd be happy to buy you a beer!

Landy
FollowupID: 603959

Reply By:- Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 09:14

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 09:14
mm..... Price of fuel must have dropped since I recently filled up as it wasn't a $1.10 per litre. Anyway regardless of whatever the current price of fuel, I'm sure the oil producers aren't selling their product at a loss!. Or have I got it wrong and you can sell your product at a loss and make money?

Doesn't it really mean that if fuel hasn't gone up much in price per litre over the years since 1982 as compared to other goods, then they must have been making a hell of a profit back in 1982 at 40 cents per litre??

Would that explain why it seems that petrol hasn't gone up in price as compared to other goods!. It just means that we being even more ripped off at paying 40 cents per litre back in 1982!
AnswerID: 336007

Reply By: OzTroopy - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 11:14

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 11:14
Thers no such thing as gravity,

The world sucks...................

Sorry .... couldnt help myself ... started thinking about value for dollar purchasing today, compared to twenty years ago.

AnswerID: 336020

Reply By: troopyman - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 12:11

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 12:11
We are being ripped off . Ripoff , Ripoff , Ripoff .
AnswerID: 336026

Reply By: Steve - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 13:29

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 13:29
5%?????? That's a pretty generous annual increase

besides, we were paying over $1.50 a few weeks back
AnswerID: 336034

Reply By: Ron173 - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 13:38

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 13:38
Quote "it should be around $1.50, as it was a month or two back when everyone was screaming. "

I'm still paying $1.50, so still screaming..ok
AnswerID: 336036

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 14:36

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 14:36
The Newell Hwy is not the best travel route at the moment if you want fuel less than $1.50. Cant wait for those tankers full of cheaper fuel to get here .... pffft.
FollowupID: 603715

Reply By: Cram - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 20:38

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 20:38
A very interesting topic and some equally interesting posts.

I was thinking about some of the posts and agree with the fact that we now have more and try to maintain more then we did even 5 years ago.

Some things have gone down and some have gone up well beyond what we should expect.

For me essentials have now risen to extraordinary proportions. Food, particulary meat and veg are at ridicolous prices.

Despite the essence that fuel is cheap when we compare other price increases the fact remains that it is a commodity that is being manipulated by the oil companies.

At the height of the fuel price increase there was little difference in the cost of fuel between Newcastle and Sydney.

Today I was in Sydney and unleaded fuel was nearly 10cents a litre cheaper in Sydney then Newcastle. I also noticed that some servos in Sydney were selling fuel for up to 15 cents a litre dearer then others....so go figure.

The anology that fuel is cheap given other increases does little to reconcile the fact that essentials overall are more expensive and that is where the problem lies for most of us....
AnswerID: 336122

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 05:34

Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 05:34
Hi Cram,

I agree with you. Also as others have said it seems to be the percentage of income needed to get by is a lot higher, even when we forget the non-essential things like flat screen tv and ipods etc. Other things have become essential like internet access, website, mobile phone.... how can you survive in the business world these days without these things? Two vehicles because we both work and have to pick up kids etc.
FollowupID: 603847