Warstar
When
camping out it would be usefull to be able to pump
water from a nearbye river or lake, to top up the tanks in the van or to wash down equipment.
Can anyone suggest a cheap type of pump for this purpose. I have a genny (Honda 20ui). Probably only need to draw say a meter to the pump and then pump
water say 30 meters (thru a garden hose seeing one travels with the van).
Cheap, small & light, would be ideal. Any suggestions?
Reply By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 19:18
Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 19:18
I just use my 12volt Primus Shower pump. $29 works a treat. Either that or a cheap bilge pump and hoses just as good. Cheers Tony
Reply By: Geoff M (QLD) - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 19:42
Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 19:42
If that's your only requirement, then a Rule 360 (360 GPH) bilge pump would be ideal and can be sourced through just about any marine dealer for less than $25. It runs off 12 VDC.
If you want to put it through a filter (highly recommended), then a 800 GPH model will be required at around $50.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 19:57
Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 19:57
Have you used one for this purpose?
I've been disappointed with the 450GPH bilge pump I bought for a shower. I think they are a high volume / low pressure pump and really struggle against a head of pressure. The cheapy $20 shower works better.
Follow Up By: Geoff M (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 06:55
Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 06:55
Yes Phil, I have/do.
I used to carry a Rule 360 as a bilge for the tinnie and tried it out at home as a filler for the CT, but found that when I added my BEST in-line filter, it slowed to a trickle. Tried a Rule 800 and it worked a treat. Now only carry the 800 for both purposes.
I don't know what the max head lift is, but I've pumped out of a
billabong in Lakefield NP through 12 M of 1/2 " hose, the filter and up about 4 M and it took about 30 minutes to pump 140 L.
Most times I try to fill at a crossing with moving
water.
Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 19:57
Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 19:57
Yep, I use a Rule bilge pump too.
Reply By: Top End Explorer Tours - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 20:24
Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 20:24
Whale pumps
Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 22:31
Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 22:31
I have two of these and they are great.
Reply By: Member - 1/2A - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 20:36
Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 20:36
I also require some info on a pump, but often
camp alongside the Murray and need to lift the
water 3 meters I too have a Honda 20ui so an AC pump might be the answer, anybody with info would be appreciated.
Follow Up By: Hopper51 - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 09:34
Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 09:34
I bought one of these on eBay -
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/PKA-Auto-Inline-Hot-Cold-Pressure-Boosting-Water-Pump_W0QQitemZ260316318600QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_15?hash=item260316318600&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=66%3A2|65%3A1|39%3A1|240%3A1308
Works
well for me. I have also used it inline at a caravan
park where the pressure has been very poor. It is also good when you need to put
water into the caravan tanks from 20 litre containers. I went for a 240V pump because I always have 1 or 2 power leads on board and I can use it though an inverter. I haven't tried it yet with the generator.
Chris W
Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 20:41
Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 20:41
G'day Warstar,
I've got to admit I'm at a bit of a loss as to why you'd want to pump from a
creek or dam. You are certainly limited on the draw height from the
creek and most 12 volt pumps won't lift more than a few metres without being highly strained. The other thing is that you have no regulation over the muck that's being sucked up the hose unless your standing there holding it yourself.
I use a 20 litre white bucket (recycled plaster topping coat bucket) as a resevoir and just top that up with
water from 12 litre collapsable buckets. The reality is that you could top up most Van
water tanks with no more than 5-7 buckets of
water, which if you're filtering, takes a fair while to push through a .05 micron single or dual cannister system. You get a lot better
water quality if you pull it from the
water source yourself. I must confess that I'm not sure on the lifting qualities of bilge pumps but with most
camping situations, particularly with vans, you'll be quite a few metres from the
water (say 10 metres from...and one or two metres above
the pool level) meaning the pump has to suck it thru 12-14 metres of 12mm hose and lift it 2 or three metres (considering pump and van
water tank inlet height)
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 20:43
Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 20:43
Sorry there...hit the submit rather than the spell check lol! To finish off...
meaning you'll need a fairly powerful pump. Just my thoughts.
Mick
Reply By: Middle Jeff - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 21:16
Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 21:16
Hi Warstar
I have one of these
Johnson pump under the bonnet of my cruiser and it will lift 3 - 4 metres through 25ft of hose,sometimes I need to prime it with a bucket of
water and I have a one-way valve on the end.
I also have a big pond style filter on the end and a I also have part of a brick with a hole in it that I put the hose through to hold it in place.
The kids complain that the pressure is so high that it hurts so I have put a re stricture in it to slow it down.
Have fun
Craig
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 21:09
Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 21:09
Hi Craig, do they work that
well? I just bought the 13 litre a minute Johnson pump but i havent had time to fit it up yet. i have had a few $20 showers and two whale submersibles and they all have let me down when i needed the most.. Michael
Follow Up By: Middle Jeff - Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 16:04
Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 16:04
Hi Michael, sorry I only just saw your question. I realy like the set-up I have now, I use the Johnson filter and have it in the hose as close to the pump as possible and I have no other joins this reduces the chances of air leaks and means the pump will perform at it's best, I found the garden style filter just let in air. As I said I also have the one-way valve in the end of the hose this means once the hose is full it stays that way so you do not run the pump dry trying to prime it again, this prolongs the life of the pump. Like you I have a variety of pumps and finally just went for overkill and it worked.
Have fun
Craig
Reply By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 21:41
Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 21:41
pumping
water is the same as electricity..the longer the length and the smaller the diameter (cable or pipe) all create resistance and reduce flow..
water or amps all the same....bit if a hard ask to use a transfer pump (high volume low lift / pressure) to suck (head pressure + friction) and deliver (head pressure + friction)
I use my glind shower pump under the bonnet to draw
water up from a 20L plastic bucket and send through a BEST 0.5 micron inline filter and then into the tank under the cruiser or containers whatever............just top up the bucket from the
water source and you have control over the visual quality of the
water..the BEST does the safety issue thing
Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 21:44
Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 21:44
forgot to add that I also do this when filling from home before we go bush...because if you looked in my rain
water tank ( I dont) you probably would not drink it!...
but the kids and the rest of us have survived and grown up on it and probably given us a good imune system...but not prepared to get a dose of another set of bacteria from any other
water source....hence the BEST filter
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 22:02
Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 22:02
Yep that's exactly what I was trying to say. Must remember the proper reference terms. I use my twine shower pump to do exactly the same.
Mick
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 10:46
Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 10:46
G'day Mick O.....
Sorry for the off-topic...... but I just couldn't help noticing the 5 x 20 litre jerry cans on top of the roof rack. Man, that's quite a load (especially considering we can't see what is behind them)..... Do you check your roof gutters regularly?
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 12:18
Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 12:18
Howdy Roachie.
They're empty mate. They were sitting on the trailer but with all the drama's on the Giles-Mulga
Park Road prior to
Warburton, I had to reorganise the roof rack to store them. They were only filled twice on the trip and were emptied as soon as room became available in the tanks. No cracks and checked regularly.
Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 22:14
Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 22:14
Warstar, While i have seen caravanners topping up tanks from
water by using a bucket to collect and a 12 v pump same as in caravan with a fancy takes-everything-out filter, and i have heard of many others pumping from creeks etc to their tank, i prefer not to do this. Rather than put suspect
water into the caravan tanks, i use
water direct from the bucket when it is available and save the good stuff in the tanks for when it is not. If need be, it only takes around 8 to 10 buckets to fill a tank anyway.
Keeping
camping simple and fun
Reply By: bruce - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 10:05
Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 10:05
We use a 12v pressure pump ,20ah deep cycle battery and 400mah solar panel to keep the battery charged.
12-15ft of air hose in the river with a filter on the end...about 60ft of air hose to a tap.
turn tap on , switch pump on and
water flows , then turn tap off , the pump stops..when we need
water it just a matter of turning on the tap...the solar panel keeps the battery charged up easily. A 9 litre bucket takes about 2 minutes to fill. The pump and battery are housed in a wooden box and the solar panel sits on top pointed at the sun , do not have to go near it...cheers
Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 10:11
Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 10:11
Nice
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 18:18
Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 18:18
That's clever, I like your thinking there Bruce!
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Steve - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 16:36
Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 16:36
we usually carry drinking (and maybe cooking...depends on what we're cooking)
water in jerries and save the van tanks for showers/washing up etc. That way we don't have to be too fussy about emptying tanks/re-filling and flushing tanks betwen trips.
Anyone else do that?
Reply By: Warstar - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 18:11
Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 18:11
Thanks all, I reckon you covered the options.
Reply By: swampy460 - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 01:05
Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 01:05
How about one of these, not elecrtric but if you have to run a genny this I think would be better.
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/1-inch-Petrol-Water-Pump-0-9kw-7000-rpm-New_W0QQitemZ200275912488QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_15?hash=item200275912488&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=66%3A2%7C65%3A1%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318
Swampy
Reply By: Members - Bow & Nan - Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 15:02
Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 15:02
(1) Course Filter on 2mt of hose to drop into
creek.
(2) Flow jet automatic
water pump 12 volt dc, 7 amps max,
12.5 Lpm max, 35 psi max
(3) Tap in line to regulate flow.
(4) Fine
water filter.
(5) Brass hose fitting on end of line to connect to 40 mt of hose which connects to the caravan
(6) Roll of 40mt wire lead to power pump from caravan or
landcruiser.